The Reel Opinion: August 2012 - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion: August 2012

Posted:

August 31st, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion previews The Possession

 

PG-13

     It is getting to be that time of the year again. Halloween is just a couple of months away, so that means that horror movies are going to start trickling into theaters more often. What we have here seems to be yet another possession movie that is supposed to be based on true events. The last possession movie I watched in the theaters, The Devil Inside, failed miserably in keeping my interest. Unlike The Possession, that movie was a "found footage" film. I would normally say that they don't work, but after recently watching the first three Paranormal Activity movies, I for the most part have altered my tune a little. I think this movie being just a normal horror movie helps with using the possessed person theme.

     The plot involves a father played by the outstanding Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Clyde) buying his daughter an old box that ends up being more than it seems.

     I'm not really sure where it is going to go, but I am interested to find out. I am a big fan of Jeffrey Dean Morgan, so having him in the movie does not hurt. I do hope that it can offer something original to the possession genre, but I won't get my hopes up too much.

     Another thing that might bother me a little bit is that it is PG-13. That kind of limits the scare possibilities, but you never know.

I will have my review of this movie by September 3rd.

     Also, you might want to join The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page by September 7th. On that day, I am going to ask a Reel Opinion Facebook Member's Only trivia question for prizes. There will be a bigger first prize and two smaller second and third prizes. You have to be a member of the page to win, so join up today.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 30th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Lawless

 

Rated R

     I was really looking forward to this movie.  I mean, you have Tom Hardy, Gary Oldman, Guy Pearce and Jessica Chastain.  For starters, that is a pretty great cast.  You also have Shia LaBeouf, someone I normally do not care for too much.  Would that effect how good this movie was going to be?  Thankfully no.  He wasn't that bad in this.

     I'll start with what I didn't like, which wasn't much.  My dislikes for this movie are more personal complaints instead of real problems.  The first thing is the lack of Gary Oldman (Floyd Banner) in the movie.  For the very short few scenes he was in the movie, he took command of the screen.  This, of course, is something he does very well.  The first time you see him in the movie is probably my favorite scene in the whole movie.

     The next thing that I didn't like is that they didn't dig deep enough into Charlie Rakes's (Guy Pearce) odd character enough.  They alluded to him being really demented, but didn't develop it enough for my liking.  I do think that they make you hate him enough, but I would have liked to see more of what made him tick.

     I won't call Shia LaBeouf's (Jack Bondurant) performance great or anything, but he held his own against the big boys in this movie.

     I thought the movie had a decent, simple plot.  Moonshine being made and sold in Virginia during prohibition.  The cops are as or more corrupt than the Bootleggers.  Some people are trying to change the business and some of the Bootleggers won't have it.  Add in two extremely different love stories and you have a pretty interesting plot.

     Tom Hardy is great as usual.  They talk about his character being immortal in this movie.  I am beginning to think that is going to describe his career.  Is there anything this guy can't do?  He plays the tough, but somewhat awkward Forrest Bondurant.  His character basically can take a licking and keep on ticking, so to speak.  Great performance.  The love story is a little strange, but it fits the two characters very well.

     I loved the music in the movie.  It always seemed to set the right tone at the right time.

     This was a pretty good movie, but it is not for everyone.  It is a little strange at time and pretty violent.  I enjoyed it a lot, other than my few gripes.  If you like these actors or gangster type movies, you will probably enjoy this one a lot.  If you are a fan of these types of movies, go see it in the theater.

Friday will be my preview of The Possession.

     You might want to join The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page before September 7th.  Sometime on that day, I am going to ask a Reel Opinion Facebook Member's Only trivia question.  There will by prizes involved.

Until next time - Geno  

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 29th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics Review of The Last Airbender

 

Rated PG

SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

     Welcome to the final week of Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch. As of now, M. Night Shyamalan is pretty much a punchline to a lot of jokes when it comes to Hollywood movies. I have to admit that I have ripped on the man plenty when it comes to his movies. I think my dislike of most of his work comes more from his own attitude towards his own films more than the films themselves. I can understand a little bit of this because after The Sixth Sense, it seemed that he could do no wrong in many people's eyes. He followed that movie with Unbreakable and caught a lot of flak for it. Many people didn't like that movie. Of the movies of his that I have seen, I think it is his best work to date. Of those movies that I have seen, I think Signs and The Sixth Sense were okay, but The Village and Lady in the Water were almost unbearable. I can't even watch Signs or the Sixth Sense anymore because they start to get old real quick with me. Other than Unbreakable, I was pretty much done with Shyamalan.

     For this year's MISIWNW, I decided that I would visit at lease one of his movies that I had not seen and give it a shot. I chose the one that even though he wrote the screenplay, it was not one of his original ideas. I had not seen Nickelodeon's Avatar: The Last Airbender, so I had no expectation for this movie to follow a certain formula involving the characters and the story.

     What I got out of this movie was that it felt like a rushed story. For what was supposed to be a story based on a kid's cartoon, the elements involved here seemed pretty heavy. Long story short, a young man named Aang (Noah Ringer), pronounced Ong (Important later) is found in a block of ice with his flying bison and is supposed to be a long lost Avatar, pronounced Ovitar (Again, important later). The Avatar is a person that keeps being reincarnated to bring balance to the four elements: Earth, Fire, Water and Air. Some people in this world can control one element. This is called Bending. The Avatar is supposed to have the ability to control them all. He is found by Katara (Nicola Peltz) and Sokka (Jackson Rathbone), pronounced Soe-ka. They end up trying to be captured by the Fire Nation, who are the villains of this story. The story is basically that Aang needs to learn how to bend the three elements of Water, Earth and Fire. This movie is about him trying to learn Water bending. Confused yet?

     One other big thing I noticed about the Bending is that the attacks were very impractical. It takes a long, drawn out kata-style moves to complete the simplest of element attacks. More on that later.

     I could go on and on about the plot, but I would be at this for days. Long story short, after watching this movie, I felt a lot was missing, so I decided to go to the source material and watch the entire cartoon of Avatar: The Last Airbender to see what it was that was missing. It would come to find out that not only was stuff missing, but a lot had been changed as well. Being that this was M. Night Shyamalan, I was no that surprised.

 

The Reel Opinion reviews Avatar: The Last Airbender TV Series

 

TV-Y7

     Since this series ran for a few years I will only cover a couple of things. It took me about ten minutes of watching this series to figure out that Shyamalan had dropped the ball big time.

     First thing was the name pronunciation changes. Aang is Aang, not Ong. Sokka is Sock-a, not Soe-ka. It is Avatar, not Ovitar. This happens with a lot of the characters.

     Secondly is the attitudes of the characters. There is serious moments in this series, but there is a lot of humor too. Shyamalan's versions of the characters were so serious all of the time. The cartoon's characters had a not so serious side to them as well. Sokka, who was pretty much stone faced in the movie, is mostly used for comic relief in the cartoon. There are many examples of this difference as well.

     Thirdly, the Bending is totally different between the two. Where it is impractical in the movie, it is quick and efficient in the cartoon. Also, the fire benders in the cartoon could create fire out of nothing. In the movie they needed fire to use in Bending.

     Lastly is one of the biggest parts of the show: The Avatar State. What this was is that The Avatar can summon a huge amount of power and use it to attack. The problem with this is that he has no control over his actions and he ends up killing people. This haunts Aang for the rest of the series. In the movie, it is like an easily controlled plaything. Aang does not give it a second thought that he just killed a bunch of people. He seems to have total control over the power. This does not work with the entire point of the story.

     I could go on and on, but I would suggest that you watch this series for yourself. The cartoon is pretty entertaining for both adults and kids. It is well worth your time. After I was done with the cartoon series. I decided to revisit the movie. This was not going to be pretty.

 

The Reel Opinion re-reviews The Last Airbender

 

     Watching this again felt like a bad joke. Though I had an understanding of the universe now, things in Shyamalan's version just did not make sense. I don't know what he watched before writing his screenplay for this, but it could not have been the same cartoon I watched. I can understand needing to cut some things out to make the story fit a certain time frame, but he also cut the soul out of the story as well and replaced it with tons of choreographed magical dances that would be impractical in the types of battles that were being fought.

     Long story short: Watch the cartoon and stay as far away from the movie as possible. Cartoon, good. Movie, crap.

     Next month's Classics Series will be movies about all things Mary Jane. Come back next week for the series I am calling "September High".

     Thursday will be my review of Lawless. Friday will be my preview of The Possession.

     Also, if The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page reaches 300+ likes by September 7th, I will ask a Reel Opinion Facebook Member's Only trivia question. So, share the page and share it often. Help get it over 300 so you can have a chance to win.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 28th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is The Walking Dead: Season 2

 

Rated TV-MA

     I have only seen the first season of this series which was only six episodes.  I am usually not one for all things zombie, but this series is more about the characters than it is about the zombies.  Sure, there is plenty of that two, but the good plot mix between character and creature makes this one worth seeing.  I can't wait to watch this set.

 

Other Releases:  August 28th, 2012

* Sons of Anarchy: Season 4

* Battleship

* Boardwalk Empire: Season 2

* Terminator Anthology

* Homeland: Season1

* Think Like A Man

* Once Upon A Time: Season 1

* The Lucky One

* Starship Troopers: Invasion

    

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday.  Check out The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see the trailers for Solomon Kane and Pitch Perfect.

     Wednesday will be the final installment of the Second Annual Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  I watched a movie, the TV series it was based off of and then watched the movie again.  Why you ask?  SO I could figure out what the director of the movie was thinking after making his adaptation.

     Thursday will be my review of Lawless.  Friday will be my preview of The Possession.

     Also, if The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page gets over 300 likes by September 7th, I will ask a Reel Opinion Facebook Member's Only trivia question for a prize.  So share the page and share it often.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

August 27th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Premium Rush

 

Rated PG-13

     When I was going into this movie I wasn't sure what to expect.  I either thought it was going to be a lot of fun or it was going to be a one trick action pony.  While the movie does rely a lot on its bike riding action, it also can be kind of funny and fun.

     I found a lot to like about this movie.  First and foremost was the look of it.  I really liked the shifts from the camera to maps of the city, telling us where Wilee (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) was headed in the city.  It kind of gave you a perspective on how far he and the other characters had to travel on bike to get where they were going.

     The other thing I really liked was what I will call Wilee's "Jedi Reflexes".  Every time he is in a tight spot, the movie goes into a slow motion phase where he can kind of see different scenarios of what will happen if he takes certain routes.  You usually get about three or four different ones until he finds the right one and avoids crashing.  Of course this is totally unreal, but kind of cool anyway.

     Michael Shannon (Bobby Monday) is insane as the villain.  He turns his crazy-o-meter up to about 300% for this movie.  His character wants the package that Wilee is carrying for reasons that would give up too much if I told you.  He was a little over the top at times, but this movie didn't need a real serious villain.

     There are scenes between Wilee and a bike cop (Christopher Place) that are pretty funny.  They just play on the humor that most movies use in that the idea of a cop on a bike is funny.  You are probably wondering why Wilee does not go to the cops and tell them that someone is trying to catch and/or kill him for the package?  He does try, but there are just a few complications for why he can't trust them.

     Is the acting the greatest in this movie?  No, not really.  Is the plot one of the strongest?  Not at all.  What this movie is, though, is a lot of fun.  There is one kind of serious part of the plot that should have been changed to match the lighter nature of this movie, but it does not really hurt the film at all.  I am not going to say rush (no pun intended) to the theater to see this one, but it will make a pretty fun rental when it comes out on DVD.  I just sat back and enjoyed the not so serious nature of this one.  You should to.

     Monday on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page will be a new Monday Quicky Review of the movie vote's second place getter, Hit & Run.

     Tuesday will be a new DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday.

     Wednesday will be the final installment of the 2nd Annual Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  For this one I watched a movie, watched the TV series it was based off of, then when back and watched the movie again.  Why did I do that?  Because I wanted to know what the heck the director of the movie was thinking when he made his adaptation.

     Thursday will be a review of Lawless.  Friday will be my preview of The Possession.

     Also, if The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page hits 300 likes by September 7th, I will ask a Reel Opinion Facebook Member's Only trivia question for a prize.  So, share the page and share it often.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

August 24th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Previews Premium Rush

 

Rated PG-13

     So you all have spoken and I will be going to see Premium Rush.  I have only seen one trailer for this movie.  I have to say that I really only know that the main character Wilee (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is a bike delivery person that is given a package that people will kill him for.  It seems that for some reason he has some kind of code that he can't open it and see what it is, so I guess that will be the big mystery of the movie.

     I don't know if this movie is going to have any depth and rely or if it is going to try to rely on its bike riding action.  I hope it has some depth because I don't think the possible bike action can carry a whole movie for me.  I do find Joseph Gordon-Levitt to be a decent actor.  The villain of the movie, Bobby Monday, played by Michael Shannon is a wild card for me.  I have seen him be really good and I have seen him be really bad.  Hopefully he has a good day with this one.

     I do hope that this movie is a surprise for me.  I love going into a movie with very low expectations and getting a decent flick.

     I will have my review of this movie by Monday, August 27th.  Also on Monday, I will have a new Monday Quicky Review of the second place vote getter, Hit & Run.  Just go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that review.

Also, congratulations to Leslie Irons for winning Grimm Season 1 on Blu Ray yesterday.  The more interest in The Reel Opinion Blog and Facebook page, the more stuff they might let me give away. 

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 


 

August 23rd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Asks: Should Real Life Events Cause Changes In Movies?

 

     With the theater shooting tragedy in Colorado, Warner Bros. decided that a movie needed to be changed because it had a scene where a theater is shot up.  Though, of course, I feel for the victims of this horrible tragedy, I wonder if anything needed to be changed in the movie Gangster Squad.  The trailers for the movie were quickly pulled after the shooting happened.  While I do understand Warner Bros. decision to pull the trailer, I do have to question the decision to change the movie.

     I really don't want to come off as insensitive, but people die in many different ways in life.  People are attacked many ways in life.  People are hurt many ways in life.  What I am trying to say is that, and I am playing Devil's Advocate here, why aren't other movies changed as well.  I know that some have been and some still are.  The movie The Watch's title was changed at the last minute because of the Trayvon Martin being shot by George Zimmerman, a neighborhood watch participant.  The movie itself was not changed.  They still called it a neighborhood watch in the movie.

     What about a movie where a woman is raped?  This does happen a lot in film.  Isn't that being insensitive to every woman who has ever been raped?  What about war movies.  Thousands of real American heroes died in the many wars this country has taken part of.  Is it not insensitive to show that on film, even if it is historically accurate?  What about Titanic?  Around 1,500 people died in that tragedy, yet there is a movie about it showing people dying badly.  It only took five years for them to make two movies about the tragedies on September 11th, 2001.  Should Hollywood have stayed away from that one?

     My stance is that I feel filmmakers should be able to tell the story they want to.  I don't feel that showing this scene would be insensitive, but I do understand.  I also feel that they should have the right to change it for reasons like this if they choose.  I just have to say that if movies have to tiptoe the line on what they show and when, then hardly any movies would ever be made.  Think about it, I'm sure the movie Gangster Squad still has plenty of shooting and killing going on in it.

     I also got to thinking about the money behind it.  Imagine if the Colorado shooting happened when The Dark Knight came out in 2008.  Imagine if James Holmes had painted up his face like Heath Ledger.  I mean, he colored his hair and called himself The Joker already.  Do you think that Warner Bros. would have pulled the movie that at the time became the second highest grossing film of all time?  I don't think they would have.  I did find that they may have took out a scene from that movie involving The Joker "Dead".

     I wonder if they would have pulled Gangster Squad out of the theaters if it had already been playing when the shootings happened.  I am not so sure they would have.  I think they would have issued a sincere apology and let it stay in theaters.

     I guess what I am trying to say is that even though I really love movies, they are just movies.  Just because I enjoy certain types of movies doesn't mean that I condone some of the actions that take place in them.  Bad things are going to happen in real life and in the movies.  I don't think a movie should have to change because something bad has happened.  We should be offended by every movie out there if life ruled over art.

     Let me know what you think about this.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page or e-mail me at the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.

     Friday's movie is your choice.  Just go to the top of The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to vote on which movie you want me to go see.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 22nd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics Review of Happy Feet

 

Rated PG

SPOILERS AHEAD!!!

     Welcome to the fourth of five Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  The idea of the movie Happy Feet just never really sank in with me.  I had heard a few things about the movie that made me not want to watch it.  One was that it had somewhat of a "Nature good, humans bad" sort of story.  It does, but I am going to forget that for this review.  That is not why I really didn't like this movie.  There were plenty of other reasons.

     First reason is from the technical side.  The animation is horrible.  The environment looks okay, but the animals themselves look really bad.  The year this movie came out, 2006, three other animated movie came out with animations that put this movie to shame.  Those movies were Ice Age 2, Cars and Over The Hedge.  Even back in 2006 there was no excuse for really bad animation anymore.

     Another thing about the look of the penguins is that other than a few key characters, they ALL LOOKED THE SAME.  It drove me nuts trying to figure out who was talking most of the time.

     Instead of animated people, they used real people instead.  That really didn't work because the animation of the animals didn't look real enough to fool anybody.

     I felt that a lot of the song choices were either a little too adult or outdated for the targeted audience.  Even Hugh Jackman (Memphis), who has a great singing voice normally, butchers his songs in this movie.  He does a very poor Elvis impersonation throughout the whole movie.

     Now to the thing that made me angry.  It got a little personal when the main character, Mumble (Elijah Wood), tried to sing for the first time.  Now I know that this movie is supposed to be about the underdog accomplishing what the others can't and it does do this…sort of.  Another thing you have to know is that Mumble was dropped by his father while he was still an egg.  His father keeps this a secret for most of the movie.  What you have to understand about the culture of these animals is that you have to have a "Heartsong" to find a mate.  Mumble can't sing, but he can dance.  For this he is mocked, laughed at and shunned by his ENTIRE COMMUNITY.  Even his father pretty much shuns him.  He is treated like he does not belong because he is, as the movie pretty much says, is mentally challenged.  Is he helped to better himself or encouraged to dance instead of sing?  No, he is HATED for not being able to sing.

     Why this got to me was that my son, Andy, is a special needs child.  He is having some trouble learning to speak and loves to dance.  When Mumble started to dance, I thought of my son.  When the people made fun of him and hated him, my worst fears for my son came out.  People can be cruel towards special needs people.  I was a teenager once, I have seen it.  I was ticked off when Mumble's father did not defend his son.  You better believe if someone insults my son for being himself, we are going to have words or worse.  I am not a violent guy, but there are just some things you just don't do.

     The only reason, and I mean the only reason that the other penguins finally accept Mumble is that he saves the fish supply.  If he would not done that, he would have been shunned and mocked for the rest of his life.  That aspect of the story didn't work for me either.

     Yes the movie made me angry, but I did give it a fair shake.  I like it when a movie makes me think.  The movie I Am Sam had a main character that was mentally challenged and it was a beautiful movie.  There was a reason behind some of the characters not liking Sam in that movie.  If you haven't seen that movie, watch it.  It is pretty heartbreaking.  What I am saying is that touchy subjects like this one can be handled way better than this movie did it.  Between the boring subject matter, horrible animation and strange choices of music, this movie could not be more not recommended.

     Next week is the final week for this month's theme.  For this one, I watched the movie, then the TV series it was based on and then watched the movie again.

     Thursday I will talk about movies being changed because of real life events.

     Friday's movie is your choice.  Go to the top left of The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to vote on which movie I will be seeing.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

August 21st, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week (To Avoid) is The Dictator

 

Unrated

     I saw the theatrical version of this movie and it was one of the most unfunny things I ever saw.  I can't imagine making it raunchier will help its cause.  Unfunny is unfunny.  As I said in my Facebook Quicky Review of it, "It should have just stayed a trailer."

 

Other Releases: August 21st, 2012

* NCIS – Season 9

* The Closer – Season 7

* House – The Final Season

* Revenge – Season 1

* WWE: The 50 Greatest Finishing Moves in WWE History 2012

* NCIS: Los Angeles – Season 3

* Sid the Science Kid: Sid's Spooky Halloween

* A Separation (Highly Recommended)

 

     Tuesday is also Trailer Tuesday.  Just go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see the trailers for The Last Stand and Seven Psychopaths.

     Wednesday is the fourth installment of Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Which of the movies on my list made me incredibly angry when I watched it?  Come back Wednesday to find out.

     Thursday I will talk about movies being changed because of real life events.    

     Get your votes in now to send me to one of three movies this Friday.  Just go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to vote on the question at the top left of the wall.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 20th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion reviews The Expendables 2

 

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     This movie was just like the last one…pretty much.  As much as I enjoyed the first movie for its good, dumb fun, this one had a few of the same problems.

     First off, where did Jet Li (Yin Yang) go after the first act?  At the first of this installment, he really got to shine a little bit taking on a ton of bad guys.  Then he says "I may not be back."  And he wasn't.

     I felt that Jean Claude Van Damme (Vilain) was a pretty good bad guy, but he was underused a little bit.  He did shine in this movie with his acting skills.  Believe it or not, but he should have played a bad guy a long time ago.  He plays arrogant very well.  He did get to fight at the end of the movie, but I was a little disappointed that he only fought one member of The Expendables.  There would have been so many great matchups for him.

     They did keep the group together for the most part this time around.  Every now and then they would send one away, but that was rare.

     I felt that they could have spared us some of the established one liners.  Yes, some of them worked, but not when it was coming from someone else's mouth.  Arnold Schwarzenegger (Trench) should not be quoting Bruce Willis (Mr. Church).

     The story was a simple revenge one.  I won't give away what happens, but you will see it coming a mile away.  A movie like this really doesn't need much more of a plot.  There is the villain's reason for doing what they are doing, but the threat isn't as big as it could have been.

     I felt that Chuck Norris (Booker) could have been used a little more, but that is because he is Chuck Norris.  It was pretty funny when he was around.

     If you want to see some of your favorite action stars kill lots of bad guys and crack good and bad one liners, this is a movie for you.  If you really didn't like the first movie, this one isn't going to change your mind any.  I enjoyed it for what it was.  Like the first one, it was good, dumb fun.  Sometimes that is all a guy needs.

     On Monday, check out The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for a new Monday Quicky Review of Uwe Boll's Rampage.

     Tuesday will be a new Trailer Tuesday and DVD Release of the Week.

     Wednesday will be the fourth of five Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  This is a movie that literally made me angry when I watched it.

     Thursday will be a special look at movies being changed because of real life events.

     Friday's movie is your pick.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to vote on which movie I will see.  Will it be the action thriller Premium Rush, the horror film The Apparition or action comedy Hit & Run.  I could not decide, so you get to decide for me.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

August 17th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion previews The Expendables 2

 

Rated R

     Whether or not you liked the first Expendables or not, the movie gave pretty much what it promised.  The movie was created to bring together action stars from today and yesterday.  When I saw the first one, I never expected the story to be the greatest.  I went to see a little mindless mayhem and testosterone.  I got what I paid for…mostly.

     I was a little disappointed with the lack of use for some of the characters.  Near the end of the movie, all of the characters got their turn to kick a little butt, but the middle of the movie was pretty much just Stallone (Barney Ross) and Jason Statham (Lee Christmas).  Though the parts with Bruce Willis (Mr. Church) and Arnold Schwarzenegger (Trench) were pretty funny, I wanted to see them in action.  From the trailers for this movie, it would seem I get my wish.

     I am a little disappointed that Mickey Rourke will not be back as Tool, at least that is what we are being told.  He was one of the most interesting characters in the first film.  I am happy to see the addition of Jean-Claude Van Damme as the poorly named Vilain and Chuck Norris as Booker.  Now they need to get Steven Seagal, Wesley Snipes (after prison) and Kiefer Sutherland and I will be happy.

     I look for this movie to be more insane than the last one.  I want to see a little more equal opportunity butt kicking this time around.  I just want to go to the theater and not think too hard and have a good testosterone filled good time with some of my favorite past and present action heroes.  Is that so wrong?

     I will have my review of this movie by Monday, August 20th.  I will be airing my Doug Jones interview from Chicago Comic Con this morning instead of my normal segment.  Make sure to tune in for that.  I will upload the uncut interview shortly after that on my YouTube channel.

Monday I will have a new Monday Quicky Review as well.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 16th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Covers Chicago Comic Con 2012

 

     Ever since 2007, or the last six years, Chicago Comic Con has been my big vacation. Last year I watched a movie for the blog there, but I had not covered the event until this year. Unfortunately, I was sick for a lot of the event, but today I will share a few stories of who I met this year.

     I have to say that the way that the con was set up was a vast improvement than in last few years. They spread the con throughout the entire convention center this year. Though Saturday was jam packed full of people, the other days felt a little better when it came to moving around. I was happy for that.

     On day one, Thursday, I met Doug Jones again. This would be the third time for me. He is always a very cool guy and I will share a big reason for that later. I would end up talking to him three different times during the con. I had him sign a picture of me and him from the Cornerstone Festival from last year.

 

     Mostly Thursday was all about WWE Superstar John Cena. I spent most of my time in two different lines: The photo line and the autograph line. Like a lot of the big names that come to this con, you don't really get to spend a lot of time with them. You kind of get to say hi and get a handshake. I did get to notice the way Cena was with the kids and I have to say he is a class act. He seems like he genuinely cares about his fans, especially the kids.

 

     Day two, Friday, was pretty busy. I met Sean Patrick Flanery of the Boondock Saints movies again and he was cool as usual. Missed out on Norman Reedus this year. Maybe next time. Talked to Doug Jones again and had him sign the Abe Sapien toy I didn't have on me the night before. Next was the main attraction, Stan "The Man" Lee. Like Cena, you get about two seconds with him, but it was worth it. I had him sign my Magneto concentration camp poster and got my photo with him as well.

 

     Next was Dean Stockwell. I wasn't sure if he was just messing with me or if he truly didn't remember, but when I handed him a photo from Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker he seemed surprised. It was twelve years ago, but he did voice the middle aged Tim Drake and did a hell of a job with it. He signed it and called me "Batman" when I left. Kind of odd, but hey, he was still awesome. On to one of the best parts of my weekend, Scott Bakula. I handed him a picture from The Informant and we talked about my small part in it. He said that he is now working with all of the same people again and they talk about Decatur all of the time. On my picture, he wrote, "To Geno, Thanks for being in The Informant with us!" As a big fan of Quantum Leap and being proud of my small role in that movie, meeting Scott Bakula will go down as a pretty big moment for this entertainment fan.

 

     Later that night I went to see The Bourne Ultimatum at the Muvico Theater. If you are in the area, I recommend going there. They have 21 and older seating upstairs that is pretty cool. It has love seats up there for you guys that are wanting to get cozy with your ladies.

     Saturday I stayed in bed for a while, still not feeling real well. I went down to the con to get my photo and autograph from Chicago's own WWE Superstar CM Punk. He liked one of the photos I had chosen to be autographed. It was of the "pipe bomb sit down" from last year. Fans of pro wrestling know what I am talking about. I said that it was one of my favorite moments in wrestling ever. He said, "Mine too. I wish they could all be like that." I took that as maybe a statement about the current storylines going on in wrestling.

 

     After I was done with that, I went back to the hotel to rest, still not feeling well. Later on that night, I went back to the Muvico Theater to see The Campaign.

     Sunday at the con is usually shopping day. I got myself a couple of Gears of War toys and a new Punisher coffee mug. That day, I barely had a voice left, but I finally got an opportunity to interview someone I have wanted to interview since I started this project. I went back and forth on whether or not I could pull it off and finally decided to give it a shot. That interview is with none other than Doug Jones. You can see part of that interview on WAND Today on Friday. I will then put the entire interview online shortly after. For not having a voice left and not feeling very well, I am pretty proud of the interview. I even got the "Doug Jones Seal of Approval" as well.

     One other story I would like to share was that of my friend Aaron who went with me. He asked Joey Lawrence if he would talk to his wife Sarah on the phone and Joey said yes and talked to her for about five minutes. It was a pretty big kick for her. I joked to Aaron that he would probably be "Making a baby" when he got home. When he got home, he found out that they were pregnant with their third child. Coincidence?

     Though I missed some of the con because of illness, I still had a great time as usual. The con keeps bringing bigger and bigger names each year. It keeps growing each year as well. Though sometimes I feel like it is getting too big for its breeches, it is still like home to me for a few days out of the year. I still can't wait to go back the next year to see what it has in store for me next.

     Friday will be my preview of The Expendables 2. Also remember that instead of my usual segment on WAND Today, I will be airing part of my Doug Jones interview instead.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 15th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics Review of The Social Network

 

Rated PG-13

     Welcome to the third of five Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Today's movie is one that I didn't want to watch because I didn't think a movie about Facebook would be very interesting.  On a personal note and though I use Facebook for work every day, I have a little bit of a personal story where the website was one of the tools used to turn my life upside down.  Not really Faceboo, k&, #39;s fault, but you know how people can be.  I will probably have this necessary evil, love/hate relationship with the site.  About the movie not being interesting, though, I could not have been more wrong.

     The movie is about the two sets of people behind the website.  The first is Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg) and Eduardo Saverin (Andrew Garfield).  After getting dumped by his girlfriend Erica (Rooney Mara, Zuckerberg blogs about the experience as well as starts a "Who's Hotter?" website and hacks Harvard's network for the pictures.  After being punished for the incident, he is approached by a set of twins, C, ameron and Tyler Winklevoss (Both played by Armie Hammer) about starting what would eventually become Facebook.  The movie's plot revolves around the lawsuit on whether or not Zuckerberg stole the idea or created it himself.

     Though the technical stuff in the movie is a little hard to follow, it still makes for an interesting character study of the people involved.  This movie was based on the book The Accidental Millionaires.  This book was not endorsed by any of the people portrayed in this movie, except for Saverin, who was a consultant on the book.

     Either way, I found the story interesting.  I didn't know that Sean Parker (Justin Timberlake), the creator of Napster, was involved in the story.  This causes some interesting wrinkles in the friendship of Zuckerberg and Saverin that cannot be fixed.

     Give this one a watch.  This is one of those movies that keeps your interest until the end, whether or not you like Facebook.

     Thursday will be my coverage of Chicago Comic Con.  Friday will be my preview of The Expendables 2.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 14th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is The Hunger Games

 

Rated PG-13

Available August 18th, 2012

     This was one of the biggest and best movies of the year so far.&nb, sp; Though I felt some of the backstory was missing, it tells a tale of a dystopian time where one land rules over the rest of the world.  The world is forced to send their children to fight to the death for the ruler's and his land entertainment.  The imagery this film shows is as interesting as it is disturbing.  Children killing other children kind of hits you in the chest watching this.  You know that there is hope coming in the form of one of the children.  We just have to wait for two or maybe even three more movies for that.  Give this a watch, it is pretty good.

 

Other Releases: August 14th, 2012

* Jaws (Blu-Ray)

* Dexter – Season 6

* Community – Season 3

* The Raid: Redemption

* Glee – Season 3

* Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – The Final Season

* Jay & Silent Bob Get Old

    

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook to see the trailers for The Words and For A Good Time, Call.

     Wednesday will be the third of five Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Thursday I will talk about this year's Chicago Comic Con.  Friday will be my preview of The Expendables 2.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

August 13th, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews The Bourne Legacy

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Those of you that follow me on Facebook and Twitter know that I was at Chicago Comic Con this weekend and was pretty sick with a sinus infection at the same time.  However, I try to live by the quote, "The show must go on".  Besides, Chicago Comic Con has been my vacation for the last six years.  I wasn't going to miss it if I could help it.  I guess what I am trying to say is that this review will be short and sweet.

     I feel that this movie was very, very good, not great, but good.  At first it felt a lot like the other movies, but eventually it takes its own tone.  I felt this was a good thing because I didn't think the director of this movie needed to copy Paul Greengrass's style.  He make his own movie with some borrowed tones, but added his own feel to it.

     I liked Jeremy Renner (Aaron Cross) as the hero in this movie.  I liked that he knew who he was and what he was trying to accomplish.  He has a hidden past that they only narrowly touched on in this movie.  Of course they are saving this past for future films.

     Sorry, but I am afraid a certain somebody doesn't show up (in person) in this film.

   , ,   I felt the movie could have used a little more action.  It did pick up later in the film, but it could have used a little more to showcase Aaron Cross's heightened skills.

     I liked that the somewhat happy ending of The Bourne Ultimatum gets turned on its head with this movie.  I like that even though we though we knew all of what the government was hiding, we were mistaken.  I like that the events of the first three Bourne movies trigger the events in this one.

     I feel that if a certain someone isn't going to show up, you really can't call it The Bourne Whatever anymore.  Bourne was the fake name of one man only.  Hint, hint.

     I like where this franchise is going.  I think that a certain someone has to get involved somehow, even if just for part of the new movies.  Renner is more than capable of running the show, but the franchise isn't called The Cross Fill In The Blank, is it?  Go see it anyway.  If you like the others, you will like this one too.

     Monday will be a new Monday Quicky Review of The Campaign.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that review.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 


 

August 10th, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion previews The Bourne Legacy

 

Rated PG-13

     I'll keep this short and sweet because I am in the middle of Chicago Comic Con this weekend.  I have been waiting for this movie for a while and am very excited to see it.  Though I am a little disappointed that Matt Damon (Jason Bourne) isn't headlining the movie, I think Jeremy Renner (Aaron Cross) is a capable actor to take o, v, er the franchise.  From what, the trailer shows us, this movie at least partially takes place during the third Bourne movie, The Bourne Ultimatum.  If this is the case, a Jason Bourne cameo may indeed happen.

I like the idea of the government having a great weapon than Jason Bourne.  From the looks of it, this movie involved changing the genetics of people to create a type of super soldier.  I am interested to see where this will take the franchise.

     I like the idea of having Tony Gilroy, the writer of the first three movies, write AND direct this one.  I think that is the next best thing to having Paul Greengrass  or Doug Liman back in the director's chair.

     I will be seeing this movie while I am at Chicago Comic Con.  I will also be seeing The Campaign as well.  That will be my Monday Quicky Review.  Just go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that review.  I will have my review of The Bourne Legacy up by Monday, August 13th.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 9th, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Second Chance Reviews John Carter

 

Rated PG-13

     While you are reading this, I am probably on my way to Chicago Comic Con.  I will have my report on the event on Thursday next week.

     I decided that for this month, since I am doing movies I didn't ever want to watch, that I would do a new Second Chance on a movie that I really enjoyed.  I would see if the movie was still as good as I thought it was, or was I just caught in a moment.  Today I take a second look at John Carter.

     I don't care what other critics say.  I don't care what the naysayers say.  This movie is great.  It is a good old fashioned sci-fi adventure.  The story is fun, the aliens interesting and the characters play their parts very well.  I stand by this movie 100% the same way I stood by it when I reviewed it the first time.  After watching it again, I liked it even more the second time around.  I didn't learn anything new or spot something I didn't like.  I just like that the story this movie is based on inspired so many characters and stories for years and years.  It is fun to spot what things other writers and filmmakers have borrowed from this story.

     If you haven't seen this movie yet, give it a shot.  It is just a lot of fun, has a heart and deserves a sequel.  I hope that this can happen.  I would love to visit this Mars again in the , , future.

Friday will be my preview of The Bourne Legacy.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

August 8th, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics review of Crossroads

 

Rated PG-13

Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Welcome to part two of five of Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Today I will talk about a movie that a lot of guys watched for a pretty lame reason.  Crossroads was released in 2002.  I was just finishing college then.  It was released at what would probably be the height of Brittney Spears's (Lucy Wagner) popularity.  I never wanted to see it because I have never really been a fan of her music.  Some of it is alright, but I mostly avoid it.

     If my memory serves me correctly, this was also around the time where one of the big debates about Spears was going on.  The debate was about whether or not she was a virgin at the time.  Me, I didn't really care.  I do know a lot of guys that did and they went to see this movie for one reason: To see Spears half naked and have simulated sex.  Pretty much no guy that saw this back then, unless they were dragged by their girlfriend to see it, would see this because they thought it looked like an interesting movie.  God bless Spears, she knew pretty much what her "fans" wanted and tried to give it to them.  My question for this was, "Is the movie any good?"  The easy answer is, "No!"

     The story is about two friends that as kids decide to bury a time capsule and open it after graduation.  The only thing clever about this scene was that Spears's sister Jamie Lynn plays her as a kid.  As they grow older, they drift apart.  After graduation, one of the friends gets them back together to dig up the capsule.  This leads to them traveling to California for different reasons.  Spears to see her mother that left years ago, Kit (Zoe Saldana) to see her fiancé and a pregnant Mimi (Taryn Manning) to enter a singing competition.  They all travel with a friend of Mimi's, Ben (Anson Mount), on their adventure.

     This movie really starts to fall apart right away.  You can already see where it is going from the get go.  You know that Spears is going to get the guy and become a singer.  A singer playing a singer in a movie.  How original.  Everything gets set up just a little too perfectly for this to happen.  For a movie that is supposed to focus on a small group of friends, the lion's share of the time is spent on Spears's character.

     There is not much more to say about this movie.  The acting is subpar, the story is way too predictable and even the characters you kind of like aren't that great.  I like Dan Aykroyd (Pete Wagner) a lot and even he can't hide the fact that he seems bored to be there.  I am practically in live with Zoe Saldana and even she can't save this movie.

     To the guys that watched this to see Spears do…things: All you get is a few scenes of her in her underwear and the "sex scene" is a kiss and a fade out.  To you I say, "Ha!"

     Next week will be a movie that I didn't watch because I thought a movie about the subject matter would be boring.

     Thursday is a new Second Chance.  I reverse the rules this time.  I will watch a movie that I really liked and decide if I was right or was it a fluke.

Friday will be my preview of The Bourne Legacy.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 7th, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is Adventures in Babysitting (Blu-Ray)

 

Rated PG-13

     One of my favorite movies from my childhood is being released on Blu-Ray today. Adventures in Babysitting was probably a little more grown up than I should have been watching at 10 or 11 years old, but it is not as bad as a lot of PG-13 movies are now. This is the movie that Jonah Hill's movie The Sitter tried to be.

     The movie stars Elisabeth Shue (Chris) whose character decides to take an easy Babysitting job after her boyfriend cancels a big date. What is supposed to be an easy night turns into a nightmare in Chi-Town when she and the kids she is watching have to go pick up a friend at the bus station. After car troubles on the expressway (been there), they have an unforgettable adventure involving strange characters, cheaters, gangsters and of all people "Thor". You will not regret watching this movie.

 

Other Releases: August 7th, 2012

* The Lorax

* Clue (Blu-Ray)

* Spaceballs (Blu-Ray)

* Grimm: Season 1

* Parenthood: Season 3

* Iron Sky

    

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday. Check out The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see the trailers for Soldiers of Fortune and Jack Reacher.

     Wednesday is the review for the second of five Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch. Many guys watched this movie because they wanted to see a pop princess lose her virginity (in a movie). Think I am kidding about this? Check out the blog on Wednesday morning.

     Thursday is a new Second Chance. Since the classics movies this month are movie I don't want to see, I figured the second chance movie should be something I really liked and want to see if it is still as good as I remember.

Friday will be my preview of The Bourne Legacy.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 6th, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Presents Total Recall (2012) vs. Total Recall (1990)

 

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

Total Recall (2012) – Rated PG-13

Total Recall (1990) – Rated R

     Before this battle begins, I just want to say that I enjoyed both movies in their own way.  Each offers some things that the other doesn't and that were a good thing for the enjoyment of both movies.  Anyway, here we go with Total Recall vs. Total Recall.

 

Best Main Hero:  Arnold Schwarzenegger vs. Colin Farrell as Douglas Quaid

     The situations that both of these characters are in are similar.  Both have dead end jobs, pretty hot wives and want a change from reality.  There is a difference between them though.  While Arnold is definitely the tougher of the two, this decision is based on the reason that each of them went to Rekall for a memory in the first place.  Arnold works construction and Colin works in an android factory.  Other than that, Arnold really has no real reason to think his life is bad.  He seems to live in a great apartment and have a pretty regular life.  He and his wife seem happy.  He does have the bad dreams, but seems okay after they are over.  Colin, on the other hand, gets passed over for a big promotion, lives in a crappy apartment that is in the oppressed of the two colonies left on Earth and is badly sleep deprived from his bad dreams.  He seems to be suffering more as a character, which in my opinion, gives the original the win.

1-0 New Version

 

Best Main Villain:  Ronnie Cox vs. Bryan Cranston as Cohaagen

     I really thought this was going to be tougher because Bryan Cranston is so good of an actor, but I really think he was wasted here.  When he is in the movie he is decent and more useful in a fight than Cox is, but his character,, doesn't seem as invested in losing Quaid as Cox did.  When Cox has to decide to eliminate Quaid, he gets angry and you can tell he is losing a friend.  I didn't get that feeling from Cranston's version of the character.  Plus, Cox just comes off as more evil.  He is really good at that.  Easy win for the original.

Tied 1-1

 

Best Supporting Cast:

     This one came down to three factors.  The first one was the rebel leaders.  This one was easy.  Marshall Bell's mutant Kuato was way more interesting than Bill Nighy's Matthias.  When you finally saw Matthias, it was very underwhelming.  When you saw Kuato…well those that have seen him know what I am talking about.  Then it is Kate Beckinsale's Lori against Sharon Stone's Lori and Michael Ironside's  Richter.  I am not a big fan of Stone's character, but I love Ironside's.  However, Beckinsale's character outsmarts the both of them together.  Lastly, the mystery character that gives Quaid what he needs to find out some things about himself.  In the original, the character just gives Quaid the briefcase and just disappears.  That always bothered me.  In the new version, the character has a bigger purpose.  Win goes to the new version.

New Version 2-1

 

Better Action:

     This one is pretty easy.  The new version of this movie has some decent action, but it seemed to drag at times.  The original was pretty much all action, all the time.  Original wins.

Tied 2-2

 

Better Story:

     It comes down to this: Save Mars from a tyrant that sells the people air or stop a Terminator-like takeover of a whole colony.  Both felt like big tasks and weighty.  Both had big consequences.  Both were pretty interesting to watch.  Sorry, but this one is a tie.

Tied 3-3

 

Better Movie Universe: Mars vs. Future Dystopian World

     It comes down to the tiebreaker.  This one is pretty easy for me.  While the world of the new version was pretty interesting, it has been done before.  The whole time watching this movie I kind of felt like I was watching Blade Runner.  The original, on the other hand, was on MARS!  I felt that the world in which that movie took place was a little more imaginative at the time.  Point goes to the original.

     There you have it.  While the original won this battle, the new version has a lot to offer.  While the mystery of whether it was a dream or not is a little more clear, the new version has some pretty good twists and turns that I liked a lot.  It has some great nods to the original and a lot going for it.  Both are good in their own ways.

     In honor of getting to meet him this week, Monday will be a new Monday Quicky Review of With Great Power: The Stan Lee Story.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that review.

Tuesday will be a new Trailer Tuesday and DVD Release of the Week.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

  

 


 

August 3rd, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Presents Total Recall (2012) vs. Total Recall (1990)

 

Total Recall (1990) – Rated R

Total Recall (2012) – PG-13

     Welcome to another Vs. Series Showdown. This is how it is going to work. There will be five categories. W, hoever takes more of them is the winner. If by chance there is a tie, there will be a tiebreaker category.

Here are the categories for this Battle of the Recalls:

* Better Main Hero

* Better M, , , ain Villain

* Better Supporting Cast

* Better Action

* Better Story

* Tiebreaker: Better Movie Universe 

     There you have it. I will have the results of this battle by Monday, August 6th.  Also check The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for a new Monday Quicky Review.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 2nd, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

 

     As a father, you witness a lot of milestones in your children's lives. Walking, talking, or whatever it is, these milestones are very special to someone who loves their kids. I have been blessed with not one, but two great little boys. Andy, 4, and Ryan, 3, are the greatest things to ever happen to me.

 

Ryan (left) and Andy (Right) have already started their fight against the forces of evil

 

     I have got to witness some of the coolest things between my two boys. This week I, as a father that is both a movie fan and a movie critic, took my son Andy to his very first movie.

 

I'm pretty excited!

    

     Ice Age 4 was the only thing playing at the time I could go, but, , , that was cool because I actually enjoyed that movie anyway. I was both a little excited and nervous about taking a four year old into the theater.

 

You got nuthin' to worry about daddy!

    

     He sat pretty good at first and enjoyed some popcorn. He got pretty excited when the opening cartoon was a Simpsons' cartoon.

 

Daddy, how come your TV doesn't show The Simpsons this big?

 

Did I mention he REALLY enjoyed his popcorn?

 

Want some seefood, daddy?

    

     I have to admit, after a while things didn't go as smooth as I had hoped. All in all, he did a pretty good job for his first time. He made it a little past the halfway point in the movie. He was starting to get a little antsy and fussy. Even having his favorite stuffed toy, Taggie, didn't help.

 

Normally the Great Equalizer

    

     I didn't want to disturb the other family that was there watching the movie, so we went ahead and took off. They were cool about everything, though.

On the way home, this picture proves that my little guy needed to call it a day.

 

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!!

    

     Did everything go as planned? No. Was I a little frustrated at the end of the experience? Maybe a little. You know what though, when some time passes and my memories start to find a permanent place in my brain I won't remember a lot of that stuff. I know that I will remember it the way that I, as a daddy, should remember it.

 

Movie Critic and Movie Critic in Training

 

I wouldn't have it any other way.

     Tomorrow will be a Vs. Series Slobberknocker as the new Total Recall will go head to head with the original version.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

August 1st, 2012

Max Payne reviews Max Payne

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics review of Cloverfield

 

Rated PG-13

     Welcome to the 2nd Annual Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  This year there are five Wednesdays, so I will watch five movies I said I would never go near.  I first have to explain something.  I have many a reason for not watching some films.  I could not have an interest in the story.  I might not like who is in it.  I may think the movie has too much hype for its own good.  I may just think that it is going to suck.  The first movie in this series falls under the "Too much hype" category.

     When I first heard that JJ Abrams was going to make a giant monster movie, I got a little excited.  Not much was being released about this film and the hype machine for it went out of control.  There was a lot of speculation about what the monster was going to be in the movie.  You see, they would not show any pictures of it before the movie was released.

     I heard a lot of rumors at the time that this might not be an original monster.  I heard different theories that this might be a live action Ultraman or Voltron movie.  The theory I wanted to believe is that this was going to be a Godzilla movie.  I was finally announced that this would be an original monster, so I felt a little let down and decided not to see the movie.

     I have to say that after watching it, I was really annoyed.  Let me explain.  I could have really liked this movie.  I liked the way it looked.  I liked the main love story storyline.  I liked the monster.  I could even get over all of the shakey cam shots , , because I really enjoyed the editing of the movie.  This movie had two really big problems.  One I could let go of.  The other the viewer has to deal with THE WHOLE TIME.

     The first problem is a minor one, but a lot of people could not let it go.  The creature in this movie is massive.  The problem is that its size changes throughout the movie.  At times it is stories tall.  At others it is a lot smaller.  Also, how could a creature of this one's size sneak up on a normal sized human being not once, but multiple times without being noticed sooner and not making a sound?  This problem I was will to let go of.  The other I cannot.

     The character of Hudson Platt (TJ Miller) or Hud as he is called is one of the most annoying characters I have seen for a long time.  An annoying character in a movie is nothing new, but the problem here is that he is the one running the camera, so for 95% of the movie, you have to hear him saying annoying things.  I got really annoyed with the fact that he felt like he was a filmmaker all of a sudden.  The camera was given to him to film a party because the other person didn't want to run it.  All of a sudden he thinks he is Spielberg.  Plus the name Hud is a not so clever nod to first person shooting games.  HUD in the video game world means Heads-Up Display.  This movie is mostly the character Hud seeing the world in a first person view.

     If not for his character, I probably would have liked this movie a lot more.  I just don't think that I could listen to Hud again.  There have been rumors for a while that there is going to be another Cloverfield movie.  I would probably give it a shot.  If it was the same event but told from a different point of view, that might be pretty interesting.  If you can put up with Hud, you might like this movie.  Do I feel it deserved all of the hype it received?  Not really, but the movie wasn't horrible.

     Next week will be a movie that a lot of guys watched because they thought they might get to see a pop star have sex for the first time.  You think I am kidding?  Come back next week to see what I am talking about.

     Thursday is a special edition here on the blog.  It was a special day in the life of this father and I wanted to share it with you.

     Friday will be a Vs. Series showdown between the new Colin Farrell Total Recall and the original Arnold Schwarzenegger version.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms