The Reel Opinion: May 2012 - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion: May 2012

Posted:

May 31st, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Max Payne 3 (Part 2)

Game Rated M for Mature

     Welcome to part 3 of 4 of the Max Payne series. Last week I was able to finish Max Payne 3 and I have to say that I was more than satisfied. I said in my review last week that the gameplay itself wasn't perfect. That is still the case, but it is good enough not to turn you away. What really kept drawing me in was the story. Last Friday, after my boys went to bed, I sat down to play and all of a sudden it was five hours later. I am not a huge gamer anymore, but I just lost myself in the story of this game.

     Though it was to be expected in a Max Payne game, the story takes a pretty dark turn in the second half. The game takes you to the worst parts of Brazil and doesn't look back. The game lets you make some questionable decisions and lets you live with the consequences. I wouldn't say the game ended on a happy note, but it wasn't as dark as the endings to the other games. They did however leave enough open to warrant a much needed sequel. Here's hoping it doesn't take another decade to make another one. This series should not have been gone as long as it was.

     One improvement I would like to see them make for the next game would be to give the game some stealth elements. I know this series is about pumping as much lead as possible into the bad guys, but I think putting a little stealth in the next game wouldn't hurt. This game had one scene of stealth that lasted a whole two minutes. What was cool about it was Max had to make a silencer for his gun out of an old plastic soda bottle. I thought that was pretty creative.

     With an awesome story and satisfying gameplay, I recommend that any fan of shooters should play this. I wish that the makers of the Max Payne movie would have taken the care that the game publishers did with their story. All three games make you feel the hurt that Max goes through and makes you cheer for him when he fights back. The movie not so much, but I will have more on that next week. If things go right for me this weekend, this will be a "two man" review. You will just have to wait and see what I mean by that.

Friday will be my preview of Snow White and the Huntsman.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

May 30th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics Review of Recoil

Rated R

     Welcome to the final installment of "Wrestle-May-nia". Today I will talk about one of my favorite wrestlers of all time, Stone Cold Steve Austin. I have watched a lot of the movies that Austin has released. For being low budget movies, all of them have at least been entertaining if not really good. After watching Recoil, I would have to add it to the "just entertaining" group.

     Austin (Ryan Varrett) plays a ex-cop turned vigilante that goes after criminals that get away with their crimes. He comes to the town of Hope, Washington looking for a rapist and gets more than he bargained for. After killing the rapist, Varrett has to deal with the rapists outlaw biker brother Drayke (Danny Trejo) and his gang. There are secrets aplenty in the town of Hope and it is up to Varrett to take care of business.

     The movie itself didn't really have anything original about it. It was your typical vigilante story. The cops are after him and he gets into more trouble than he thought he would. Austin and Trejo are both very entertaining individuals and are in this movie, but I would like to have seen them be involved in a more intricate story. The problems with this movie had nothing to do with them.

     The biggest problem with this movie is that a lot of the supporting characters don't really get a lot of development time. One example is the assistant sheriff. They make a big deal about him being the one straight laced cop in Hope, but when the big fight at the end happened, he really didn't get to do anything to movie the story along. He was just kind of there.

     They flirted with the idea of Varrett and motel owner Darcy (Serinda Swan) having a romance, but just kind of dropped it. I don't know why Austin is never allowed to show a romantic side in any of his movies. If he does have a love interest in a movie, it all is just kind of implied. Maybe as a fairly new actor, he just doesn't feel comfortable with it yet. If The Rock's love scene in The Scorpion King is any indication, maybe Austin should stay away from that stuff.

     Though not one of Austin's or Danny Trejo's best movies, Recoil is still entertaining. Give it a watch if you are in the mood for something not that serious.

     In honor of the final Christopher Nolan Batman film (so he says), a lot of June's articles will be dedicated to all things Batman. The Reel Opinion Classics articles will be about my four favorite Batman movies of all time.

     Thursday will be part 3 of 4 of my Max Payne series. My review of the second half of Max Payne 3 will be the next topic.

Friday will be my preview of Snow White and the Huntsman.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

May 29th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is Coriolanus

Rated R

     I know a little bit of Shakespeare, but not enough to call myself an expert or anything. The reason I am interested in this movie is that I watched a retrospective about it on PBS. The director and star of the movie, Ralph Fiennes, talked about his love for the story and about his modern adaptation of it. Let's just say I was glued to the TV for a while. I am a big fan of his and Gerard Butler, so I am hoping I am in for a treat. I was going to go see this movie the same weekend I traveled to St. Louis to see Bully, but it had ended its run at that theater the day before I left town. Now it is out on DVD and now I can see it.

 

Other Releases: My 29th, 2012

* UFC 144: Edgar vs. Henderson

* We Need To Talk About Kevin

* Gone

* Man On A Ledge

* Goon

* WWE: Extreme Rules 2012

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for Indie Game: The Movie and The Last Ride. To see these trailers, just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page.

     Wednesday is the final week of "Wrestle-May-nia". Stone Cold Steve Austin's Recoil is the movie reviewed.

     Thursday is part three of four of my Max Payne series. I will be review the second half of Max Payne 3. I finished it last week and it was awesome.

Friday will be my preview of Snow White and the Huntsman.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

May 28th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Men In Black 3

 

     In my preview, I talked about how I liked the first movie and couldn't stand the second one.  I have to put this one somewhere in the middle.  It is hard to talk about what I liked and didn't with this movie.  Nothing (except one scene) really stood out or was bad.  In the end, I liked it better than I thought I would, but it was really only a little above average movie.

     I would say that the movie reminded me more of the first movie than the second one.  Boris the Animal (Jemaine Clement) was a really over-the-top villain like Vincent D'Onofrio (Edgar) was in the first movie.  Boris was at times a little more annoying than Edgar was, but he was a heck of a lot better villain than Lara Flynn Boyle (Serleena) was in the second movie.  In a movie like this, the villain almost has to be over-the top in his or her performance to fit in to the strange storyline.

     A lot of the jokes kind of fell flat.  Though I found some of them funny, I really didn't find myself laughing too much.  I think the problem was they were using jokes that were too similar to the first film.  This movie tried some new things, but a lot of it didn't work.

     The time travel storyline did feel a lot like an Austin Powers movie.  It kind of had that tongue and cheek feel to everything.  The best example was the technology of the times.  Will Smith (Agent Jay) making fun of the tech of the time kind of got old after a while.

     A small complaint is that there wasn't a lot of Tommy Lee Jones (Agent Kay).  That being said, the character of Agent Jay was well represented.  Josh Brolin is brilliant as a young Agent Jay.  You almost forget he is not a young Tommy Lee Jones.  He is by far the best part of this movie.  He is involved in a scene that I am not afraid to say almost made me cry.  I, however, still find it hard to believe that a Men In Black movie almost made me cry.  Okay, I wanted to cry because the second one was so bad.

     I was surprised that Rip Torn (Zed) wasn't in this movie.  They hold a funeral for his character near the beginning of the movie.  Frank the Pug only shows up in a picture in Agent Jay's home.  I guess I was expecting a few more connections to the first two films, but there wasn't a whole lot of that.

     If you liked the first movie, you would probably like this one.  I'm not going to say "Rush to the theater" for this one, but it was an alright movie.  A scene near the end was really good, but it doesn't make this a must see in the theater movie.

Today on The Reel Opinion's Facebook page, I have a new Monday Quickie Review of Chernobyl Diaries.

Tuesday is the DVD Release of the Week as well as Trailer Tuesday.

Wednesday will be the final week of "Wrestle-May-nia".

Thursday will be part three of four of my Max Payne series.

Friday will be my preview of Snow White and the Huntsman.

Until next time - Geno   

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


May 25th, 2012

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion previews Men In Black 3

Rated PG-13

     The Men In Black series has been hit and miss with me.  I really enjoyed the first one, despite its flaws.  It was a fun movie with a lot of decent humor.  It was a time when Will Smith (Agent Jay) wasn't trying too hard to win Oscars.  Tommy Lee Jones (Agent Kay) more than made up for his rancid performance as Two-Face in Batman Forever.  Vincent D'Onofrio (Edgar) is usually good and made for a fun villain.  The jokes were good and the plot was okay.

     The second MIB movie really didn't resonate with me at all.  I think they just took things from the first movie and used them way too much.  The biggest example was Frank the Pug.  The joke was pretty funny in the first movie.  The character way overstayed his welcome the second time around.  Also, Lara Flynn Boyle (Serleena) was just not a great villain.  I think the reason they cast her was that her show, The Practice, was pretty popular at the time.  I liked that show a lot, but I would make the argument that she had nothing to do with it being good.  In the movie, I think they were trying to make her sexy, but they failed miserably.  Add in flavor of the month Johnny Knoxville (Scrad and Charlie), who I love on jackass but not here, and the villains were just not that interesting.  The plot felt a little too serious for this type of movie as well.

     I am on the edge on whether I think this one will be book.  I'm really not a big fan of time travel movies because a lot of the time they have continuity problems that sometimes really stick out.  I do however like what I have seen when it comes to the characters in this movie.  Agent Jay seems to be back to his sillier self.  Josh Brolin, as a young Agent Jay, seems to have his impression of Tommy Lee Jones spot on.  I do think they will underuse Tommy Lee Jones, but here's hoping I'm wrong.

     I am really not paying much attention to the plot information that has been released.  I kind of want to go into this movie with a clean slate.  I didn't go back and watch the first two, either.  It has been ten years since part two was in theaters, so a lot has changed in movie making.  I didn't want to compare this new one to anything but my memories.

I will have my review of this movie by Monday, May 28th.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


May 24th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Looks At May Payne 3 (part 1)

Game Rated M for Mature

     Due to scheduling conflicts, I had to make a change to this series. Instead of a three part series, it will now be four parts. Here is how this is going to work. Today, I will talk about the first half of Max Payne 3. A week from now I will talk about the other half. The fourth week will be the review of Max Payne the movie as well as the surprise that had to be rescheduled.

     From the moment I put the game in the XBOX 360, I felt back at home with my old friend that had been gone for almost a decade. The second that theme music hit and the first cinematic of Max drinking and popping pain pills in Sao Paulo, I was hooked again. It is sad that the first three seconds of this games opening movie are better than the WHOLE Max Payne movie. More on that in a couple of weeks.

     The story follows Max to Brazil as he is hired to protect a rich family. He protects by day and drinks himself to death at night. When the daughter gets kidnapped on Max's watch, he goes on a violent investigation to try to save her. The kidnapping leads to a bigger story of politics and betrayal.

     At this point I am only halfway through the game. In these next two reviews, I will not be giving away too many plot points. This game's story is too good for that.

     One thing I like about this one is that it is a huge improvement from the first two on the gameplay. Now, I will not say it is the greatest, because there are too many third person shooters that are better: Splinter Cell: Conviction, Gears of War, 007 Bloodstone to name a few. What makes this game a lot of fun is that you feel like you are in a movie when you play it. They do a lot of slowed down action scenes that pull you right into the action. This game is just not all run and gun. There is enough variety that it keeps you interested the whole time. The games difficulty is a little much at times, but it never keeps you too overwhelmed.

     Another thing I like about this game is that they finally let James McCaffrey play the whole role of Max. In the first and second games, he voiced over the character, but two different actors were used for the look of the character. Not this time. I will say that it was a very good decision. McCaffrey proves he should have been playing the part the whole time.

     With only half of the story told so far, I can't wait to dive into the second part. Next Thursday I will talk about the rest of my Max Payne 3 experience. I am hoping to have the game finished by then.

Friday will be my preview of Men in Black 3.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

May 23rd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics review of See No Evil

Rated R

Minor Spoilers!!!

     Welcome to the fourth installment of "Wrestle-May-nia". In the WWE, Kane (Glenn Jacobs) is the "brother " of The Undertaker. He is known for being a scary monster type of character, so you would think that a horror movie would be a perfect fit for him, right? Well, you would be wrong.

     Okay, it really isn't his fault. He is a scary looking man, especially in this movie. Jacob Midnight (Kane) is shown in a house holding a girl with no eyes hostage. Two cops bust in and Jacob kills one of them. He cuts off the other cop's hand, but the cop shoots Jacob. The cop, Officer Williams (Steven Vidler), is shown being taken out on a stretcher. We cut to three years later. Williams is now a correctional facility guard. He sets up a program to help juvenile inmates reduce their sentences by doing community work. Eight teenagers are being taken to an old, abandoned hotel to renovate it into a homeless shelter. Of course, as in tons of horror movies, the teens have ulterior motives involving sex, money and drugs. Of course, Jacob is found out to be alive and continues his hunt at the same hotel.

     The problem with this movie is that there really isn't anything original about it. It takes a lot of things from other movie and smashes them all together. I think that Kane could have been a really decent movie villain if used right, but he is limited to just being a "Friday The 13th, Jason type" of character. He barely speaks in the movie. He grins a lot and looks confused at times, but nothing really made him stand out.

     The teens are all the stereotypical horror movie fodder. None of them really stand out either. They tried to add some history to a couple of the characters, but none of it was worth noting.

     With a plot being a mixture of other movie's plots, this one wasn't very good. There are much better horror films out there.  One interesting thing I will note was the bed alarm.  When there was too much motion on a bed in the hotel, a bell would go off and Jacob would know which room had people "using" the bed.  I though that was a little clever. 

     One other side story about this movie. Vince McMahon, head of the WWE, had his own idea for the Jacob Midnight character. Just a warning it is a little gross.

     Next week I will be reviewing Recoil, starring one of my favorites of all time, Stone Cold Steve Austin. The movie also stars Danny Trejo, so I think I am going to really like this one.

     Thursday will be part two of my FOUR part Max Payne series. Part 3 had to be split up for scheduling reasons. I will be talking about Max Payne 3.

Friday will be my preview for Men In Black 3.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

May 22nd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is This Means War

Rated PG-13

     The DVD Release of the Week was the first really funny movie of the year. I saw a special screening of it on Valentine's Day. Though it sucked being alone for the "holiday" this year, this helped to lighten the blow a little bit. I laughed really hard through a lot of this movie. A little predictable, but a lot of fun and highly recommended. It was fun to see Tom Hardy and Chris Pine do physical comedy.

 

Other Releases: May 22nd, 2012

* Red Tails

* WWE: Best of WCW Clash of the Champions

* Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Alpha

* Teen Wolf – The Complete Season One

* Secret World of Arriette

* The Woman In Black

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for 007 Skyfall and Hit & Run. To see these trailers, just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page. To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     On Wednesday, I will continue the series "Wrestle-May-nia" with my review of See No Evil. Thursday will be part two of my three part series about all things Max Payne.

Friday will be my preview of Men In Black 3.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

May 21st, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion reviews Battleship

Rated PG-13

Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Okay, I'm going to get this out of the way.  They did use a few things from the board game.  There was a numbered grid.  They said hit and miss a lot.  The missiles that the aliens used looked like pegs that burrowed into ships, pushed in a little bit and then exploded.

     I will talk about what I did like first.  The ideas up above would have been great ideas for a movie if this movie wasn't based on the game.  If the makers of this film would have used those ideas the way that they did and only been inspired by the game, I would have been a little more forgiving.  The fact that it was based on the game only made those decent ideas seem more like a wink at the audience or a joke.

     There was a very cool scene involving veterans that was just totally wasted on this movie.  If it would have happened in, let's say, Battle: Los Angeles, it would have been used on a much more worthy film.  My heart stopped with the scene and I wished it had been used in a better movie.

     The soundtrack was awesome.  AC/DC, Creedence Clearwater Revival and other make the music for this movie great.  What is not so great is that none of the music used in the movie is available on a soundtrack that I can find, only the movie's score.

     The ending was pretty funny.  I didn't know a chicken burrito could be so romantic.  I'm not going to explain that one.

     Now on to some of the stuff that I didn't care too much for.  I'm not in the navy, but if a ship's captain tells his crew to ram another ship because "They killed someone he cared about" and the crew is telling him to stop and help rescue people in the water instead, wouldn't he be relieved of command?

     Liam Neeson (Admiral Shane) was only in this movie for maybe 20 minutes and that may be an exaggeration.  He didn't get killed like I thought, but underusing such an excellent actor is almost an even greater crime.  The fact that all of the scenes he was in were all good might have something to do with the way I feel.

     I could have been fooled by Hamish Linklater's (Cal Zapata) performance in this movie.  I could have sworn that every time he was on the screen, Jeff Goldblum's character from Independence Day was there.

     The first time you see the aliens, they have an interesting look.  The more they show them, however, the more fake they start to look.

     I couldn't really tell what the motivation of the aliens was.  At times is was destroy, destroy, destroy.  If they didn't feel threatened, though, they didn't attack.  I don't know if the movie was trying to say that they weren't just ruthless killing machines, but it was very confusing.  It was like they wanted to take us over peacefully.  I didn't get it.

     Rihanna (Petty Officer Cora "Weps" Raikes).  You are an extremely beautiful woman and a pretty decent singer and musical entertainer.  Please don't quit your day job.  Maybe she was just put in the wrong role.  If they were going to have her act like Zoe Saldana in Columbiana, why didn't they just get Zoe Saldana?  Maybe a different role would be better for her.  I just didn't by the tough girl act.

     There is a lot more I could say, but I will leave it at that.  This movie felt like a lot of other movies (Battle: Los Angeles, Independence Day, Etc.), but was nowhere near as good.  It had some great ideas that I would have loved to see in a better movie.  The story is unoriginal and the acting subpar.  If you want to see a lot better movie that is along the same lines, watch Battle: Los Angeles.  I wouldn't say this is a horrible movie, but is has been done before and a lot better.

     Today also begins a new segment called Monday Quickie Reviews.  This can be any new or old movie that I see over the weekend.  To see this, just head over to The Reel Opinion's Facebook page to see a quickie review of The Dictator.

Tuesday will be the DVD Release of the Week as well as Trailer Tuesday.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


May 18th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion previews Battleship

Rated PG-13

     The trend of taking a toy line or a game continues with this movie.  My first thought is that this is a horrible idea.  Is there going to be a lot of "You sank my battleship" in-jokes?  Are they going to have "Hit & Miss" lines?  Who knows?  What I do know is that a movie based on something such as a board game can actually be successful.  If you would have told me before I saw Rock ‘Em Sock ‘Em Robots (aka Real Steel) was going to be a good movie, I would have called you nuts.  However, that movie was great.  This movie is not done by the same people.

     Battleship, by its trailer, looks and sounds like Transformers.  They are both Hasbro products, so I'm sure that is not a coincidence.  It also looks kind of like Battle: Los Angeles.  The problem with that is that movie is incredible.  I thought that movie was going to stink, but was floored with how good it was after I watched it.  If this is a clone, it better be a really good one.

     Liam Neeson (Admiral Shane) is in this, but I have a feeling for not very long.  Taylor Kitsch (Lt. Alex Hopper), who was great in the underappreciated John Carter, is the star of the show.  He has done a pretty good job in the movies I have seen him in, even if the movie isn't that good.  I'm talking about you, X-Men Origins: Wolverine.  I'm not sure what I think about Rihanna (Petty Officer Cora "Weps" Raikes) as an actress.  This is her first role in anything, so we will see.  She is pretty cute and a decent singer, so we'll see how it goes.

     I'm not expecting anything groundbreaking in this movie.  I think that it is going to just be a gigantic effects, shoot ‘em up.  That would be okay if Battle: Los Angeles hadn't done it already combined with a great story.  I do, however, like to be surprised.

I will have my review of this movie by Monday, May 21st.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 


May 17th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion's Look At All Things Max Payne

Max Payne and Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne

Both Rated M for Mature

     I love video games. As I have gotten older I don't get to play them as much, but I do love to sit down and play through a game every now and then. I tend to be more drawn in to the one's with a great story and solo action than the multiplayer ones. As a big fan of movies, I see video games as another storytelling art form, no matter what anybody else thinks or says. If movies can be called art, so can games...period.

     Games like Gears of War and Splinter Cell have really resonated with me because they not only draw you in with a lot of action, but they also suck you in with complex tales that make you come back for more. In 2001, I got my first taste of what would become my favorite games of all time. I was at a friend's house and he had me try Max Payne. I like shoot 'em ups, so I dove right in. I was instantly hooked. The gritty story, the graphic novel style cutscenes and the gunplay were like nothing I had ever played before. The fact that if the battle got too heated, you could slow down the action like a John Woo film made it even better. This was called "bullet time".

     I only really got to play a little bit of the game at the time. It wasn't until years later that I finally purchased the games for myself and got to play through them. When I bought them at Gamestop, the first one cost me $3 used and part two cost me $1.50. I took them home and played through both of them over the course of a couple of weeks. Best $4.50 I ever spent.

     I don't want to give up too many details since you can still get both games over XBOX LIVE and the Playstation store. The games both have their flaws, but the incredible story make up for that. I know some people that ended up not like the games because the character never really gets the Hollywood endings a lot of characters get. Just when you think things are going right for Max, the rug gets yanked from under him. I actually like this aspect because it makes the game's story unpredictable. I like the fact that the endings to both games aren't real happy, especially part two. It helps you to identify with the character more.

     Max is a tortured soul. He has had his life turned upside down near the beginning of the game. There is one moment that really got to me. An image they show in the first game is one of the most powerful character motivators I have ever seen or heard of in any game, movie or book. To this day this image sticks with me any time I think about the game. It is something I never thought I would see in a game, but it is necessary to help drive Max forward in his war against the criminal element.

     I suggest you play both of these games before you play Max Payne 3. I think it is important to know what the character has been through before you see where he is going.

     Next week, I will talk about my experience with Max Payne 3. I just got it and have been waiting almost 10 years to play it. The horrible film from 2008 made me want it even more. On May 31st, I will talk about the movie based on the games. Weather permitting, I will have a surprise for you as well.

     Friday's movie is your choice. On The Reel Opinion's Facebook page on the top left of the wall, you can vote on which movie I will go see Friday. Will it be What To Expect When You're Expecting, The Dictator or Battleship? You get to decide. Today is the last day to vote on this. I will have the winning vote getter tonight.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

May 16th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics review of The Scorpion King

Rated PG-13

Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Welcome to the third installment of "Wrestle-May-nia". Today I'm going to talk about one of my favorite pro wrestlers, The Rock. To me he is not Dwayne Johnson. If I talk about him I call him The Rock. If I were to ever meet him, I would call him The Rock. To me, he is and always will be The Rock.

     When The Rock had a bit part in The Mummy Returns, he played the villain. He was a king trying to conquer the world, but is defeated. He basically sells his soul for survival and leads a demonic army that destroys Egypt. When the task is done, his soul is claimed and he doesn't appear again till near the end of the movie.

     In The Scorpion King, however, Mathayus (The Rock) is a killer for hire. When the rest of his people are killed, he seeks revenge on the one who did it. He eventually succeeds in this and becomes king after he frees the people from the evil king. What didn't gel here for me was why was he good in this movie, but evil in the other? Why did he free the people in this movie, but wanted to rule all in the other? I know I am probably over thinking things, so I will try to not let that get in the way of the review. With that aside, this movie still isn't very good.

     The Rock really hadn't grown out of just being a pro wrestler yet. He now has had some experience and some pretty good movies to show for it, but this was his first starring role and it showed. He just seemed uncomfortable in front of the camera. Of course, it didn't help that the script was bad and everyone around him wasn't doing a very good job either. Michael Clarke Duncan (Balthazar) is a great actor, but he was just kind of there for this movie. I feel that the screenwriters for this movie were just told to get a script done, just so they could sell the movie while The Rock was still really hot in wrestling.

     The music didn't really fit the movie. I am okay with teaser trailers using rock music in them, but the movie itself should have a soundtrack that fits the time. Battle scenes were loaded with loud guitars riffs that just didn't fit.

     The action was uninspired and bland. The effects were not that great. The whole time, I would have rather been watching the remake of Conan The Barbarian and that's sad.

     Next week, the WWE tries their hand at the horror genre as Kane (aka Glenn Jacobs), "brother" of The Undertaker, stars in See No Evil.

     Thursday will be the first of three installments all about Max Payne. All three games and the movie will be covered. On the last Thursday, weather permitting, there will be a little surprise as well.

     Friday's movie is your choice. On The Reel Opinion's Facebook page, there is a question at the top left of the wall. Which movie will you send me to see? Will it be The Dictator, What To Expect When You're Expecting or Battleship? You get to decide.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 15th, 2012

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is The Grey

Rated R

     This was kind of a tough choice for me, but I ultimately had to make a decision. A special honorable mention goes to Chronicle because it is also a movie that was a lot better than I gave it advanced credit for. They are releasing an extended version that I can't wait to see. The reason I picked The Grey as the Release of the Week is because I got something totally different than what I expected from it. The previews would suggest that this was just a movie about Liam Neeson punching wolves in the face. It is so much more than that.

     The trailers are actually a little bit misleading. This is about a group of men that have to learn what it is to survive and fight for what you love. What would you do to survive? I don't really want to ruin anything for you, so just go watch it already. :^) This was the first great film of the year and is still in contention for The Opie (The Reel Opinion Award) for best picture of the year. If you liked movies like Alive, this film is for you.

 

Other Releases: May 15th, 2012

* The Devil Inside (Avoid this movie like the plague)

* One for the Money

* Rampart

* Kill Bill Complete – Blu-Ray

* Chronicle – Director's Cut (Highly recommended)

* Sid the Science Kid – Sid's Backyard Camp Out

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for Argo and Gangster Squad. To see these trailers, just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page. To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     Wednesday will be the next installment of "Wrestle-May-nia". It is The Rock's turn to be reviewed. I will be reviewing his first feature length film, The Scorpion King.

     In honor of Max Payne 3 the game being release today, the next three Thursday's will be dedicated to all things Max Payne. I will talk about my love for the games as well as the horrible, horrible movie.

     Friday's preview will be your choice. Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook page and vote on which movie I go see this Friday. Will it be What To Expect When You're Expecting, Battleship or The Dictator? You decide for me.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 14th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Special Mother's Day Edition review of Dark Shadows

Rated PG-13

     I went to see this movie with my mom on Friday.  I will have her review in a bit.  I had no real knowledge of the Dark Shadows series going into this movie.  My mom watched the series when she was younger.  As for me, I found the movie to be rather boring.  It wasn't as funny as I thought it would be.  I thought the actors were either underused or their parts poorly acted.  The movie looked pretty good, but that doesn't fix everything that was wrong with this movie.

     I don't know if it was a directing choice or not and I know that this movie was based off of a soap opera, but the acting in this movie made me feel like I was watching a big budget soap opera.  I'm not saying this is a good thing.  How can you have a movie with such a big group of talented actors and the movie be so bad?  Do you blame the script?  Do you blame the director?  I don't know, but either way it did not work.

     The story only had one surprise and it really wasn't that interesting.  You saw it coming, but you didn't exactly know from where.  The overall story was just kind of cheesy.  I pretty much predicted everything that was going to happen.

     The love story really wasn't that interesting.  They really didn't spend enough time on it for it to be really believable.  First off, Johnny Depp (Barnabas Collins) is almost fifty years old.  Bella Heathcote (Victoria Winters) is twenty-four years old.  I don't really think that the age difference was really a problem, but the fact that Johnny Depp wasn't really believable as an eternal younger man.

Here is what my mom had to say about the movie:

     I watched the new dark shadows with Geno.  It didn't make my heart skip a beat, but it did make me laugh at times.  I think I'll keep my old Dark Shadows stored in my memory, just think of them and smile.  Sometimes new and improved isn't always better.

-Carol Reynolds

     Short and to the point, isn't it.  I only remember hearing laughter from other people just a few times during the movie.  Let me know what you thought about the movie.  Just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page and comment on the wall.

     Tuesday will be The DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday.  Wednesday will be the next installment of "Wrestle-May-nia".  The next three Thursdays will be dedicated to all things Max Payne (the games, the movie and a surprise).

     Friday is your choice which movie I go see.  The choices are What To Expect When You're Expecting, Battleship and The Dictator.  To vote, join The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page.  To do that, just Hit this link and like it.  The question is at the top of the Facebook wall.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 11th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Special Mother's Day preview of Dark Shadows…

Rated PG-13

     My experience with horror films started at an early age.  I probably didn't know everything that was going on, but I got a dose of films like Friday the 13th and Nightmare on Elm Street early in life.  One memory I have is going to see Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare in 3D with my mom Carol and Grandma Frankie (she was a little uncomfortable at the movie).

     I like a lot of horror movies and TV shows, but I have not seen the original Dark Shadows.  My opinion of this movie will solely be based on my perspective of this being a new movie, not an adaptation.  From the looks of the previews, this seems to be a mix , of the Addams Family or the Munsters and Mel Brooks' Dracula Dead and Loving It.  It also seems somewhat of a fish out of water story as well.

     From what I understand, this movie will way different from the TV show, which I'm sure will make a lot of fans very upset.  I am just hoping to be entertained.  I thought the trailers looked pretty funny, so I am actually looking forward to it.  The biggest problem is that I am not the biggest fan of Tim Burton, but you never know.

Since I don't have the knowledge of the original show, I'm going with somebody that does.  My mom will be accompanying me to the movie.  I asked here give some of her thoughts on the remake of Dark Shadows:

     "When Geno told me there was a new Dark Shadows movie coming out, my heart skipped a beat and it made me smile.  I've always loved scary shows and the old Dark Shadows was one of them.  The eerie music at the beginning of the show would draw you in and for a short time you would get lost in a spooky, soap opera type show.

     The first time you would see Barnabas Collins rising out of his coffin or see no reflection in a mirror it would give you chills.  Times have changed a lot.  Movies and shows have better graphics and more interesting storylines, but the old Dark Shadows will always be one of my favorite memories.

     Geno invited me to go this Friday to see the new Dark Shadows.  I like Johnny Depp, so I am hoping for the same thrill I got when I watched the original years ago.  Even if I don't like the movie, I'm spending some quality time with my son, Geno, and that's priceless."

-Carol Reynolds

Thanks mom.  I will have my review as well as my mom's by Monday, May 14th.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 10th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Second Chance presents the Conan The Barbarian remake

 

Rated R

MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

     I went to see this movie in the theater, but did not review it.  When it came out on DVD, I warned you, the readers and viewers, to not waste your time.  I only watched it the one time, so I decided that I would give it another try.  Though I found a little bit more that I liked about it, I still would not recommend this movie to you.

     In my DVD review, I told you that Conan as a kid (Leo Howard) was a better Conan than Conan as an adult (Jason Mamoa).  This still remains true.  The first twenty minutes of the movie feels like a Conan movie should feel.  Ron Perlman (Corin) is awesome as Conan's dad.  Hearing him say "By Krom" just sounds right.  I know he had to die to advance the story, but this movie suffers after he is gone.

     I really tried to pinpoint what really bothered me about this movie.  I mentioned before that Conan seemed to mug for the camera at times.  This still bothered me, but I think that the biggest problem is the dialog.  In the parts where Conan is a kid, the dialog seems to fit the time, s. , ; When he is an adult, the dialog seems too modern too often.

     The action in the movie was a little better than I remember.  Not watching it in 3D helped.  When I saw it in the theater, I had no choice.  Very rarely will I choose 3D on purpose.  There were a couple of scenes that were a little too unbelievable, but the action and violence fit the story.

     The ending was really vague.  Tamara (Rachel Nichols) says to Conan that she knows he has to go.  Why?  He just killed the man that killed his father.  His life's mission was over.  It would have been nice to know why he couldn't stop and stay.  A possible plot for a sequel might have helped this movie as well.

     I really think that a better script would have really helped to make this movie better.  If the rest of the movie felt like the first twenty minutes, I really might have liked it better.

Friday will be a Special Mother's Day Edition for my preview of Dark Shadows.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

 

Follow Me on Twitter

May 9th, 2012

The Reel Opinion Classics review of Legendary

Rated PG-13

     Welcome to the second week of "Wrestle-May-nia". Today's movie stars John Cena (Mike Chetley) as a former wrestling stand out who is down on his luck years after his dad is killed in a car crash. He is estranged from his mother Sharon (Patricia Clarkson) and his younger brother Cal (Devon Graye). Cal, who is more of a book worm, decides that he wants to find his brother who he never really knew. He decides to do this by joining the high school wrestling team. His hope is that, through wrestling, he can get his brother involved and put the missing pieces of their family back together.

     A lot of people, especially pro wrestling fans, ripped this movie to shreds. For those of you that are not fans of the sport, John Cena is a very polarizing figure. There is either a love him or hate him stance when it comes to the fans. I think he can be entertaining, but I find myself rooting against him a lot. I am not judging this movie by his in ring persona. Some pro wrestlers that I like, such as The Rock, make some pretty bad movies. I will get in to that more next week. I actually found this movie to be pretty entertaining. It moved a little fast sometimes and the Red character (Danny Glover), s, eemed to be too much like a guardian angel, but all in all it was a decent feel good story. What is the deal with the WWE producing all of these feel good stories? Don't there guys beat the crap out of each other for a living? (sarcasm)

     John Cena, before becoming a pro wrestler, was a football player and a body builder. You could have fooled me because he seemed to know what he was talking about when it came to the wrestling. I found his performance to be pretty believable. You didn't like him when you weren't supposed to and liked him when he turned his life around. I have seen worse performances. Again, I will cover that next week.

     Things did seem to come too easy for Cal when he was learning to wrestle, but the movie does span an entire season of the high school sport, so I can let that go.

     All in all, I liked this one. Like The Chaperone, while it, is not perfect, it is what it is. Even if you proudly wear your Cena Sucks T-shirt, this movie isn't that bad.

     Next week I will talk about one of the worst movies starring a pro wrestler. The Rock's first starring role in The Scorpion King will be covered.

     Thursday is a new Second Chance. The remake of Conan the Barbarian will be rewatched and reviewed.

Friday will be a Special Mother's Day Edition for my preview of Dark Shadows.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 8th, 2012

The Reel Opinion DVD Releases of the Week...

     There are four releases this week that come out on Blu-Ray: The Hunt for Red October, Patriot Games, Clear & Present Danger and The Sum of All Fears. The series of Jack Ryan movies, especially Clear and Present Danger, are some of my favorites. The character of Jack Ryan has been played by three different actors: Alec Baldwin, Harrison Ford and Ben Affleck. Chris Pine has been rumored to take over the mantle as of late. Some of these movies may not have aged well in a technology sense, but they are still very good and intense movies.

Other Releases: May 8th, 2012

* WWE: Wrestlemania XXVIII

* Chuck: The Complete 5th Season

* UFC 143: Diaz vs. Condit

* The Mel Brooks Collection

* Underworld: Awakening

* Tim & Eri, c, 's Billion Dollar Movie

* The Vow

* Gremlins 2: The New Batch – Blu-Ray

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for Brave and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. To see these trailers, just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page. To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     Wednesday will be the second installment of "Wrestle-May-nia". John Cena's Legendary will be the movie reviewed.

     Thursday will be a new Second Chance. The remake of Conan the Barbarian will be rewatched and reviewed.

Friday will be a special Mother's Day edition for my preview of Dark Shadows.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 7th, 2012

The Reel Opinion reviews...

     The wait and the worry is over.  This is by far the easiest review I will ever have to write.  Before I start, I want you to know that there was no way that if this movie stunk, I would give it a free pass.  That being said, The Avengers is THE superhero movie.  I will repeat that.  The Avengers is THE superhero movie.  Not The Dark Knight.  Not Spider-Man 2.  Not X-Men 2.  Not even X-Men: First Class (That movie still is awesome, though).  There were a few things I would have like to see them do for this movie, but that stuff can come later.  This movie was epic, funny and had a heart.  Since there is so much I liked about this movie, I will only talk about a few things that really stuck out.

     The biggest winner from this movie has to be The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo).  I never thought I would say somebody's performance could put Edward Norton to shame, but Ruffalo did just that.  I now kind of wish he would have been Bruce Banner from the start.  The character of The Hulk went from only going to be in The Avengers movies to Mark Ruffalo getting a multi-appearance deal.  Of the first five films, The Hulk was my favorite, so this is very good news to me.

     Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) proved that he belongs in these movies.  He is funny, brave and it is his almost fanboyish belief in superheros that pulls this team together.  His character is one of the first characters in memory that was so popular in a comic book movie or TV show that the creators of the comics added them to the comics.  Harley Quinn was created for Batman: The Animated Series and ended up in the comics as well.

     Loki (Tom Hiddleston) was the perfect villain for this movie.  He was arrogant and conniving enough to keep our heroes on their toes.  He was also somewhat not a willing participant in some of the events of the film.  His character almost seemed like he was doing some things just to,, save his own skin.

     All of the main characters got a fair share of screen time.  They were all important and they were all useful.  Nobody felt left out and that is how you make a good collaboration movie.

     The humor of the movie was outstanding.  I don't want to ruin any of it, but there is a scene involving The Hulk and Loki that I still laugh about when I think about it.  It was perfect.

     Stay after the credits twice.  About half way through, they introduce who the villain was behind everything.  If you have seen the movie and want an explanation to who it was, just e-mail me at the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I will fill you in on the character.  I never saw it coming and it is perfect.  The part after the credits is kind of dumb, but is the good kind of dumb.

     This is how you make a great superhero movie.  You mix great humor with great action and have an outstanding cast that know their stuff.  If your heart doesn't stop when you see the team stand together for the first time, what's wrong with you?  I have seen it twice already and am planning to see it again at least once.  This is how you make a great superhero movie.

     Tuesday will be a new DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday.  Wednesday will be a new installment of "Wrestle-May-nia".  Thursday will be a new Second Chance.  The remake of Conan The Barbarian will be the movie reviewed.  Friday will be my preview of Dark Shadows.  I have something special for Mother's Day for that one.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


EbertFest Day 1

 

EbertFest Day 2

EbertFest Day 3

EbertFest Day 4

EbertFest Day 5

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 4th, 2012

The Reel Opinion previews...

Rated PG-13

     Here we go. This movie has been built up to for the last four years starting with Iron Man in 2008. That movie started what could end up being the biggest, most ambitious superhero movie of all time, or it could end up being the biggest flop. Being that I only disliked one of the five movies that were interwoven to make The Avengers tells me that there is a really good chance that it is going to be awesome.

     Other than Iron Man 2, which it has been well documented that I didn't like very much, the other movies have either been really good or at least decent. The Incredible Hulk is still my favorite followed very closely by Captain America. Iron Man and Thor were both decent movies that still did very well at keeping the overlapping stories going.

     I know that the big three (Captain America, Thor & Iron Man) will be the main focus, but I do hope that the other characters get their on screen due. I would especially like The Hulk to be done well. I do have faith in this because Mark Ruffalo (Bruce Banner/The Hulk) has already signed a new multi-picture deal to reprise the role. I would like to see Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) & Black Widow (Scarlett Johannson) get fair treatment. Especially Hawkeye. He only got a couple of minutes in the Thor movie. Black Widow got a pretty decent buildup in Iron Man 2. Of course, more Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) is always good thing as well.

     There has been a lot of footage released for this movie. I am hoping that director Joss Whedon has some still hidden tricks up his sleeves for this and future chapters of this franchise.

     Loki (Tom Hiddleston) is a good pick for the villain. He was probably the best part about Thor. I would like to see one or more new big villains pop their heads up in this movie. The return of The Red Skull (Hugo Weaving) maybe?

     If you can't tell, I have a lot of faith in this movie being everything we as comic book fans have hoped for. With the great buildup, great casting choices and four out of five good movies, I feel I as well as all of you are in for a treat.

     I do have a prediction to make. I think this movie is going to take the highest grossing movie of all time away from Avatar. Down with the overrated James Cameron film.

     I will have my review of this movie for you by May 7th. I am going to see it in Peoria at the IMAX Theater there. I can't wait.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

EbertFest Day 1

 

EbertFest Day 2

EbertFest Day 3

EbertFest Day 4

EbertFest Day 5

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 3rd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Not Seen In Theaters presents...

Rated R – Unrated

     I wanted to see this when it was in theaters, but it didn't happen. I kind of forgot about it until I was at EbertFest in my hotel room. I caught the first ten minutes or so and thought it was pretty funny. I decided then that I would cover it this week. I wanted to see if the rest of the movie was as funny as the little bit that I saw. I have to say that "Yeah, it was."

     In a time of too many gross out comedies, this movie stands out. Sure there are a few gross out scenes in this movie, but not enough to hurt it in any way. This film just has great acting, creative jokes and the right amount of diversity between the main actors of the film.

     Jason Bateman (Nick Hendricks), Jason Sudeikis (Kurt Buckman) and Charlie Day (Dale Arbus) all play workers who hate their bosses for different reasons. Their bosses are played brilliantly by Kevin Spacey (Dave Harkin), Colin Farrell (Bobby Pellitt) and Jennifer Aniston (Dr. Julia Harris, DDS). Each one makes the main character's lives difficult in their own special ways. The "heroes" come up with a plan with the help of Motherf***** Jones (Jamie Foxx) to kill their bosses because they think it will make their lives easier.

     Though this is a great ensemble cast, I feel that Charlie Day kind of steals the show. He is very funny and entertaining playing a spazzy, soon to be married, getting sexually harassed by his boss, sex offender (He urinated at a public park when there were no kids around). I enjoy his work on Its Always Sunny In Philadelphia and he brings his comedy A-game here. This is not to say that the rest of the cast are slouches, but he leads them to some comedy gold in this movie.

     I don't really have anything bad to say about this movie. The jokes are great, the premise is interesting and the plot has some fun twists to it. It is a little dirty, so it is not for the kiddies. I watched the unrated version on Blu-Ray, but there is the theatrical release available as well. I'm not sure how much cleaner it is, but I can't imagine it is much different. This is one of the better comedies I have seen in a while. Give it a look.

     Friday will be my preview of The Avengers. It is finally here and it is time to see if all the buildup is worth the payoff or if it will be crushed by the weight of its own hype.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


EbertFest Day 1

EbertFest Day 2

 

EbertFest Day 3

EbertFest Day 4

EbertFest Day 5

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 2nd, 2012

The Reel Opinion Classics review of...

Rated PG-13

     Welcome to a new month and a new monthly theme. This month is called "Wrestle-May-nia". This month's movies will focus on professional wrestlers that star in movies. The only rules are that the starring wrestler has to be the main character or villain in the movie, I can not have seen the movie beforehand and the movie can't be about pro wrestling.

     The movie involves a father, Ray Bradstone (Paul "Triple H" Levesque) trying to reconnect with his ex-wife and daughter after he gets out of prison. He used to be a wheelman for Phillip Larue (Kevin Corrigan) until a job went bad. "Ray Ray" didn't tell the cops who he was working for so he took the full sentence. His ex-wife and daughter have both moved on. His daughter especially doesn't want anything to do with him. Bradstone uses self help books and a call in radio show to help turn his life around. After he has trouble getting a job, he is approached not so subtly by Larue to join the crew for a bank heist. Bradstone decides to walk away from the job while it is progress and ends up on a field trip bus with his daughter. The film involves the stolen money ending up on the bus and Larue and his gang trying to get it back while Bradstone takes the time to reconnect with his daughter.

     As many bad things as I read about the movie beforehand, I didn't find it to be that bad. It reminded me a lot of Kindergarten Cop in a few ways. While not as good as that movie, it still had that "fish out of water" feel to it. Sure there were a few running jokes that got old, such as the "Its just plain Ray" joke, but the movie was somewhat entertaining. If you go in to this movie knowing that it is going to be good, dumb fun you might actually enjoy it for what it is. Triple H can be really funny when he doing his in ring promos for the WWE. He carries some of that into this movie.

     This movie is what it is. An already been done tons of times before, feel good movie. I did enjoy it a lot more than I thought I would.

     Next week will be John Cena's turn. Will Legendary be just that or will it fall flat?

     Thursday will be a new Not Seen In Theaters. Horrible Bosses is the movie covered.

     Friday will be my preview for The Avengers. Will all of the buildup be worth it or will the movie be crushed under its own hype?

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and, like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

EbertFest Day 1

EbertFest Day 2

EbertFest Day 3

EbertFest Day 4

EbertFest Day 5

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

May 1st, 2012

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week...

Rated R

     Though I didn't think it was the greatest movie, it still deserves a look. Watching this movie is like watching art in motion. The story is just okay and some of the great actors in the movie are just going with the motions. The fight scenes are worth a watch. You hear and feel EVERY hit. They don't play music during any of the fights and this helps you feel closer to the battles. This was worth it for me.

 

Other Releases: May 1st, 2012

* Joyful Noise

* New Year's Eve

* Transformers: Japanese Collection – Super God

* Covert Affairs: Season 2

* George Harrison: Living in a Material World

* W.E.

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Today's trailers are for This Is 40 and Madea's Witness Protection. To see them, just join The Reel Opinion's Facebook page. To do that, just Hit this link and like it.

     Wednesday will be the beginning of a new monthly theme. Thursday will be a new Not Seen In Theaters. Friday will be my preview for The Avengers.

If you want to see my coverage of EbertFest 2012, just hit the links at the top of the page.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.  I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at.  It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter.  You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 



 

Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms