The Reel Opinion: April 2012 Entries - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion: April 2012 Entries

Posted:

EbertFest Day 1

EbertFest Day 2

EbertFest Day 3

EbertFest Day 4

EbertFest Day 5

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 30th, 2012

The Reel Opinion reviews...

Rated R

SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

     Okay, I have to get this out of the way.  I was wrong about what was going to happen in the film.  I thought that the detective played by Luke Evans (Detective Fields) was going to be the killer.  I was wrong.

     Here is what I liked about the film.  They incorporated some real things from Edgar Allen Poe's (John Cusack) life into the film.  To tell you what they put in there would ruin the movie for everybody.  I just thought it was a clever plot device.  I also liked the reason that the killer did what they did.  It wasn't the most original idea ever, but it fit the plot very well.

     The plot felt a little bit like a mix of Se7en and Saw, which is something I mentioned in my preview.  This was a decent mix of plot devices and made a decent storyline.

     Now to what I didn't like.  Things just seemed way too easy for our heroes.  They figured clues out way too fast for it to keep my interest.  I really felt like they were always too close to catching the killer the whole time.  A murder mystery loses a lot of its strength when the killer isn't doing a very good job of staying ahead of the heroes.

     I didn't think that the acting was that great.  John Cusack was decent as Poe when he was acting like a jerk to people.  He had this "better than you" attitude at the first, but that mostly went away after a while.  The rest of the cast wasn't anything really special.  There really wasn't any breakout performances here.

     I don't really know why they called this The Raven.  The poem gets brought up a couple of times, but doesn't have anything to do with any of the murders.  I think it was named this because it is Poe's best known work.

     All in all, not a horrible film, but not a great one either.  I say wait for the DVD.  This is a decent thriller that doesn't have a ton of new ideas, but does well with the ones that it uses.

     Tuesday will be the DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday.  Wednesday will be the beginning of a new monthly theme.

     At the top of this page are links to my entire EbertFest coverage.  You can find the videos on The Reel Opinion's Facebook page as well.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


EbertFest Day 1

 

EbertFest Day 2

EbertFest Day 3

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 27th, 2012

The Reel Opinion previews...

 

Rated R

I like Edgar Allen Poe.  What I have read of his I have liked.  I never in a million years would have considered him to be an action star.  The theme of his stories, however, could make for a good crime drama.  From the trailers, this movie almost looks like a Se7en or a Saw type of movie.  The hero just happens to be a horror writer.

I like John Cusack (Edgar Allen Poe).  He has surprised me too many times to count.  I am hoping that he does it again with this movie.  I almost get a Johnny Depp in Sleepy Hollow vibe from Cusack in the trailers.  I liked that movie, so I wouldn't have a problem with this movie using Sleepy Hollow as a sort of template.

The problem I may have with this film is that I think I have it figured out already from the trailers.  I won't say it here because I don't want to give it away if I am right.  I will tell you in my review if I am right or wrong.

Sorry this preview is short, but I am in the middle of EbertFest and have a lot of work to do for that.  I am hoping that this movie is a lot of fun, but I have my doubts.  I hope my fears are wrong.  I will have my review of this movie by Monday, April 30th.

You can find the links to my EbertFest reviews at the top of the page and on The Reel Opinion's Facebook page.

Until next time - Geno

   Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


EbertFest Day 1

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

 

Follow Me on Twitter

April 26th, 2012

The Reel Opinion Looks Up To...

     I don't claim to know much about anime.  I discovered my first real anime when I was in college and caught some on the Sci-Fi Channel (SyFy).  I have to say that I don't like a ton of it, but Dragon Ball Z is one of my favorite TV series of all time.  I haven't liked a ton of the movies, but I would put Vampire Hunter D in my list for favorite movies of all time.  Anime has its own culture that I am way behind on.  I know this because Mark, the guy that went with me to Anime St. Louis in Collinsville, IL, rattled off tons of names that I didn't know.  Tons of people dress up as their favorite characters and I have no idea who a lot of them are supposed to be.  A special thank you has to go to Jeremy Johnson for hooking me up with a press pass last minute and to his crew for putting on a well organized show.

     I went to this convention for one reason:  To meet Doug Walker and Brad Jones, aka The Nostalgia Critic and The Cinema Snob, from ThatGuyWithTheGlasses.com.  These are a couple of guys who I look up to in the critic/entertainment business.  I met them on the first night and they were a couple of pretty cool guys.  I asked them for an interview and they said to see them after their panels the next day.

     We filmed some behind the scenes stuff that you can find here.  Before the panels, those of us that got there early got to help take part in a Nostalgia Critic video.  We both made the crowd scene in the main review video.  Check out the auditions video for a familiar face.  I am at the 2:22 mark and my assistant Mark is at the 3:06 mark.  Now warning, the language and content is NSFW.

     The panels themselves were very funny.  Each of the panels lasted about an hour.  I approached the guys again and they said to see them after their autograph session.  Though I ran out of time and wasn't able to interview Brad Jones, I was able to interview Doug Walker.  You can find that here.  The audio isn't the greatest, but for my very first interview I thought it turned out pretty well.

     I would again like to thank the leadership and crew of Anime St. Louis for running a good show.  I would also like to thank Doug Walker and Brad Jones for being a couple of down to earth and nice guys.

     I am at EbertFest 2012 this week and the weekend.  You can find links to my video reviews of the films I am seeing at the top of the page and on The Reel Opinion's Facebook page.  I will post the videos sometime in the morning after I see the movies.

     Friday will be my preview of The Raven.  This is one that I think I have already figured out from the previews.  Will I be right?  I will find out this weekend.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 25th, 2012

The Reel Opinion Classics review of...

Rated PG

     Welcome to the final week of "April Fool".  Like most of Mel Brooks' films, this one is more subtly funny than laugh out loud funny.  This was the first movie that he ever directed and it helped to get his ideas off of the ground.  The movie really is funny more for its absurdity than anything else.

     The plot involves a Broadway Producer named Max (Zero Mostel) who has to woo older women to get money to fund his plays.  An accountant named Leo (Gene Wilder) approaches him about some mishandled funds.  After Leo reluctantly fixes the books for Max, he inadvertently gives Max a "get rich quick" scheme involving the funding of a play.  They buy the most insane script they can find, hire the worst director and pick actors that will help to make sure that the play will bomb.

     I really enjoyed this one because of the absurd nature of it.  The characters almost seemed like they belonged in a comic strip created for adults.  A Nazi playwright, a panic stricken accountant with "blanky" issues, an eccentric play director and a hippie actor playing Hitler on Broadway are just a few of the things that made this movie funny to me.  According to the movie's Nazi playwright, Hitler was just a misunderstood, not a murderer.

     This movie also nabbed Mel Brooks the Academy Award for his screenplay.  If you just sit back and enjoy this movie for the ride that it is, you will like it too.  I will leave you with a quote from Mel Brooks himself:

     "I was never crazy about Hitler...If you stand on a soapbox and trade rhetoric with a dictator you never win...That's what they do so well: they seduce people. But if you ridicule them, bring them down with laughter, they can't win. You show how crazy they are."  —Mel Brooks, in an August 2001 interview

     For one final Mel Brooks treat, I present a link to you that will show you Mel Brooks' Spaceballs in its entirety.   April Fools.

     Today also starts my coverage of EbertFest.  I will have short reviews in video form the day after I watch the films.  The videos will be on The Reel Opinion's Youtube page.  I will provide the links for them here and through The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page.  I am covering the whole five days of the festival.

     Thursday I will talk about Anime St. Louis and have the interview with someone I look up to in the critic/entertainment business.

     Friday will be my preview for The Raven.  I think I have this one figured out just by the previews.  I will find out this weekend if I am right. 

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 24th, 2012

The Reel Opinion DVD Releases of the Week...


 

Not Rated

     As you can probably tell by now, I am a huge comic book superhero fan.  Though I haven't really bought comic books in a while, I still take great interest in what is going on with the different mediums of the genre.  That is why I can't wait to check out these two releases.  I am interested to see the Japanese take on some of the characters that I love.  Sometimes anime is really great and sometimes it falls flat.  I am looking forward to finding out how these do.

Other Releases: April 24th, 2012

* Contraband

* Patton Oswalt: Finest Hour

* UFC 142: Aldo vs. Mendes

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday.  Today's trailers are for The Road and Magic Mike.  To see these trailers, join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page.  To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     Wednesday will be the final installment of "April Fool".  The Producers will be the movie covered.

     Wednesday also is the beginning of EbertFest.  I will be spending the entire festival there.  I will have links to my reviews of the movies from the festival.

     Thursday I will talk a little about the convention I went to this past weekend in Collinsville.  There I met and got to interview someone that I look up to in the critic/entertainment business.

Friday will be my preview of the movie The Raven.

Until next time - Geno

   Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 23rd, 2012

The Reel Opinion reviews...

Rated PG-13

SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

     You'll have to forgive me, but I might get a little bit personal during this review.  I will say this right off the bat.  Though not the perfect movie, this film should be shown in all schools, bad language and all.  I was afraid of how I would feel after watching this movie and my fears were justified.

     There was only one, I repeat, one story I could not identify with.  I could, however still empathize with this one story.  A girl was treated like crap because of her sexual orientation.  She lived in the Bible belt of Oklahoma and her whole family has suffered because of who she is.  Whether you are okay with it or against it, we are all still people.

     I found that too many of the stories hit close to home for me.  I dealt with a lot of what these kids went through when I was a kid, but in a lot of ways, I think kids today have it a lot worse.  When I was young, you could escape some of your problems by going home and staying there or when you were older you could go out of town.  Though there are safeguards, kids today can be reached through technology.  They can be constantly bombarded with insults and violent talk.  That is why I urge parents to pay attention to what your kids into.  They may tell you that everything is okay, but it might not be.  Some kids survive and thrive.  I like to think that I turned out okay, but there are times I still deal with the hurt from the past.  I'm 33 years old and have been out of school now for around 16 years now.  Trust me when I tell you that some of this stuff sticks with you, even as you get older.

     I will tell you that there are two stories of suicide in this movie.  One involves a 17 year old kid and the other is about a kid much younger.  If these stories don't punch you right in the chest, then nothing will.  When I was younger and was going through what I went through, I considered suicide.  I was able to fight through it, but I was lucky.  I was surprised that I found the strength to make it through.  Even with a few friends, things were hard.  I made it, but in life, not everybody makes it.  Not everybody can find the strength to make it through this life, especially if you are being tormented by cruel people.

     It was hard to watch the school officials turn somewhat of a blind eye to the problem.  A kid was trying to get away from a bully, but the bully kept messing with the kid.  The principal blamed the kid getting bullied for his problem.  One that felt like a flashback for me was when an assistant principal asked the kid if the bully was doing a specific thing to him and he said no.  She then said that the problem was solved.  The kid said something that I remember saying to a school authority figure long ago.  He said, "But they are still doing other things."

     Another kid talks about how he gets bullied so much that he wants to be the bully.  One story involves a kid that stole a gun from her mother because the bullying wouldn't stop.  Anther talks about finally snapping and fighting back with his fists.  It almost feels like the kids are on their own to defend themselves and that is not the way it should be.

     The parents blame the schools.  The schools blame the parents.  It would be nice if they would all just stop pointing their fingers at each other and start trying to solve the problem.  That being said, I don't have the answers.  I wish I did.  I got two great kids, Andy and Ryan.  I would never want them to ever have to deal with what I had to deal with.  I also would not tolerate them doing the bullying.  I would have to say that the first line of defense is at home.  Parents need to be involved in their kids' lives.  The schools should also be a support system and stop saying, "It's not our fault."  This is not a perfect world, but if we try our best to raise our kids not to hate, it can only help.

     This movie should be seen by everybody.  If people can take their kids to go see an R Rated Passion of the Christ because they believe in the message, they can tolerate a little bit of bad language to let their kids see what affects bullying can have on children.

     I am sorry if this was more of a social commentary and not a movie review, but this movie made me think a lot about my past.  I needed to get some things off my chest.  Thank you for reading.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

 

Follow Me on Twitter

April 20th, 2012

The Reel Opinion previews...

Rated PG-13

     I was going to be out of town this weekend when I found out Bully was going to be playing around where I was going. I decided I better take the opportunity to see it while I could.

     I have a feeling that this is going to be one of those movies that kicks me right in the chest. When I was in school, I was a victim of bullying. No, I'm not going to call anybody out, but at times I still feel the effects of what happened to me and I get angry. I wouldn't want my kids to go through the same thing. I know that this movie is going to make me feel things that I don't want to relive, but maybe that is the point. The world does need to know what is going on and I think that this movie will try to tell the story.

     One thing I do hope that they do is tell both sides of the story. Not only do I want to hear from the victims of the bullying, but the bullies themselves. Not that I would ever condone somebody getting bullied, but sometimes we as people deal with life's problems in different ways.

     I know this preview is short, but I didn't want to ruin my experience with this movie by researching it too much. The review for this film will be posted by Monday, April 23rd.

     I put the raw footage from my shoot for the movie ticket contest on the video player at the top of this page.  I won't promise that it is entertaining or anything, but it is there if you want to see it.    

      My coverage of EbertFest begins next Wednesday. I will be posting my video reviews of the movies on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page. To join, just Hit this link and like it.  The first video should be up by Thursday morning.

     Thank you to all of you that took part in the movie ticket giveaway. Congrats to those that won.  I will announce the final winners this morning.

     I am off to St. Louis today to meet and hopefully interview a movie critic that I really look up to. Wish me luck.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno
 

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 19th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Convention review of...

     This past Sunday I went with my friend Mark, who also works here, to a comic book convention in Chicago called C2E2. I went a couple of years ago to the very first one of these, but have not been back since. This year, I only went up for a few hours to meet a few celebrities. Some of you that know me know that I am kind of an autograph hound. Here is a little bit on who I met this weekend.

Val Kilmer

     Val Kilmer has been in some of my favorite movies: Heat, Willow and Tombstone to name a few. I had heard some conflicting views on how he was with the public. Some said he was a jerk and some said he was pretty cool. I found he to be a little quiet, but an all around nice guy. I have met a few jerks, so I know one when I see one.

 

Anthony Daniels

     Anthony Daniels is a legend. I found myself a little tongue tied around him. I mean, this guy was C3-P0. Very nice guy, though. A couple of cool things about seeing him in person. First thing is his voice. Other than the digitizing, he IS the voice of C3-P0. It was pretty cool to hear it in person. The second thing was that a little kid wanted a picture with him. He said he really wasn't taking pictures, but he would do him one better. Daniels took out a picture from The Clone Wars cartoon and signed it for the kid free of charge. The look on his face told me that the kid now has a memory that will last a lifetime. Oh, and even though he wasn't REALLY taking pictures, I got lucky.

 

Sean Astin

     Sean Astin has been around for a while. Goonies, Rudy and the Lord of the Rings Trilogy have been huge hits for him. He was cool because he would write a short phrase along with the autograph. I had him put down, "To Geno, The Man With The Reel Opinion." He asked me what that was and I told him about this blog and the TV segments. He thought that was pretty cool and congratulated me on it. That was a really great moment for me. Another thing he does is he puts the character's name or a phrase from whatever movie your memorabilia is for. On my Lord of the Rings poster, he put "Sam". I saw him put "#45" on a Rudy poster. I always like it when the celebrity takes the time to do more than just quickly scribble their name.

 

Marvel Movie Prop Auction

     The last thing I will mention is the Marvel Movie Prop Auction that was going on. They were auctioning off props from Captain America, Iron Man 2 and Thor. The suit that Cap wore ended up going for something along the lines of over $100,000. From what I understand, the whole auction made over $1million. It was pretty impressive to see some of this stuff up close. Here are a few photos courtesy of my buddy, Mark.

Thor's Hammer

 

Captain America's Shield in Ice

 

Captain America's WWII Suit

     Remember that today is the LAST DAY to win movie money. Just watch StormCenter 17 Today after 6:30am for your chance to win.

Tomorrow I will have my preview of Bully.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 18th, 2012

The Reel Opinion Classics review of...

 

Rated R

     Welcome to the third installment of "April Fool". So far I have liked the Mel Brooks movies that I have watched for the blog. Sad to say that this is where I hit a speed bump. Though I still kind of enjoyed it, this movie felt too much like a sketch comedy show and not a movie.

     There are scenes that I really enjoyed. I was a pretty big fan of The French Revolution section of the movie. Thankfully, this comes near the end of the film, helping it to finish strong. I also liked the tease at the end of the film for History of the World Part 2.

     The shorter segments are what kind of drag this film down for me. The longer ones seem to be the better ones. The shorter segments made this movie feel a little more like a Monte Python film. I am not a huge fan of a lot of those.

     One thing that I found interesting is that a lot of what he mocked would probably be looked down upon by certain groups. A good example is the Spanish Inquisition song. When Brooks calls in the nuns, they strip down to bathing suits and begin a synchronized swimming routine. I have found little about it being deemed controversial, but the new Three Stooges movie is being slammed by The Catholic League for a similar reason.  Would they look at this movie the same way today?

     Like his other movies, you have to watch this one with a open mind to being made fun of. Brooks seems to have a knack for making fun of everybody. No religion or people are off limits. He is Jewish and they are not even off limits. The point is that he tries to make with his movies is that if we laugh at ourselves a little bit, we won't take things so seriously.

This is a decent Mel Brooks film, but not his best work. Still worth a look, though.

     Remember that Thursday is you LAST CHANCE to win free movie money. Tune in to StormCenter 17 Today after 6:30am for your chance to win.

     Also on Thursday, I will talk about a convention in Chicago I went to last weekend and talk about some of the people I met there.

Friday will be my preview of Bully.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno
 

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 17th, 2012

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week...

Unrated

     This is a show I kind of wrote off when I first heard about it. The animation looked bad and the previews seemed weird. It was to run between three Seth MacFarlane cartoons on Sunday nights: Family Guy, The Cleveland Show and American Dad. It took a couple of episodes, but I warmed up to this show after a while. Now, I find it even funnier than the shows it runs against. The humor is extremely awkward and different, but really funny.

Other Releases: April 17th, 2012

* Mission: Impossible Extreme Blu-Ray Trilogy

* Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol

* American Dad – Vol. 7

* Ice Road Truckers – Season 5

* Alphas – Season 1

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for The Samaritan and Looper. To see these trailers, just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page. To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     Wednesday is the next installment of "April Fool". The History of the World Part 1 will be the movie reviewed.

     Thursday will be a look at a comic book convention I went to this past weekend. I will talk a little about who I met there.

     Thursday is also you final chance to win free movie money. Just tune in to StormCenter 17 Today after 6:30am for your LAST CHANCE to win.

     Friday will be my preview of a movie I have wanted to see ever since I heard about it. I am going to see Bully.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 16th, 2012

The Reel Opinion reviews...

Rated R

MINOR SPOILERS!!!

Here you go Central Illinois.  You picked it and I saw it.

     When you watch a horror film, do you ever think that what is happening could be real?  According to this movie, what happens in horror and monster movies is real.  I give this movie a lot of credit for having a pretty good idea behind it.  The problem is that a good idea doesn't always make for a good movie.

     According to this film, there is a corporation behind monsters, psycho killers and all of the things that go bump in the night.  The film right away shows you the people that are running the show, but they don't show you who they are running it for.  Throughout the movie, you will get many ideas who they are working for, but all of them will be wrong.  The big reveal is what really hurt what could have been a decent film.  I just found it to be really dumb.  I never saw it coming, but it was still dumb.

     The idea of magic, monsters and all things evil existing was pretty interesting.  This idea got me back into the movie after the "Scoobie Doo, Mystery Machine" kids really just got on my nerves.  The characters were the jock, the brainy jock, the hot chick, the brainy hot chick and the stoner.  This sounds like a lot of other horror movies, doesn't it?  There is a purpose for the characters that are chosen, but I don't want to ruin it for those that want to see this.  The reason is debunked because of something else in the movie, but I won't give it away.

     If the big reveal was any good, I would have liked this movie more.  However, it wasn't so make this one a rental.  I can see this movie becoming a sort of cult classic, but that won't come any time soon.  Good ideas are a dime a dozen.  Making good movies out of them is another thing.

Tuesday will be The DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday.

Tune in Thursday after 6:30am on StormCenter 17 Today for your LAST CHANCE to win movie money.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 13th, 2012

The Reel Opinion previews...

Rated R

     Well, you have spoken.  The Cabin in the Woods is the winner of the Viewer's Choice for this week.  When I see the previews for this movie, I felt like I have seen it before.  It took me a little bit to figure out what it was that this movie reminded me of.  After a while, I remembered a canceled NBC show from a couple of years ago called Persons Unknown.

     From what it seems like, this might be the same kind of concept.  In the show, the people involved were kidnapped.  It doesn't seem that way for this movie, but the cabin seems to be set up the same way as the town in the show was.  Cameras, guards to keep you there and probably an insider to keep an eye on the subjects will probably come into play.  Being that show didn't get the second season it deserved, I kind of welcome the idea that this movie brings.  Hopefully there is an interesting reason why the victims have to go through this ordeal.

     Chris Hemsworth (Curt) seems to be keeping busy.  Along with The Avengers, Snow White and the Huntsman and possibly the remake of Red Dawn, this would be his fourth movie appearance this year.  It is yet to be seen if he is going to continue his rise to stardom.  I have only seen him as Thor and his small part in the Star Trek reboot.  So far so good, I say.

     I like a good thriller and this movie seems like it could be a lot of fun.  Hopefully I won't be wrong.  I will have my review of this movie by Monday, April 16th.

Until next time - Geno  

   Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 12th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Second Chance presents...

Rated PG-13

     The first time that I saw this movie, I remember being very underwhelmed. The first Iron Man was pretty good. The Incredible Hulk is still my favorite of the new Marvel produced movies. This one just kid of fell flat. It made me fear for the rest of them to come. Thankfully Thor was decent and Captain America was great. I decided to go back and watch this one again since The Avengers comes out next month. I want to see why I felt the way I did after this one was over.

     To start off, I thought that this movie was pretty good up until the birthday party scene. This is where the movie really starts to fall apart. Tony Stark's (Robert Downey Jr.) fight with Rhodey (Don Cheadle) just took me right out of the movie. It just didn't convey the message that they were trying to get across very well. You were supposed to be a little upset with Tony, but he was only trying to live it up before the power core killed him. It was hard to be on Rhodey's side when he steals the Mark II suit from Tony at the end of the fight.

     The movie starts to get back on track right after when Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) shows up. After that, however is where the movie really loses its focus. They go into this whole trying to discover a new element thing. This would be okay, but the action of the movie comes to a screeching halt. I think they spent a little too much time building up to a climax that did not deliver.

     The biggest offender of this movie is the total waste of a great actor in Mickey Rourke (Whiplash). They had this great buildup for the character. He was going to be a formidable foe for Iron Man, but the final battle lasted a mere one minute fifty-four seconds. Let me repeat that. The final battle lasted a mere one minute fifty-four freakin' seconds. Iron Man's first encounter with Whiplash in the movie lasted longer than that. What a waste. Rourke himself was actually pretty mad about his whole experience with this movie.

     This is by far the worst of the Marvel produced movies. Too much build up and not enough payoff. What could have been a great followup turned into a big disappointment. There was a lot to like about this movie, but the bad still outweighed the good here. At least the after credits stuff was good.

     Today you have another chance to win movie money. Tune in to StormCenter 17 Today after 6:30am for your chance to win.

     Friday I will have the winning vote getter for this weekend's movie. Will it be The Cabin in the Woods or Lockout? You get to decide by voting on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 11, 2012

The Reel Opinion Classics review of...

Rated PG

     First off, you might notice that there has been a video player added to the top of the page. Soon, I will be using that, especially for my time at EbertFest. I'll have more info on it later.

     Welcome to the second installment of "April Fool". This month will spotlight Mel Brooks movies that I have not seen. In this love letter to Albert Hitchcock, Mel Brooks (Richard H. Thorndyke) plays the new head of the Psychoneurotic Institute for the Very, Very Nervous. The last head of the institute dies in a way one character, Brophy (Ron Carey) thinks is suspicious. This leads to a conspiracy that really doesn't make any sense. The thing is, it is not supposed to. The reasons why Nurse Diesel (Cloris Leachman) and Dr. Montague (Harvey Korman) want to take over the institute aren't really made clear, other than the fact that she is crazy and he is her lap dog in more ways than one.

     The movie made many references to Hitchcock films. Vertigo, The Birds and Psycho are just a few to make an appearance to great humor. The movie didn't really have the greatest plot, but I still like it for some of the same reasons that I liked Casa de mi Padre. High Anxiety lets you know from time to time that you are watching a movie. From the camera through the glass table shot (which keeps getting obstructed) to the looking through the window shot (which the camera crashes through), this movie borrows some of the best stuff and lovingly makes fun of it.

     Mel Brooks does a great job in pretty much making fun of James Stewart's Vertigo character. He leads a great cast in this movie. His comedic timing is spot on. By the way, he isn't to bad of a singer either.

     Like Young Frankenstein, the humor is very subtle, but very funny and effective. Even if you don't get all of the Hitchcock references, the movie is still pretty funny. Murder, intrigue, newspapers and bird poop, this film has it all. Hitchcock even liked it. He sent Mel Brooks a case of wine to show his appreciation.

     Next week will be another Mel Brooks movie as "April Fool" month continues.

     Don't forget that Thursday is another chance to will free movie money. Just tune in to StormCenter 17 Today after 6:30am for your chance to win.

     Thursday is also a new Reel Opinion Second Chance. Iron Man 2 is the movie being reviewed.

     Friday's preview is your choice. Vote on The Reel Opinion's Facebook page to either send me to The Cabin in the Woods or Lockout.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 10th, 2012

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week...

Rated PG-13

     I really don't have a lot to say about this one, but I thought it looked like it might be a lot of fun. I didn't go see this one in the theaters because it came out around Christmastime. That time of the year was really busy for me movie wise. I told myself that I would wait for it to come out on DVD and here it is. I am not expecting much out of this but to be your typical "alien invasion" type of movie. Who knows, it might be entertaining. Then again it could stink.

Other Releases: April 10th, 2012

* WWE: You Think You Know Me? - The Story of Edge

* Astonishing X-Men: Dangerous (Digital Comic Book)

* The Iron Lady

* One Tree Hill: The Complete 9th Season

* Dark Shadows: Fan Favorites

* Dark Shadows: Best of Barnabas

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for God Bless America and Ted. I will also provide the Red Band Trailer for Ted as well. Just don't let the kiddies watch it. To see the trailers, just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page. To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     I will not be on TV today because of time constraints. I will still have the next movie ticket giveaway clue for you sometime after 6:30am on StormCenter 17 Today on Thursday and will announce the ticket winners at about the same time on Friday.

     Wednesday will be the next installment of "April Fool". The movie reviewed will be High Anxiety.

     Thursday will be a new Second Chance. Iron Man 2 will be the movie reviewed.

     Make sure to join the Facebook page so you can vote which movie to send me to this week, will it be the Techno-Horror flick The Cabin in the Woods or will it be the Sci-Fi Space Prison flick Lockout. You get to decide. I will announce the winner of that on Friday as well.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 9th, 2012

The Reel Opinion reviews...

Rated R

     I went into this movie not expecting much. The first movie of the series was decent, but the other two really didn't do much for me. I went into this trying not to judge it before watching it. I have to say that it didn't help. There were only two scenes in the movie before the last twenty minutes that I really enjoyed. The rest was just not that funny or even that entertaining.

     The first of two scenes that I enjoyed involved the main characters getting some kids back for a prank that they had pulled. It involves Stifler (Seann William Scott) and it is pretty gross, but for some reason, the comedic timing of Stifler in that scene was really funny.

     The second scene that really made me laugh was between Stifler's Mom (Jennifer Coolidge) and Jim's Dad (Eugene Levy). They just were really funny together. It is funny that the characters had not met before now. If you stay for part of the credits, you can see what was probably the funniest part of the movie.  It involved these two characters.

     Other than the last twenty or so minutes of the movie, which pretty brought everything in the series full circle, the rest of the movie was just not that funny or entertaining. It was mostly a lot of the same thing, which is what I was afraid of in the first place. The jokes just fell flat most of the time. If the rest of the movie was like the final twenty minutes or so, I would probably have really enjoyed this movie a lot better. I would say that if this is the last film in the series, it would be a satisfying ending to it.

     Fans of the series will probably love this one if they loved all of the other ones. As one that was just not that impressed with the series in the first place, this one wasn't really worth it for me. I would call it a rental for anybody that just is curious and wants to see it.

     Just a reminder, Thursday morning is another chance to win movie ticket gift cards. The chance will air after 6:30am on StormCenter 17 Today.

     Tuesday will be a new DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday. Wednesday will be the next installment of "April Fool". Thursday will be a new Second Chance. Friday's preview will be up to you, the reader and viewer. On The Reel Opinion's Facebook page, you will be able to vote whether I go see The Cabin in the Woods or Lockout.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, , , comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 6th, 2012

The Reel Opinion previews...

Rated R

     My opinion of the first three American Pie movies isn't a real good one.  The first one was kind of funny.  The other two, American Pie 2 and American Wedding, I didn't find to be that great.  There were a ton of the same jokes in all three movies.  What weird, public sexual situation will Jim (Jason Biggs) get caught in this time.  What gross thing will Stifler (Seann William Scott) do or have to put in his mouth.  Will Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas) score with Stifler's Mom (Jennifer Coolidge)?  Okay, I kind of enjoy that joke.

     There were also four spin-off movies mostly based on Stifler's relatives or other minor characters.  I never bothered to watch these and probably never will.  From what I understand, they aren't worth the time and effort to watch.  What I am saying here is that there are seven American Pie movies not counting this new one.  I think they produced the spin-offs because they didn't plan on any more movies based on the main characters after the third one, American Wedding.

     Here we are, nine years after American Wedding with an American Pie movie with what seems to be all of the original cast.  I have this feeling that it is really going to be the same thing, but with adults trying to relive their youth.  This kind of reminds me of Matthew McConaughey's character in Dazed and Confused a little bit.  I have a feeling that this movie will be a lot of been there, done that.  If you can't tell, I don't have a lot of faith in this movie to show me anything new, but you never know.  If it does end up being the same thing, please let it end here.

That about does it.  I will have a review for this , movie by Monday, , April 9th.

     Tune in Friday on StormCenter 17 Today after 6:30am to see is you are one of three winners of Fandango gift cards.  I will share the answer after 7am on The Reel Opinion's Facebook page.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 5th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Not Seen In Theaters presents...

Rated R

     I wanted to see this movie pretty bad last year. I missed my only chance to see it in Chicago due to personal reasons. It did not get a nationwide release, but after seeing it I don't unde, , rstand why. I liked this movie so much that if had saw it last year, it would have been in contention for best film in my year in review. Gerard Butler (Sam Childers) would have been up for best actor. Michelle Monaghan (Lynn Childers) would have been up for best actress. Once again, why did this not get a nationwide release?

     This movie is based on real-life missionary to Africa, Sam Childers. This is the story of how he went from a drug dealing biker tough guy to a freedom fighter for African children. After finding Jesus, he witnesses how the people of Africa are treated by Joseph Kony and his Lord's Resistance Army. If the name Kony sounds familiar, he is one in the same that the KONY 2012 video is based on. He finally decides that enough is enough and fights for the people against Kony and the LRA.

     First of all, I am surprised that this movie hasn't been fast-tracked to the theaters since it is now relevant to current events. This movie is a brutal and unforgiving look at the horrors and the violence that the people of Africa have to face. It also asks you, the viewer, if it is okay and/or Godly to fight fire with fire. It lets you decide. Good and bad things happen due to Childers' decisions. This movie will make you feel a range of emotions. Anger, happiness, sadness. At times you will agree with Childers' methods and sometimes you won't. Like I said, you get to decide.

     My only real problem with the movie is that some things seemed to happen too fast, such as Sam's salvation.  That being said, this is a biopic.  This is the way it could have happened, so this didn't bother me really at all.

     This is not your typical Christian-themed movie. This movie takes a more realistic approach to life. Sex, drugs and violence are not held back to tell the story of how Childers got to where he is today. I think I appreciate this movie more for not holding back. It really gets the point across when you don't feel like the filmmakers are not telling you or showing you something.

     From what I could find, this movie will be on DVD June 5th. When it comes out and if you can stomach the violent images, watch it. It is a great story whether you agree with Childers' methods or not. I'll leave you with this quote from Sam Childers: , "If your child or family member was abducted today and if I (Sam) came up to you and say, ‘, I can bring your child home.' Does it matter how I bring him home?" Think about that.

     Today is round two of The Reel Opinion's movie ticket giveaway.  Sometime after 6:30am on StormCenter 17 Today, I will show a still from a movie.&n, bsp; If you , know what movie it is and send me the correct answer, your name, address and phone number to the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com,  you could win one of three Fandango gift cards.  The cards were gone in less than a minute last week, so you better tune in for a chance to win.

     Friday will be my review of American Reunion. Will is put the nail in the coffin for the franchise or will it help the franchise live on?

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 4th, 2012

The Reel Opinion Classics review of...

Rated PG

     Welcome to a new month and a new Reel Opinion Classics theme. This month's theme is a retrospective of Mel Brooks' movies I have not seen. The title of this month's theme is "April Fool". I consider myself a fan of Mel Brooks' work, but have only seen a few of his films. The movies off limits for this month are Robin Hood: Men in Tights, Spaceballs, Blazing Saddles and my personal favorite, Dracula: Dead and Loving It.

     I am a bit surprised that it took me this long to watch this movie. I love Gene Wilder (Dr. Frankenstein). I love the late, great Peter Boyle (The Monster). You would think that it would be a given, but I had never taken the time to watch it. What was I thin, king?

     The movie involves the grandson of the original Dr. Frankenstein, who for years has been in denial about his families' legacy. After inheriting his grandfather's castle, he finds himself obsessed with the wort, , that his grandfather started. He then continues it to mixed success.

     I have to say that the humor is very subtle, but really funny. There are some recurring jokes that would probably not work today, but they worked back then. The comedic timing of this movie is outstanding. I expected that from Wilder and Boyle, but the whole cast really had it down.

     Like a lot of Mel Brooks' movies, there are sex jokes aplenty. They are not as prominent as in some of his other movies, but their presence is felt. One of the funniest jokes in the movie, the last joke of the movie, is a sex joke. It sums up, the whole movie and it is Phil, various. The reason I bring up these types of jokes is that I feel that movies nowadays could learn a lot from the sexual humor of Mel Brooks' movies. They are extremely funny without being too gross. Movies nowadays feel they have to cross the line and gross out the audience to be funny. In my opinion, subtle is better. Mel Brook's movies prove it.

     If you are any kind of fan of Mel Brooks' work, definitely watch this one. Great jokes and great acting make this movie a must see for anybody looking for a break from the gross out comedies of today.

     Thursday is round two of The Reel Opinion's movie ticket giveaway. Tune in after 6:30am on StormCenter 17 Today to win. I will show a movie still. If you are one of the first three to send in the correct answer, your name address and phone number to the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com, you can win a Fandango gift card. The gift cards were gone in less than a minute last week, so you better know your stuff and tune in to win.

     Thursday is a new Not Seen In Theaters. I finally got to watch Machine Gun Preacher. This is a movie I have been trying to see pretty much since I started this blog. Was it worth the wait? Check back on Thursday to find out.

     Speaking of gross out humor movies, Friday will be my preview of American Reunion. Has this franchise worn out its welcome? I will talk about that Friday.

Until next time - Geno

Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 3rd, 2012

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week...

Rated PG

     This is a movie that I heard about last year and wanted to see, but couldn't find it playing anywhere. When I went to see Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy in St. Louis on New Year's Eve, I saw that Being Elmo had played at the theater one week earlier and was over. Good thing is, I now have this movie in my Netflix cue and am ready to watch it.

     I have admired Kevin Clash's work for a long time, but didn't even know it. We all know that he is Elmo. Trust me, I get my fair share of Sesame Street with two little guys in the house. What I didn't know until last year that he was also Splinter in the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles live action movie. , The character of Splinter was the best part of the whole movie. The man is a master at his craft and I look forward to watching what he went through to get where he is today.

 

Other Releases: April 3rd, 2012

* Prophecy Collection: Four Film Set

* UFC 141: Lesnar vs. Overeem

* Airplane (Blu-Ray)

* Frank Sinatra Film Collect,

* We Bought a Zoo

* Torchwood: Miracle Day

* War Horse

 

     Just a reminder that round two of The Reel Opinion's movie ticket giveaway is this Thursday on StormCenter 17 Today sometime after 6:30am.  I show a movie image and you send the correct answer, your name, address and phone number to the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  The first three to get it right win Fandango gift cards.  First person gets a $20 card and the next two people each get a $10 card.  It is just that easy.  Last week they were gone in less than a minute, so you better tune in if you want to win.

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for Total Recall and the new TV spot for The Avengers. To see them, join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page. To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     Wednesday will be a new Reel Opinion Classics theme. I think the new theme will fit what the month of April is known for.

     Thursday is an all new Not Seen In Theaters. I finally got to see a movie I have wanted to see since I heard about it last year. Machine Gun Preacher will be reviewed.

     Friday will be my preview of American Reunion.  Has this franchise finally outworn its welcome?  I give my thoughts on the subject.

Until next time - Geno

Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 



 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

April 2nd, 2012

The Reel Opinion reviews...

Rated PG-13

     Where do I even begin.  I am not going to rip on this movie for its taking bits and pieces of different Greek mythologies and putting them together for this story.  I'm not even really going to rip on it for taking bits and pieces of different movies and calling it its own.  I am not even going to rip on it for moving way too fast at first and then slowing down to a crawl at the end.  Oh wait, yes I am.

     Let me start with the pacing.  At first it was a little fast.  I figured that this was because they wanted to just get right to the main part of the story.  This was true, but it just felt like I was watching a montage.  This would have been okay had this been a recap of the first film.  They did a recap this way and it worked, but the new material felt like it was moving too fast as well.  Later, the movie then started to crawl at a really slow pace.  I started to get bored real fast.  Pacing is an important part of a movie.  This film never got it right.

   ,   I won't spend a lot of time on this because this is a movie review and not a history lesson.  The filmmakers took from many different Greek mythologies and mashed them together.  This doesn't bother me as much because a lot of people are not going to know about this.  It is sort of a mild irritation to me, but the fact that tons of, movies have already done it, I , tend, nd to let it slide.

     I think the movie title promised a lot and did not deliver.  It should have been called Wrath of the TITAN or Wrath of the Father.  I mean, there was only ONE titan.  That was Kronos, the father of Zeus (Liam Neeson), Hades (Ralph Fiennes) and Poseidon (Danny Huston).  You could argue that the creature that attacked the Queen's army during the battle near the end of the film were titans, but that would be stretching it.

     Speaking of battles, they were not very exciting and very short in this movie.  Even the battles that should have been long and drawn out near the end of the film were over in the blink of an eye.

     This movie took scenes AND lines straight from Star Wars and The Lord of the Rings.  This was the last straw with me.  They kept doing it and it just got old.  This movie did prove one thing, though.  Liam Neeson would make a great Gandalf.  He is no Ian McKellen, though.

     I say pass.  If you really need to see this, wait to get it for cheap in a Redbox or on Netflix.  I really didn't enjoy much of this movie.  Things I thought were going to happen and should didn't.  It was just a very underwhelming movie.  I think they need to leave this "franchise" alone now.

     Tuesday will be The DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday.  Wednesday will be a new Classics theme for April.  Thursday will be a new Not Seen In Theaters.  Friday will be my preview of American Reunion.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms