The Reel Opinion: October 2012 Entries - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion: October 2012 Entries

Posted:

October 31st, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Takes A Look At The Saw Series

 

Rated R – Unrated

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Welcome to the final installment of "Its October, So It Must Be Saw".  Today I will take a look at the last movie in the Saw Series, Saw 7: The Final Chapter or as it was called in theaters, Saw 3D.  As I watched the movies for the second time, I realized some things about myself that I will share at the end of this review, but first I will talk about the end of a seven year stretch of Saw.

 

Saw 7 - 3D (2010)

     The movie begins right after the last one ended, where Jigsaw's wife Jill confronts the new Jigsaw and tries to kill him.  Pretty much half of the movie is devoted to the new Jigsaw trying to kill Jill who is in police custody.  He leads them on a chase that involves some more games.

     The second half of the movie is about a Jigsaw survivor that is cashing in on his experience.  The only problem is he is lying about being a survivor and the original Jigsaw knows it.  This lead to more traps that people don't get out of so that we can see them die.  I really am tired of the victims having no chance anymore.  The story, as usual, behind the traps is really good.  We even get a surprise return from an earlier movie.  You will see it coming a mile away, but it is still good to see this character to help the movie come full circle.

     I will leave the rest up to those of you that want to watch this movie.  The ending is pretty good and wraps up the series nicely.  They have talked about another sequel and even a reboot here and there, but I think they just need to let it end.

     The first thing I learned while writing this series is that these movies are hard to review without giving anything away.  All of the movies intertwine together into a really good story.

     John Kramer (Tobin Bell) has become one of my favorite "villains" in movie history.  I just like the way the character is portrayed in these movies.  He is twisted, yet sympathetic.  He is cold, calculating and smarter than everybody else.

     The problem is the games, especially in the later movies.  I kept getting angry because it got to a point where you knew the victims would not survive.  The filmmakers would only let someone survive if they were a main character in the story.  Hardly any of the minor characters from part 4 on survived the games.  This just really started to bug me. The other thing that bugged me was just how gruesome the games got.  Now, I will be the first person to defend any filmmakers right to put what he or she wants to put in a movie, but it doesn't mean I have to watch it.  As much as I love Tobin Bell's character in this movie, I don't think I can watch them again.  Twice was enough and I am ready to movie on.  I am going to keep my Jigsaw toy on my self, though...

 

I want to play a game...and I can now that I am an action figure

 

     Pretty much all of next month is going to be dedicated to all things Bond, James Bond.

 

     Because Wreck-It Ralph is coming out on Friday, Thursday I will talk about movies based on video games and why I think they have been mostly unsuccessful so far...but what one movie's developers are doing to try to make it work.

 

     Friday will be my preview of Wreck-It Ralph and I will reveal what my Monday Quicky Review will be for next week.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


October 30th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is The Campaign: Extended Cut

 

Rated R

     I saw this movie in August when I was at Chicago Comic Con.  I wasn't feeling very well and needed a good laugh.  I laughed so hard through this movie that I didn't have a voice for the first part of the next day.  I like that this movie makes fun of both sides, Republican and Democrat, and not just one or the other.  It takes both sides to the extreme of ridiculousness and it is really funny.

 

Other Releases: October 30th, 2012

* Ruby Sparks

* Christmas Story 2

* Chuck: The Complete Series

* Metalocalypse: Season 4

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see trailers of Life of Pi and Silver Linings Playbook.

     Wednesday will be the final installment of "Its October, So It Must Be Saw".  I will talk about the final movie in the series as well as what I learned from watching it for the second time.

     Because Wreck-It Ralph is coming out on Friday, Thursday I will talk about movies based on video games and why I think they have been mostly unsuccessful so far...but what one movie's developers are doing to try to make it work.

     Friday will be my preview of Wreck-It Ralph and I will reveal what my Monday Quicky Review will be for next week.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


October 29th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Cloud Atlas

 

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     It might be a little difficult to talk about this movie without giving away anything, but I will do my best.  This movie deals with characters in different time periods, how their lives are connected and why that is important to this story.  To call this movie anything other than ambitious would be an understatement.

     I give credit for this movie's overall look and feel, especially the future stuff.  All of the time periods had a unique look to them and that made you pay attention to all of the time shifts that this movie throws at you.  I also liked that not all of the time periods are dead serious, but they are all important to the story.  The 2012 time period is pretty much the comedy relief of the story.

     Whether or not the characters are reincarnated versions of each other or not, they are all connected in some way shape or form.  You may learn a few of the names, but never learn them all.  At least some of the actors only had minor parts so you didn't have too many characters to follow in each time period.  Some of the characters were pretty great, but some were pretty bad.  I'm sorry, but I could not buy Halle Berry as a Caucasian German woman or Doona Bae as a red-headed, freckled southern belle.  Some others were pretty laughable, but some were great.  I can't believe I am typing this, buy Hugh Grant has a couple of roles that are just so downright disturbing it is awesome.  Hugo Weaving plays a role in the 2012 part that is so bad it is really funny.  Another thing that bothered me was that Tom Hanks and Halle Berry's characters from the 2321 After the Fall segment sounded a lot like Jar Jar Binks.  No I am not kidding and it was annoying.

     Time does jump around a lot, but you can catch the connections if you really pay attention.  A lot of people got up during this movie for popcorn, to go to the bathroom, etc.  This is not the type of movie that someone can explain to you if you leave for part of it, so I suggest that you empty your bladder and have all of your snacks before you go into this one.

     I did have a problem with figuring out things too easy.  One of the stories "big reveals", 2144 Neo Seoul, was outright stolen from another movie.  I thought that they might go another direction, but sure enough, they used another movies big reveal.  I won't tell you which movie that is because that would just be mean.  Another is that the first person you see in the movie is Tom Hanks as an old man.  You figure out which character this is pretty quick.  It just kind of stunk to know that the character would survive.

     One thing that really bothered me is that one of the characters had a voice in his head or was seeing and hearing things in the form of Hugo Weaving as a leprechaun-ish type trickster.  It would have fine if the issue would have been resolved, but it is kind of let go in the end.

     There were some things that I wished the movie would have explained better or even explained at all, but given it near three hour run time, some things could be missed.  I consider this a good movie but it tiptoes the line between good and above average.  The future segments are pretty cool to see on the big screen, but not necessary.  If you are willing to give this movie a chance, you might enjoy it.  It is a pretty confusing movie if you don't give it your full attention.  Some people walked out throughout the movie when I was there on Friday.  This film is going to be debated for a while, I feel.

     Monday I will also have a new Monday Quicky Review of Hobo with a Shotgun.  Just go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that review.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

October 26th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Previews Cloud Atlas

 

Rated R

     This is a movie that I feel could go either way.  It could either be an entertaining masterpiece or it could be a confusing, jumbled film.  There is a lot of hype behind this one and for good reason.  This looks like one of the most ambitious movies to come out in a long time.

     The movie seems to take place of a long period of time.  I don't believe time travel is a factor or anything, but reincarnation may be.  You see, many of the actors are playing four, five or six roles.  Sometimes an actor's character is a villain and sometimes they are a hero.  All of the stories are supposed to come together in the end.  The actions from the past lives are supposed to have an effect on the future ones.

     This movie is based on a book by David Mitchell, but the screenplay and director duties go to the Wachowskis.   This could be a really good thing or a really bad one.  On one hand, they wrote and directed The Matrix.  That movie was a pretty good mind-blowing movie at the time.  They also wrote and directed the sequels…need I say more.

     I am looking forward to the actors playing the different roles the most.  Most actors have to channel one or maybe two characters for a movie, but these guys have to make at least four or more roles convincing and entertaining.  Could be fun or could be a disaster.

     I think this movie is going to be a lot to handle.  Lots of names and lots of different stories may be a difficult thing to follow, but I am intrigued by the idea that this movie is trying to portray.  I look forward to seeing it.

I will have my review of this movie by October 29th.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 25th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Takes A Look At The Tick Live Action Series (2001-2002)

 

     Growing up, one of my favorite cartoons was The Tick.  I loved the fact that even though it was pretty much making fun of the superhero genre, it also takes great care in showing it respect.  A lot of the characters were parodies of existing comic book characters or combinations of them.  Add in some outrageous storylines and strange villains and you have an awkward and awesome show.  In 2001, FOX came out with live action series of The Tick, but I never got around to watching it...until now.  Thank you NetFlix.

     The biggest difference between the cartoon and this series is that they could only use a few of the characters from the cartoon.  The Tick (Patrick Warburton) and his sidekick Arthur (David Burke) were the main ones. 

 

The Tick and...The Tick

 

Arthur and Arthur

     They were also able to use a few of the minor characters and one of the big villains, The Terror (Armin Shimerman).  Two of the bigger characters, Die Fledermaus and American Maid, were replaced by two suitable characters in Captain Liberty (Liz Vassey) and Batmanuel (Nestor Carbonell).

 

American Maid and Captain Liberty

 

Die Fledermaus and Batmanuel

     Patrick Warburton plays the title character.  I have to say that he captures the insanity pretty well for a guy that has to run around in a big, blue rubber suit.  I think he understands the humor of the series very well and delivers his lines like the cartoon, but puts his own unique spin on it.  One of the big differences between Warburton and his cartoon counterpart is that you can see Warburton's entire face.  The creators of the show said they did this so Warburton could express more emotion, which in his case is a great idea.  I would have liked to see him look even more like the character, but it doesn't really bother this fan.

 

As good as he was, he never got to yell The Tick's battle cry.

     I feel that the humor was a bit more adult than the cartoon, but not too over the top.  The adult jokes were mostly more subtle than the cartoon.  I liked this fact that they were able to do this AND keep the integrity and humor from the cartoon.

     I think that this series suffered a little bit because they could not use all of the characters from the cartoon.  The Walt Disney Company owned the rights to most of the characters at the time, so FOX had to switch things up a bit.  I will say that it would have been better if they could have used all of the familiar characters, but we would not have gotten Batmanuel, who is much more entertaining than Die Fledermaus.

     I think that the humor of this program would have worked better now than it did back then.  I don't think that the world was ready for this show in 2001.  It is smart and intelligent along with being goofy and fun.  The characters act like cartoons would in the real world, which gives it the right kind of feel to compliment the cartoon series.  I really wish that this had come out now instead of then.  We would have gotten more than nine episodes.

Tomorrow I will have my preview of Cloud Atlas.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


October 24th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Takes A Look At The Saw Series

 

Rated R – Unrated

     Welcome back to the fourth installment of "Its October, So It Must Be Saw".  Today I am going to take a look at part 6 of the series.  In Saw 3, the original Jigsaw kidnaps a doctor to keep himself alive.  This movie deals with a personal issue as well.  The head of the insurance company that would not cover Jigsaw is kidnapped and put through a series of games.  This one is a lot more personal than the other movies.

 

Saw 6 (2009)

     Normally, Jigsaw would have a video with the puppet you see above, Billy, deliver the rules of the game to the captive participants.  This time, however, Jigsaw shows his true face to the captive.  This puts a gigantic personal touch to the whole situation.  It also shows that even though this man has wronged Jigsaw, possibly more than anybody else, he is willing to give this man a chance to redeem himself...maybe.  I can't really comment on that last statement without ruining the movie for you.  I felt that the end of this movie really didn't work because of the last thing that happens.

     Some people did survive some of the traps set by the new Jigsaw, but someone always had to die for others to live.  I really have grown tired of the whole thing.  I actually like seeing how some of the people survive these traps.  The shock value kind of wears off when you know that they are not going to make it from the start.

     I did like that they finally had Jigsaw's wife confront the new Jigsaw about how he was conducting the games all wrong.  They danced around it for two movies, but this time it finally came to be.  These two together make for some tense moments on screen.  What happens between them at the end surprised even me.

     Next week I will talk about the final movie of the series.  I will also talk about what I learned from watching these movies again.

     Since I need something a bit more lighthearted for Thursday, I will talk about a TV show I wished would have succeeded.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

October 23rd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is Seeking A Friend For The End Of The World

 

Rated R

     I was really surprised how much I liked this movie.  A lot of it was funny and sweet in an uncomfortable kind of way.  It show how nuts people would get if they knew they only had a short amount of time to live.  It also shows what lengths a person or people would go to make things right in their life before they die.

 

Other Releases October 23rd, 2012

* Magic Mike

* Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

* Star Wars: The Clone Wars – Season 4

* Wrong Turn 5: Bloodlines

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see the trailers for The Guilt Trip and Parker.

     Wednesday will be another installment of "Its October, So It Must Be Saw".  I will take a look at part 6 of the franchise.

     Thursday I will take a look at a TV show I wish would have succeeded.  Friday I will preview Cloud Atlas.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 22nd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Alex Cross

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!

     I am having a tough time reviewing this movie.  There were some things I really liked about this one and there were some things that I really didn't like.  I will just try to break it down and see where this review goes from there.

     I really think that Tyler Perry will make an excellent Alex Cross if this series continues.  He was serious when the movie called for it and funny when he needed to be.  The problem I had with the character of Alex Cross in this movie was not his fault.  After watching Morgan Freeman in his two incarnations of the character, I guess I had an idea on how the character would act in certain situations.  I always thought he would put personal feelings aside to get the job done.  This Alex Cross breaks the law more than once in a revenge plot that really didn't get built up that well.

     I liked Edward Burns (Tommy Kane) as Cross's partner.  He kept the movie a little light hearted, but got serious when he needed to.  He is welcome to come back in a sequel.

     I thought that normally great actors go bitten by the overacting bug in this movie.  Jean Reno (Leon Mercier), John C. McGinley (Richard Brookwell), Cicley Tyson (Nana Mama) and Giancarlo Esposito (Daramus Holiday) all were a bit too cartoonish in this film.

     Although he too was over the top, Matthew Fox (Picasso) was a decent villain.  I felt he was a little shortchanged after a while, but not a bad job.  I would have liked to see more of him.

     The revenge plot is set off by the deaths of two people.  I might have bought the revenge plot a little better if I had gotten to know the two characters more.  Both of them needed more screen time to build their characters up so that when they died, it would have more of an impact on the viewer.

     There were two hand to hand fight scenes in the movie.  The first one is done very well.  The last one has so much shakey cam that you really have no idea what is going on.  I like the use of shakey cam, but only when done right.

     I felt the movie really didn't know what it was supposed to be.  The trailer made it seem like it was supposed to be an action thriller.  While it got a lot of the thriller parts down, most of the action was subpar.  I was not a big fan of the plot, but I would like to see where the movie franchise will go from here.  I think Tyler Perry was a good choice for the character of Alex Cross, but he is no Morgan Freeman.  That being said, I think he has the potential to be as good as Freeman as Cross, just not yet.  I would tell you that if you want to see this movie, wait for it to come out on DVD.

     Monday I will have a new Monday Quicky Review of Paranormal Activity 4.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 19th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Previews Alex Cross

 

Rated PG-13

     The people have spoken. You have chosen Alex Cross over Paranormal Activity 4 as the full movie review of the week. Thank you to everybody that voted.

     As I mentioned Thursday, I am a pretty big fan of the two Alex Cross movies starring Morgan Freeman. My wish was that they would make another one of these movies with him. The last one was in 2001, so my hopes were not that high. Then word came of a new Alex Cross movie and I got excited. I thought I was going to get to see Freeman play the title character again, but then the word "reboot" was attached to most of the new stories coming out at the time. I thought that whoever played the part of Alex Cross had some pretty big shoes to fill. It is a pretty good thing that Tyler Perry has some pretty big feet.

     When I heard that he was taking over the role, I was not really disappointed. I think I was more surprised than anything. He hasn't really done much except for in his movies. I really think he is going to surprise a lot of people, though. He needed a franchise to help him branch out as an actor and I hope that this is the one for his sake as well as for the character's.

     I am pretty interested in seeing how Matthew Fox will be as the main villain Picasso. I usually think of him a one of the good guys any time I see him. It should be interesting to see how he is playing someone sick and twisted.

     Rounding out the cast is some very reliable actors. Giancarlo Esposito, Jean Reno, Edward Burns and John C. McGinley should add some depth to the characters they portray.

     I will have my review of this movie by October 22nd. I will also have a new Monday Quicky Review of Paranormal Activity 4 on that day as well. Just check out The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that review.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

October 18th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Takes A Look At Alex Cross In Movies

 

Both Movies – Rated R

     This Friday, Hollywood has decided to reboot a series that I had hoped would continue but didn't.  Granted I didn't really have my hopes up because the second film of the franchise, Along Came A Spider, was released in 2001.  That movie and Kiss The Girls are two of my favorite Morgan Freeman movies ever.  I have not read the Alex Cross books and don't know how accurate his portrayal of Alex Cross is, but I like the character very much.  Now they have decided to start over with a new star.  Tyler Perry, of Medea fame, is taking over the role.  I will have more on my thoughts about the new Alex Cross movie tomorrow.  Today I am going to talk about the two Morgan Freeman Alex Cross movies.

 

Kiss The Girls (1997)

     When it comes to the books, this is the second book in the series, but it comes first when it comes to the movies.  The story revolves around girls being kidnapped by a man that calls himself Casanova.  When he kidnaps the niece of Alex Cross, Cross travels to North Carolina to help find her.  They catch a big break in the case when one of Casanova's victims manages to escape.  This leads to Cross discovering that there is more elements to the case than originally thought.

 

Along Came A Spider (2001)

     After a sting operation gone deadly wrong, Alex Cross takes a long leave of absence.  He cannot forgive himself for what happened.  When the daughter of a US Congressman is kidnapped by one of her teachers at her school, the kidnapper calls Cross and "invites" him to come play a game of cat and mouse.  The kidnapper links his abduction to another historic kidnapping in which helps Alex Cross try to find the missing girl.  An extra note about this movie: When I bought my very first DVD player, this was the first movie I ever watched on it.

     I really like both of these movies.  I had not seen them in a while and watched them both Wednesday.  I think they both still hold up pretty well, as long as they remain period pieces.  Technology would change both of these movies dramatically.  While both movies share the same main character in Alex Cross, the movies are both pretty different and could both stand on their own.  The Kiss The Girls shows you the villain, but does not reveal that person until the end.  Along Came A Spider shows you the villain from the start and you get to follow his journey along with Alex Cross's.  Both movies are pretty good thrillers and are worth a watch.

     Friday will either be my preview of Alex Cross or Paranormal Activity 4, whichever wins the Facebook vote.  Just go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to vote.  The voting ends Thursday night at 8:00pm.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 17th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Takes A Look At The Saw Series

 

Rated R – Unrated

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Welcome to the third installment of "It's October, So It Must Be Saw".  Today I am going to talk about Saw 5.  This is the movie in which we learn more about the newest Jigsaw and what he will do to keep the games going, even if that means breaking the original Jigsaw's rules of the games.

 

Saw 5 (2008)

     We begin right where Saw 4 ended.  The new Jigsaw has set himself up to look like a hero, but he did not count on Agent Peter Strahm (Scott Patterson) to figure out a way to survive the trap he was put in.  This Jigsaw will kill to get what he wants.  He will set up games that can not be won, thus going against everything the original Jigsaw stood for.  This movie follows Agent Strahm as he tracks down evidence to take the new Jigsaw down.

 

     The movie also follows five people who are put into another lesson learning trap, but since this part of the movie has no real story relevance to the main plot, I am not really going to talk about it.  It is put there to be disturbing and I just don't think it is very important.  It is there for the shock value.

 

     Agent Strahm begins to find evidence supporting the fact that the new Jigsaw is just killing people he needs out of the way as well as someone who killed a person he cared about.

 

     We do get to learn more about the original Jigsaw as well.  He has left his ex-wife a box and a videotape, which stresses the importance of the boxes contents.&am, p;nbs, p; The items in the box are the driving force behind the last two movies of the series.

 

     Next week I will talk about Saw 6.  This movie still is disturbing for the sake of being disturbing, but at least the games have more to do with the main storyline.  The story in this movie gets really personal for the original Jigsaw.

 

     Because the reboot of the Alex Cross series comes out on Friday, I am going to take a look at the two Morgan Freeman Alex Cross movies, Kiss the Girls and Along Came A Spider.

 

     Friday I will preview whatever the vote winner is, whether it be Paranormal Activity 4 or Alex Cross.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 


 

October 16th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is Moonrise Kingdom

 

Rated PG-13

     This movie caught me a little by surprise on how much I liked it.  The story is a little strange, but sweet.  The acting is superb and the story funny in an odd sort of way.  You would never know that the two main actors, Jared Gilman and Kara Hayward,, , have never been in a movie before.  They are both going to be really good.  They are surrounded by an excellent supporting cast that include Harvey Keitel, Bruce Willis and Edward Norton among others.  Give it a look.

 

Other Releases: October 16th, 2012

* Pete's Dragon (Blu-Ray)

* Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted

* 2016: Obama's America

* Chernobyl Diaries

* That's My Boy

 

     Today is also Trailer Tuesday.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see the trailers for Gangster Squad and Hitchcock.

     Wednesday will be the next installment of "It's October, So It Must Be Saw".  I will be taking a look at part 5 of the series.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

October 15th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Argo

 

Rated R

     The best advice I can give to somebody wanting to see this movie is do not research the real story before you go see it.  I am not saying that if you know the story already it will ruin this incredible movie, but it will take the nail biting nature out of it for you.

     From the opening credits of this movie, which used the late 70's/early 80's Warner Bros logo, I knew I was in for something special.  The movie mixed in real footage with new footage, but aged the real stuff to look like the old.  The movie almost felt like you were watching a documentary of these scared Americans and there daring escape from Iran.  I knew little about this story going in, so I had no idea what was going to happen.

&am, p;n, bsp;    The cast was everything I hoped it would be.  I think the stand out actor for me was Alan Arkin as Lester Siegel.  He wasn't in the movie a ton, but he was the most entertaining person on the screen when he was.  The rest of the cast were incredible as well.  They showed pictures of what the people really looked like.  It was pretty neat how close a lot of them looked to the people they were portraying.

     The story will keep you on the edge of your seat most of the time.  I know I caught myself biting my nails more than once.

     The Hollywood stuff in the movie is everything I wanted it to be.  It was a whole lot of ridiculous and it was awesome.  I can't say a phrase that some of the characters came up with, but it involves the movie's title and it is really funny.

     If you can't tell already, go and see this movie in the theater.  Don't research it if you can help it and stay through the first half of the credits.  There are a few seconds that drag here and there, but most of the time this movie will make your heart stop.  This is a candidate for best movie of the year as far as I am concerned.

     Monday I will have a new Monday Quicky Review of Here Comes The Boom.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 12th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Previews Argo

 

Rated R

     I saw the trailer for this movie a little while ago and was instantly hooked on wanting to see it.  I liked the look of the movie, the choice of music for the trailer and the cast that was attached to it.  The big thing that may have turned me off a little is having Ben Affleck be the director.  I thought this because I had not seen any of the movies he had directed at the time.  Now that I have seen The Town, my confidence is a lot higher that this will be a pretty decent movie.

     The movie is based on a mission to get six Americans that have been trapped in Iran after the Iranian revolution has began to boil over.  After they escape to the Canadian ambassador's place, a specialist is called in to come up with a plan to get them out of the country safe.  The plan that is used is very u, , northodox and very Hollywood.

&nbs, p;, ;    I am looking forward to seeing how Affleck does when taken out of Boston.  That is the biggest "complaint" that I would find in articles about his movies.  I think he will be okay.  The trailer looks like it was shot in the 70's which will add to the feel of the movie.  I'm sure the music will be pretty spot on as well.

     I like the cast in this movie.  I have always felt that Ben Affleck (Tony Mendez) can be a really good actor when he really puts his all into it.  Yeah, he has had some stinkers, but look at movies like Hollywoodland and tell me he doesn't have range.  Actors like Bryan Cranston (Jack O'Donnell), Alan Arkin (Lester Siegel), John Goodman (John Chambers) and Victor Garber (Ken Taylor) behind him can't hurt either.  Add in reliable actors like Kyle Chandler (Hamilton Jordan) and Zeljko Ivanek (Robert Pender) and you have a pretty great supporting cast.

     I am looking forward to seeing if the movie stays true to the trailer and show the serious side of the Iran situation, but also shows the ridiculous side of Hollywood as well.  I like it when Hollywood can poke fun at itself from time to time.

I will have my review of this movie by Monday, October 15th.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 11th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Takes A Look At Ben Affleck's The Town

 

Rated R

     Before I experience Argo, I wanted to take a look at one of Ben Affleck's films that he directed.  I chose this movie because it sounded a lot like the movie Heat, which I love.  After watching it, I feel that this is not an unfair assumption.

     The movie is based on Boston legend that The Charlestown neighborhood breeds generation after generation of criminals, especially armed robbers.  The movie follows one small group of robbers led, , by Doug MacRay (Ben Affleck).  They begin the movie by pulling off a robbery at a bank.  They end up having to take a hostage.  They take the bank's manager Claire Keesey (Rebecca Hall) and end up letting her go.  He group decides that they need to investigate and make sure she can not recognize them, even by their voices.  MacRay takes the initiative and he ends up introducing himself to Claire, which end up making things more complicated when he begins to have feelings for her.

     I thought the movie was pretty good, but I did feel the love story between MacRay and Claire got a little sappy at times.  There was a side "love" story involving one of the group's sister and MacRay.  Jeremy Renner (James Coughlin) plays MacRay's best friend and is the older brother to Krista Coughlin (Blake Lively), who is in love with MacRay.  She has a drug addict and has a daughter, which we find out whether or not it is MacRay's child later in the movie.  I think I was interested in this love story than the main one.  It had more of a real feel to it.

     The FBI side of the story was pretty good.  Like Heat, this movie follows both sides of the law.  John Hamm is FBI Special Agent Adam Frawley.  He is the kind of agent that by the book, until the book don't work.  He would play a little dirty to get the job done, but only when he had to.

     The movie had a lot going on and felt a little long, but was still pretty good.  I did find it a little hard to understand the thick, heavy Boston accents at times.  Though it is comparable to Heat when it comes to the story, it is not near as good.  I don't want to sound like I am burying this movie, but it is hard to compare it to a movie as good as Heat.  Give it a look, especially if you are interested in seeing the style of Ben Affleck's directing before you go see Argo.  I am looking forward to seeing how he does outside of Boston.

Friday will be my preview of Argo.

Until next time - Geno   

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

October 10th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics Takes A Look At The Saw Series

 

Films Rated R-Unrated

Spoilers Ahead!!!

Welcome to the second installment of "Its October, So It Must Be Saw".  Today I will take a look at parts three and four of the series.  I will also discuss where I think the series started to head in the wrong direction when it came to the violence, but headed in the right direction with its story.  Also, this is where the story starts to twist a ton and we get to where there are multiple Jigsaw Killers.  I will try to keep it as straight as possible.

Saw 3 (2006)

 

     We begin with Jigsaw and his apprentice as they kidnap a doctor.  The reason that they do this is to keep Jigsaw alive.  To say how he is dying will give up the plot of the first movie.  The doctor, Lynn (Bahar Soomekh), is fitted with a device that will kill her if she cannot keep Jigsaw alive.  Of course, like many of Jigsaw's "victims" she has a dark secret she is keeping from people.  She also has to contend with Jigsaw's apprentice, who in a demented kind of way, is in love with him.

     We also follow Jeff (Angus Macfadyen), who is put through a deadly obstacle course where he has to deal with the people that were either directly or indirectly involved with the death of his son.

     We also meet Mark Hoffman (Costas Mandylor).  He becomes an important part of the series from here on out.  It is said that he has been investigating the Jigsaw murders from the start, even though he is never mentioned in the first two movies. (That I can remember, anyway)

     This movie gets pretty emotional.  You get to see how attached Jigsaw's apprentice is to him.  The two main stories fit together very well at the end.  You also get to go inside the mind of Jigsaw again and learn a little about him before he began his games.

     What I liked about this one is that the violence, though pretty bad, is still not as bad as it gets after this movie.  You still feel like the people that are in the traps have a chance at survival.  This is the last movie in the series that I felt that way about.

     I also like that even though at the end of the movie you think it is all over, you find out that it has all just begun.

 Saw 4 (2007)

 

     This is the movie where I started to love the story surrounding the traps and hating the traps themselves.  I began to feel that while the story was getting more interesting, the violence of the traps were getting worse just for the sake of, getting worse.  I also began to feel that, unlike the other movies, the victims of the traps had no chance a, t survival.

     This movie first follows Lt. Daniel Rigg (Lyriq Bent).  He finds out that Det. Eric Matthews (Donnie Wahlberg), from the second movie, and Mark Hoffman, from the third movie, have both been taken by who they think is a new Jigsaw apprentice.  Rigg ends up being a part of a new Jigsaw game where the lives of Matthews and Hoffman are at stake.

     We also meet Agent Peter Strahm of the FBI.  After learning the identity of Jigsaw in the second movie, we learn in this one that he had a wife, Jill (Betsy Russell). The FBI believes that she is somehow involved with the whole thing.  We also get to see some of what happened between Jigsaw and his wife.  We get to see some of the reasons why he turned out the way he did.

     This movies story somewhat weaves into the third movie, which was a big surprise for me.  It does a real clever job at revealing things to you and telling you only what it wants you to know when it want you to know it.  What I didn't like was that you knew the traps were going to go off now.  You knew that the filmmakers just wanted to show the traps going off in the most gruesome ways possible, not give the characters a chance of escape.  That just made for poor storytelling.

     Next week I will take a look at part 5 of the series.  We get to know Jigsaw's new apprentice and learn what he will do to keep the games going, even breaking Jigsaw's own rules.

     Thursday I will take a look at Ben Affleck's The Town.  Friday I will preview Ben Affleck's Argo.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


October 9th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is Little Shop of Horrors: Director's Cut (1986)

 

     There is a lot of decent movies coming out this week. Why, you ask, did I pick this one over the others? This movie is one of the movies that I got to see in the theater when I was younger. I was only eight years old at the time, but I remember seeing the movie like it was yesterday. I love the fact that every time I go back to watch this movie, I notice something that I didn't see before. It may be an actor I didn't realize was in it or something with the set pieces that I may have missed. The main reason I want to see this release of the movie is that it is a director's cut of the movie. From what I understand, the Broadway version of this story does not have the happy ending that the film version does. I am just really curious what direction this version will go. And besides, it has been too long since I have watched this incredible movie.

 

Other Releases: October 9th, 2012

* E.T.: 30th Anniversary Edition

* Prometheus

* Jeff Dunham: Minding the Monsters

* Rock of Ages

* WWE: CM Punk – Best in the World

* It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia: Season 7

* The Raven

 

     Tuesday is also Trailer Tuesday. Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see trailers for Broken City and VeggieTales: The League of Incredible Vegetables.

     Wednesday will continue the "It's October, So It Must Be Saw". Thursday I will take a look at one of the movies Ben Affleck has directed, The Town. Friday I will preview Ben Affleck's new film, Argo.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 8th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Taken 2

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I am really torn about this movie.  I really wanted to love it and really like a lot of it.  I just don't know what it was.  I think maybe it was because the final confrontation with the main villain ended strangely.  Maybe it was because most of the hand to hand fights seemed to show Neeson's age this time around.  Maybe I felt they wasted good talent by hardly using Neeson's team at all.  Like I said, I am really conflicted about this one.

     I did like the humor this movie used when it came to the family aspect of the movie.  Bryan Mills (Liam Neeson) finds out that his daughter Kim (Maggie Grace) has a boyfriend, which he is not, very fond of.  Who , can blame him after what happened to his daughter before.  Mills interrupting a make out session between his daughter and her boyfriend is pretty funny.  There are other funny things that happen that I don't want to give away for those that want to watch this.

     I liked that they delve into the mind of Bryan Mills and sort of reveal that he is a little obsessive compulsive when it comes to keeping schedules and things of that nature.

     I did like the revenge aspect of the movie. Though you knew that you were going to root for Mills, you could understand the pain that the main villain Murad Krasniqi (Rade Serbedzija) is going through.  There is almost a ping pong effect when it comes to the feud between the two fathers.  This does lead to one of the problems of this movie.  This is supposed to be the last movie in the series, yet they leave the feud wide open.  The last movie had an extended version released when it came out on DVD, so maybe it will answer my questions.  Unless they do decide to make another one, which I would be okay with.

     Neeson's team was only there for a cookout and to make a phone call.  Just like in the first movie, he has this team at his disposal, but the writers of the movie just decide to keep them on the sidelines.  Highly disappointing.

     All in all, not a bad movie.  I did enjoy it, but I didn't love it as much as I loved the first one.  I think they do need to have another one of these to finish the storyline.  I think for a series that is supposed to be over, they left it more open than they intended to.  Unless they are planning another one.

     Monday will be a new Monday Quicky Review of Something, From Nothing: The Art of Rap.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that review.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

Octobe, r, 5th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Previews Taken 2

 

     I am really looking forward to this movie. I have been looking forward to it since the credits of the first one. Here are just a couple of things I hope to see and questions I have about this sequel.

     The first thing I want to know is why is Lenore (Famke Jensen) back with Bryan Mills (Liam Neeson) in the trailers. At the end of the first movie, she was still with her new husband. I guess that Mills is just so awesome she went back to him.

     Are they going to follow up on Mills' daughter Kim (Maggie Grace) wanting to be a singer? I really hope not.

     Are we going to see more of Mills' team this time around? They didn't use them as much as I would have liked in the first movie.

     I like the revenge angle they are going with. A father wanting to kill Mills because Mills killed his son is a nice twist to the first movie.

     I would like this to not be the last one. Luc Besson has said that there would be only one sequel. I hope that there is at least a third movie. I would like to see Mills try to save a high priority person like The President or something.

     Lastly, I just want more of the same.  Liam Neeson being the ultimate tough guy...and father.

     That about does it. I will have my review of this movie by Monday, October 8th.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

October 4th, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Takes A Look At Taken (2008)

 

Rated PG-13

     Before this movie, I had seen Liam Neeson (Bryan Mills) do action movies before. From Star Wars Episode One to Batman Begins and even further back to movies like Krull and Darkman. I didn't really saw him as a bonafide action star until this movie. The character reminds me of Jason Bourne after he turned older. This movie was written by Luc Besson, who as many of you that have read the blog for a while, I have a lot of admiration for. I knew going into this movie that I would like it. I did not know that it would change how I look at Neeson as a character actor all together.

     The plot of the movie revolves around Bryan Mills, who is a ex-CIA operative, trying to see his daughter more after his job cost him his marriage. His daughter Kim (Maggie Grace) wants to go to France with a friend, while overprotective father Mills is against it. He eventually lets her go, but finds out that she is not just going to France, but following the band U2 on their European Tour. It also turns out that the people who the girls were supposed to stay with are out of the country. This leads to being vulnerable after they trust the wrong person. As they are being taken, Mills overhears some of the things that have happened over his daughter's cell phone. This lead to him using his expertise go and find his daughter. This is where the awesomeness begins.

     Just like Jason Bourne in the Bourne films, Bryan Mills is pretty much and unstoppable machine. He knows how to track people down. He knows how to use weapons efficiently. He knows how to fight with his hands. He can do it all and he will stop at nothing to get his daughter back. I really don't want to give away much more about this movie. If you have not seen it, it is an awesome thrill ride that any fan of action movies should watch. When I look at Liam Neeson now, I see just a complete bada**. This role got me excited for his role as Hannibal in The A-Team. This role got me excited for his performances in The Next Three Days and Unknown. Yeah, I know he wasn't in The Next Three Days very much, but his part was more believable because of this movie.

     I am pretty excited for Tak, , en 2, which comes out Friday. I will have my preview of the movie on Friday.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


October 3rd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Classics Takes A Look At The Saw Series

 

Both films Rated R – Unrated

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Welcome to a new month and that means a new Classics Series here on The Reel Opinion Blog.  From 2004 to 2010, one movie franchise was a constant around Halloween time.  This would be the Saw series.  I'm calling this month's series "It's October, so it must be Saw".  While I will try not to give too much away for anybody that has not seen these, it is almost impossible to talk about the content of these movies and not give anything away.  What I am going to try to do is talk about the two major aspects of these movies: The characters and the violence.  Today I will talk about the first two movies of the franchise.

 

Saw (2004)

     It took me until 2009 to see the first movie of this series.  I really don't dig a lot of movies that are extremely gruesome just for the sake of being shocking.  For every great movie like Se7en, there is 10 more trying to be as intriguing as it is and failing miserably.  This movie revolves around a "killer" named Jigsaw, who puts all of his victims in traps that are specific to what he sees as their sins.  According to one of the victims that escaped one of his traps, Amanda (Shawnee Smith), Jigsaw does not want his victims to die, rather survive and learn to appreciate what they do have.  He is putting them through "Games" to see if they can learn a new lease on life.  The movie also follows the police as they are investigating these murders.

    , ;, Dr. Lawrence Gordon (Cary Elwes) and Adam (Leigh Whannell) both wake up trapped in a room.  Both are chained to the wall by one of their ankles.  There is a man that has shot himself in the head in the middle of the room, a gun in one hand and a tape recorder in the other.  On the tape, we find out that is Dr. Gordon doesn't kill Adam before a certain time, Gordon's family will be killed.

     Honestly, I feel that this one, except for the ending, was one of the weaker films in the series.  I do give it a lot of credit for taking the time to build up a few characters that are used throughout the series.  I also give it credit for only using a few "big violent" moments instead of just filling the movie with them.  I will discuss on later entries of this series that this becomes a big problem in the later films.

     I really can't say much more without ruining the movie for anybody.  It has a great ending that sets up one of the best "villains" in horror movie history.  While I said before that this movie is a little weak on its own, I will admit that it makes a perfect companion for the second movie of the series.

 

Saw 2 (2005)

     This movie follows Det. Eric Matthews (Donnie Wahlberg) as he investigates the Jigsaw murders after his name was found on one of the crime scene walls.  They discover the location of Jigsaw's hideout and confront him.  We find out that Jigsaw is very sick and cannot be easily moved from his location.  We also learn that he has set up a new game involving eight people, one of them being former Jigsaw victim Amanda from the first movie and another being Matthews's son Daniel (Erik Knudsen).  This leads to Jigsaw having the upper hand on the cops.  He begins to play a new game with Matthews, trying to "save" him from his self-destructive ways.

     I think that this is my favorite of the series.  You really get to know the man behind Jigsaw for the first time.  Though you may not agree with his methods, he makes a lot of good points.  We learn some of the reasons he does what he does.  We also finally get to see some of the influence he has on other people.  The idea of more than one person that thinks like Jigsaw is a scary thing.

     Next week I will take a look at parts three and four.  It is in these movies where the violence starts to take an unnecessary shift to what many people label "Torture Porn".

     Thursday I will take a look back at Taken.  Friday will be my preview of Taken 2.

Until next time - Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

October 2nd, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion DVD Release of the Week is Iron Sky???

 

Rated R

     I get to do something I don't normally get to do for the DVD Release of the Week.  I have gotten my hands on an advanced copy of Iron Sky, an action sci-fi comedy about what would have happened if the Nazis had built a base on the Moon in 1945, only to be making plans to return now.  If handled right, this could be really funny.  If handled wrong it could be a cinematic disaster.  Well, here I go.  I will be back in an hour and a half to let you know whether or not to take the time to watch this movie.

About an hour and a half later…

     I think I am going to have to give this one a pass.  It tried really hard to be funny and at times it was, but not enough for me.  I now kind of wish they did a serious movie instead.  They did try to get a little too serious at the end, but it did not fit this movie very well.  So if you want to see something that is pretty ridiculous, give this movie a shot, but I think it is kind of a waste of time.

 

Other Releases: October 2nd, 2012

* Cinderella (Blu-Ray)

* How I Met Your Mother: Season 7

* Dark Shadows

* New Girl: Season 1

* People Like us

* The Princess Bride 25th Anniversary Edition (Blu-Ray)

* Magic City: Season 1

 

     Today is Trailer Tuesday as well.  Go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page to see the trailers for Paranormal Activity 4 and because I and really excited about it coming out this week, Taken 2.

     Wednesday will be the start of a new Classics Series.  The series will cover a movie franchise that was a Halloween tradition starting in 2004 and lasted seven straight years.  Hint: "I want to play a game."

     Because Taken 2 comes out Friday, I will take a look at the original on Thursday.  Friday I will have my preview of Taken 2.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

October 1st, 2012

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow Me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion Reviews Hotel Transylvania

 

Rated PG

     I wasn't sure what I was going to think of this movie, but I had a hunch that it might be okay.  In the end, the movie was a lot better than I thought it was going to be.  I was more entertained than I thought I would be.  This movie has a pretty entertaining voice cast and a decent story.

     The story involved Dracula trying to keep his daughter Mavis (Selena Gomez) at home forever.  He does not trust the human world for reasons I won't reveal here.  Mavis wants to explore the world, but is convinced by her father that it is in her best interest to stay after Dracula tricks her.  After a human, Jonathan (Andy Samberg) finds his way to Dracula's hotel; he helps to show Mavis that human's aren't all that bad.

     The best thing about this movie was the voice cast.  Adam Sandler (Dracula) is in the element he should be in: animation.  Instead of trying to be a living cartoon in all of his movies, like Eddie Murphy, he should do more of this stuff.

     I thought most of the voice cast did a great job, but the standout performance goes to Steve Buscemi as Wayne the Wolfman.  He seemed to have a lot of the best jokes, most of them involving his huge family and his wife played by Molly Shannon (Wanda).

     John Lovitz (Chef Quasimodo) was a decent villain for the movie.  I still feel he is an underappreciated actor, especially when voicing over cartoons.  Anyone that has not seen The Critic is in for a treat.

     All in all, this is a pretty decent movie.  There are a couple of moments that could scare little kids, but I think they would get over it pretty quick.  The kids in the theater I was in seemed to do okay.  Most of them were around 4-6 years old.  Some of the jokes are pretty juvenile, but a lot of them are not and that makes up for it.  I would let my kids watch this, though a lot of it might go over their heads.

     Monday will be a new Monday Quicky Review of both Dredd and Looper.  I know I just reviewed them, but go to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page page to check it out anyway.

     Tuesday will be the DVD Release of the Week and Trailer Tuesday.  Wednesday will start a new Classics Series here on the blog.  I will take a look at a movie series that was an October constant for seven years.  Since Taken 2 comes out Friday, I will take a look at the original on Thursday.  Then it will be Taken 2 on Friday.

Until next time - Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms