The Reel Opinion with Gene Reynolds; January 2013 Archives - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion with Gene Reynolds; January 2013 Archives

Posted:

January 31st, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

     I finally got it finished.  Here are my nominees for The Opie Awards for 2012.  Now remember, these are only movies that I saw last year.  Being a local critic, I don't have access to every film released in a year.  I did see probably three times the movie that I saw in 2011 though.  I may have some different choices than a lot of awards show would have and some are the same.  I try to give every movie that I see a chance, not just the ones that the entertainment industry tells me are good.  Take a look and let me know what you think on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page.  I will have the winners by the end of February.  I have a ton of movies watching to do for this.

Best Movie:

* End of Watch

* Argo

* Lincoln

* The Avengers

* Django Unchained

 

Worst Movie:

* The Devil Inside

* Chernobyl Diaries

* The Dictator

* Magic Mike

* Resident Evil: Retribution

 

Best Actor:

* Liam Neeson – The Grey

* Karl Urban – Dredd

* Joseph Gordon-Levitt – Looper

* Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln

* Dane DeHaan - Chronicle

 

Best Actress:

* Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook

* Keira Knightley – Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

* Catherine Chan – Safe

* Kara Hayward – Moonrise Kingdom

* Lynn Collins – John Carter

 

Best Supporting Actor:

* Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln

* Clark Gregg – The Avengers

* John Goodman – Flight & Argo

* Alan Arkin – Argo

* Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained

 

Best Supporting Actress:

* Chelsea Handler – This Means War

* Ann Hathaway – The Dark Knight Rises

* Sally Field - Lincoln

* Olivia Thurlby – Dredd

* Emily Blunt – Looper

 

Worst Actor:

* Mark Wahlberg – Contraband

* Nicolas Cage – Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

* Johnny Depp – Dark Shadows

* Sacha Baron Cohen – The Dictator

* Christian Bale – The Dark Knight Rises

 

Worst Actress:

* Fernanda Andrade – The Devil Inside

* Gina Carano – Haywire

* Anna Faris – The Dictator

* Cody Horn – Magic Mike

* Maggie Grace – Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2

 

Best Good Guy:

* Ryan Reynolds – Safe House

* Tom Hardy – This Means War

* Chris Pine – This Means War

* Taylor Kitsch – John Carter

* Jamie Foxx – Django Unchained

 

Best Bad Guy:

* Benicio del Toro – Savages

* Peter Dinklage – Ice Age 4

* Lena Headey – Dredd

* Byron Mann – The Man with the Iron Fists

* Leonardo DiCaprio – Django Unchained

 

Best Anti-Hero:

* Danny Trejo – Bad Ass

* Guy Pierce – Lockout

* Karl Urban – Dredd

* Joseph Gordon-Levitt – Looper

* Russell Crowe – The Man with the Iron Fists

 

Best Director:

* Joe Carnahan - The Grey

* Joss Whedon – The Avengers

* Rian Johnson – Looper

* Ben Affleck – Argo

* Quentin Tarantino – Django Unchained

 

Funniest Movie:

* One for the Money

* This Means War

* Casa de mi Padre

* The Campaign

* That's My Boy

 

Biggest Letdown:

* The Dark Knight Rises

* Ted

* Amazing Spider-Man

* Prometheus

* Killing Them Softly

 

Biggest Surprise:

* This Means War

* Chronicle

* John Carter

* Dredd

* The Man with the Iron Fists

 

Best Superhero Movie:

* The Avengers

* Dredd

* The Amazing Spider-Man

* The Dark Knight Rises

* Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

 

Best Animated Movie:

* Rise of the Guardians

* Wreck-It Ralph

* Ice Age: Continental Drift

* Hotel Transylvania

* Brave

 

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 30th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Parker

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     The first thing I need to say about this movie is that I thought it was based on the same Parker book as Payback was.  I learned when I saw the movie that it was not.  Payback was based on a Parker book called The Hunter.  This movie was based on a Parker book called Flashfire.  I just wanted to clear that up.  This movie is not a remake, but another film based on the same character.

      This movie is about a thief with a strict moral code.  He doesn't steal from anybody that can't afford it and he doesn't hurt anybody that doesn't deserve it.  He is hired to help a small crew steal from a large amount of money from a county fair, somewhere around $1 million.  After the job, which one of the crew makes a mistake and an innocent bystander dies, the crew tries to get Parker (Jason Statham) to reinvest this score to pull off a bigger job.  Parker refuses, so they shoot him and believe he is dead.  He survives the shooting and goes after the crew to find out what their next job is and take it for himself.

     From the start, this movie feels like your typical Jason Statham movie.  It has a decent story going, the action is good and the cast is alright.  Statham is usually at his best when he is playing an antihero.  While not as cold hearted as Mel Gibson was playing the character, renamed Porter for Payback, he wasn't exactly the good guy either.

     The movie is going alright, not great, but alright.  Then we are introduced to Leslie Rogers (Jennifer Lopez).  A little bit of a disclaimer:  I think Jennifer Lopez is a very attractive woman.  I can appreciate why she is popular to a lot of people.  Other than the new Ice Age movie, which she was alright in and maybe Enough, I have never really been a fan of her acting.  I think she is a decent singer and entertainer.  I am old enough that I will always consider her my favorite Fly Girl on In Living Color.

     Her introduction to the story is where the movie kind of slows to a crawl for a bit.  The movie has to take the time a few times to get to know who she is and what motivates her.  As minor of a character as I feel she became, this was just a bit of wasted time.

     I will go over why I did not like her character or her performance.  First was she reminded me of Rosie Perez in the voice department.  Her constant yammering just got old after a while.  It wasn't so bad at first, but it just kept going.

     Next, her character almost gets involved in an extremely unnecessary love triangle that would have made no sense.  I now her character doesn't know he is with someone, but the reason she like Parker is just dumb.  She complains to him that she has to deal with the advances of men all the time at her job, some she lets happen.  I guess she like him because he doesn't hit on her, but it just comes off as forced to me.  She gets kind of pouty when she finds out about Parker's girl.

     The final reason I was not a fan of her character was that she just seemed to be there when things needed to go wrong.  She was the "wrong place at the wrong time" type of character.  Anytime she did something she was told not to do, things went bad for herself or Parker.  It just got predictable and old.

     If you like Jason Statham, you will still probably think this movie is alright.  I still kind of enjoyed it, but Lopez's character hurt the film a bit.  This one is definitely a rental.  If they do decide to make another one with Jason Statham, the story ends in a way that Jennifer Lopez's character would not be involved.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 29th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Geno Reviews Movie 43

Rated R

Major Spoilers and Adult Subject Matters Ahead!!!  When I Say Major Spoilers, I Mean I Am Going To Ruin This Movie For You.

     So I have a question.  How many movie stars does it take to make one of the worst movies of all time?  To tell you the truth I lost count watching one of the worst movies EVER.  I would have understood the motivation behind this movie more if it were called YouTube The Movie or Funny or Die The Movie, but I really don't understand how so many stars could have looked at this script and said "I want to be a part of this."

     I'll put it this way.  If these clips were just clips on the internet, some of them might have been funny by themselves.  Some of them were a little funny, but not in the context of a movie.  The plot of this movie is just dumb.  I'm not even going to waste time naming the character names here.  Dennis Quaid is trying to sell Greg Kinnear a script for a movie that is all of these "wonderful" clips put together.  He explains that the movie not only has a lot of big stars, but also tons of product placements.  The rest of the movie is these various clips and commercials.  And the big joke is that this whole narrative is also a movie.  I can hear the crickets chirping now.

     I did like a couple of the clips.  The superhero one, the leprechaun one and the basketball one were a little funny, but not enough to save this piece of sh…I better watch my words.  Don't want to lose the blog.

     But let me ask you this.  What does that say about an award winning actor like Hugh Jackman if he would look at a script that said "Your character has testicles on his chin and that is the ONLY JOKE OF THE SEGMENT", he said something like, "I just have to be a part of that."

     This is the kind of crap this movie has.  Jokes about someone wanting their boyfriend to go number two on them are not funny.  Long, drawn out jokes about women's periods, moms sleeping with their kids and iPods made out of naked women that mangle boy's privates and fingers (think about it) are not that funny.

     Like I said, this stuff might have been a little funny if they were released on the internet by themselves.  It is stuff like this that websites Cracked and Funny or Die are for.  The jokes are dumb, the story is dumb…this movie is just dumb.  It made $5 million this last weekend.  From what I can find, it took $6 million to make.  Lord help us if this movie makes any more money.  Hollywood might think this was a good idea.

     I mean, when I would rather watch the new Texas Chainsaw or A Haunted House rather than see this movie again, that has to say something.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

January 28th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Geno Reviews Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I always wonder what the authors of certain adaptations would think if they saw what was done to their creations.  I am not sure what the Brothers Grimm would think of their creation being turned into…this.  Hansel & Gretel is an ultra-violent, foul-mouthed and funny for the wrong reasons action movie and that is about it.  I won't say I didn't have any fun with it, but I think that it got more wrong than right.

     The movie starts by sort of retelling the story of Hansel & Gretel.  It talks about their father leaving them in the woods, but did not explain why.  They find the house made of candy and begin to eat it, then are captured by a witch.  She begins to force Hansel to overeat to fatten him up.  She does this by threatening Gretel's life.  Like the real story, they eventually find a way to kill the witch.  This leads them to develop a sort of bloodlust for killing witches.  We then see many newspaper clippings about their deeds in killing different witches throughout the years.  This leads us to them being invited to a town to investigate 11 missing children.  The duo finds out that they were not brought to the town by accident.

     One thing that I found kind of fun is that witches in this universe seem to be commonplace and not unknown.  I do find it funny that as commonplace as witches are in this universe, hardly anybody knows anything about them.  The people of the main town hold a sort of Salem Witch Trial execution near the beginning of the movie.

     There was a plot point that was interesting at first, but turned into an unnecessary and obvious plot twist.  The witch had fed Hansel so much candy that he developed a "Sugar Sickness" and has to take a shot of medicine every few hours or he will die.  Of course, the movie is talking about diabetes.  This would have worked if Hansel's logic made sense.  There is at least two times in the movie that he couldn't have used the medicine and should have died, but the one time that he really NEEDS it comes at a time that the plot demands it.  The plot device just didn't work for me.

     The violence is pretty ridiculous in this movie.  It reminded me of Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter or even the first two Evil Dead movies when it can to how people were killed and the blood splatter.  Like those movies, it was pretty laughable, but like those movies, I think it was supposed to be that way.

In the last few years, did Famke Janssen (Muriel) forget how to act???

     The way the characters talked seemed too modern to me.  Some of the phrases and words they used just seemed out of place with the fantasy setting of the movie.  I just didn't feel that it meshed well together.

     This movie's ending was set up so this movie could become a franchise.  Will it happen?  The movie only made a third of its budget back this weekend, but it did take the top spot at the box office.  I am pretty sure it won't be number one next week.  If you must see this one, wait to rent it.  At least it wasn't the worst movie I saw this weekend…more on that Tuesday.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 25th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

     There are three movies coming out this weekend that I will have reviews for next week here on The Reel Opinion Blog.  In the first movie, Jason Statham takes on a role that has been played by Mel Gibson, technically.  The second movie sees a fairytale gets a gritty and violent sort of sequel.  The final movie is about a search for the most banned movie in the world.

Parker – Rated R

     Jason Statham plays Parker.  He is a thief with a unique code of professional ethics.  He doesn't steal from people that can't afford it and he doesn't hurt people that don't deserve it.  After a job, he gets double-crossed by his partner and is left for dead.  He survives and goes after the guy that took his money.

     If this plot sounds somewhat familiar, it is because this film has technically been made twice already.  The first time was Point Blank in 1967.  I haven't seen that one.  The second was Payback starring Mel Gibson.  The character was renamed Porter for that movie.  Payback is one of my guilty pleasures when it comes to movies.  I really would have like to see Mel Gibson continue his version of the character.  I am also a big fan of Statham, so he is not a bad pick for the role.  Looking forward to seeing just how different this movie is from Payback.

Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters – Rated R

     Here we have yet another series involving Jeremy Renner.  This movie technically could be called a sequel to the story of Hansel & Gretel because if shows what happened to them after they grew up.  I see this movie being kind of like Van Helsing when it comes to the feel of the movie.

     I am not sure what to expect from this one.  Part of me thinks it could be fun, but part of me thinks that turning Hansel & Gretel into bada** monster slayers is kind of a stupid idea.  I really want to be wrong about that.  On a fanboy note, I have kind of had a small Hollywood crush on Gemma Arterton, who plays Gretel, since the remake of Clash of the Titans, so having her in this movie doesn't hurt too badly.

Movie 43 – Rated R

     This looks like one of those movies that looks really funny when you watch the trailers, but the movie turns out really dumb.  Also, I have a feeling that this movie will also feel like one of those "Too many stories and actors crammed into one movie" like Valentine's Day and New Year's Eve.  Who knows, this movie could actually be a surprisingly good comedy, but my hopes are not too high for this one.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 24th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

   

     There are many movies out there that have not had sequels that should have.  Now I know that there are many circumstances that can prevent a sequel from happening: death of actors, not enough made at the box office, etc.  What I want to talk about for the coming weeks is what sequels I would like to see if there were no circumstances keeping them from happening.  I will also talk about how to get around some of the things like the death of actors that might keep a sequel from getting made.

Looper

     I want to warn ANYBODY that has not seen Looper to please not read this blog entry.  It will be hugely spoiler filled.  Those of you that have seen Looper know that, though not perfect, paid big time attention to detail when it came to the idea of time travel.  I think it handled it better than a lot of time travel movie have, like The Terminator.  Those that have seen it know that the movie left a big "what now?" at the end.  I know that Past Joe stopped Future Joe from causing the creation of the worst villain in the history of mankind, but I want to know what happens next.

Looper 2: The Rainmaker

     One of the fun plot elements of Looper was the telekinetic people.  Past Joe says "About 10% of the population has this ‘TK' mutation.  When it first appeared, everyone thought we were going to get superheroes.  But it turns out this was it.  Now it's just a bunch of a**holes thinking their blowing your mind floating quarters."  Of course, we do end up getting an all-powerful mutant that ends up taking over all crime in the future.  He is known as The Rainmaker.  The plot of the movie is about Old Joe trying to kill The Rainmaker as a child.

     Young Joe saves The Rainmaker from Old Joe and "possibly" has changed the future.  What I would like to see is the struggles of a young man growing up not knowing if he is going to be the savior of mankind or its downfall.  Like the movie Chronicle, you have yourself a pretty good original superhero origin story here.  I would hate to see it go to waste.  You could probably get another two movies out of this one.

     You could have the future turn out worse, not better because of the actions of Young Joe in the first movie.  Why does there have to be a happy ending.  I think it would add weight to an already interesting new universe to have what we thought were heroic actions in the first movie turn out to be bad later.

     I think the Looper universe was so creative, it deserves another few stories.

     Got any ideas on what you think would have happened with a sequel to this movie?  Drop me a line on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page and let me know what you think.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno 

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

January 23rd, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Geno Reviews Broken City

Rated R

     I know I give Mark Wahlberg (Billy Taggart) a hard time sometimes, but in my defense, some of his roles deserved the scrutiny.  Sometimes he does a good job, but most of the time his roles are forgettable.  His role in Broken City kind of falls in between the cracks a little bit.  While his character wasn't great or original in this movie, it didn't totally suck either.

     The trailers for this movie are a little misleading about the total plot, but last time I checked, knowing the whole plot after watching a trailer was a bad thing.  The movie throws you some decent, but not totally original, curveballs throughout the story.  You might see them coming, but most of the time they are still entertaining.

     The spray tan and bad hair on Russell Crowe (Mayor Hostetler) is ridiculous, but it fit the character perfectly.

     I liked that the movie had multiple layers to its storytelling.  All of the main characters were important to the plot or helped develop the traits of other characters.  There didn't seem to be any wasted characters in this movie.

     The movie felt a little slow, but not too bad.  It had some good moments of tension and surprise that helped to shake things up a little bit.  Some you didn't see coming and that is always a nice surprise.

     While this movie had some good characters and a decent plot, I would still call it a rental.  It just didn't have a lot of original ideas that haven't been done before.  I still found it to be a pretty entertaining movie, though.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

January 22nd, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Geno Reviews Mama

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I am not the biggest horror movie fan, but I can appreciate a good one when I see it.  With Guillermo del Toro being involved in this movie, I had high hopes for Mama to be really good.  I can say that it was really good…until the end.

     This movie had a lot going for it.  Not only do you have a great actress like Jessica Chastain (Annabel) playing a part that is really unlike her, but you have two little girls, Megan Charpentier (Victoria) and Isabelle Nelisse (Lilly) that really stole the show.  These two little girls went from creepy to cute and back to creepy throughout the movie.  They were very good in their roles and were everything this movie needed them to be and more.

     The story was pretty interesting.  I did like the fact that the movie let you know that the creature was real pretty much instantly.  I get a little tired of movies that give you this "Is it or isn't it real" story when you already know the answer.  The movie is about the discovery of who Mama is and what she wants.  The premise and most of the payoff was really good.

     I thought that this movie was a really fun ghost story.  I say this because I feel that the ending was maybe just a little too deep for the type of movie this was.  I felt that this was the type of movie that deserved a little bit more of a happy ending.  I think it was supposed to be both happy and sad, but it just came off as trying to be more than it needed to be.

     Did the ending kill this movie?  No, but it turned this from a really good movie to just a decent one.  I think that if you saw this in the theater, you would be disappointed by the ending like I was.  I felt the scares were fun and the characters good, but I would still call this a rental in the end.  It's worth a watch to fans of ghost movies.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 21st, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Geno Reviews The Last Stand

Rated R

     After playing the part of California governor, Arnold Schwarzenegger makes his way back to the big screen in his first starring role in years.  Should he have just gone away into retirement or am I glad he's "Back".  For this reviewer, the latter is the answer…sort of.

     I will start off by saying that this movie is kind of ridiculous in the fun action movie sort of way.  If you were expecting something more serious from the Governator, then you would be watching the wrong movie.  This, like a lot of Arnie's movies, is just some good dumb fun.

     I did like the fact that Arnie wasn't totally invincible in this movie.  He is an older man now and in this movie he played one.  That is not to say that he wasn't his old self some of the time, but they played on his age a little bit.  They also made him a pretty smart cop in this movie.  There were crimes to be investigated and it just wasn't a total shoot-em up…until the last half of the movie.

     I liked the supporting cast a lot.  They were pretty simple, somewhat stereotypical characters, but for this movie they really didn't need to be anything more.  The supporting cast was fun, funny and totally in on the joke of the movie

     The violence was pretty insane and played on for laughs a lot.  This movie is pretty bloody and loud.  When someone gets killed, you know it.

     Do I think that this movie should have been in theaters?  Not really, but it would be a fun action movie for a rental.  It isn't anything new or special, but I thought it was fun.  If Arnie is going to make a comeback, he really needs to take on a role that is different from the norm.  Saying that, I would watch another, , movie like this from him.  I can', t help it, I grew up with the guy.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 18th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 Geno Previews This Weekend's Movies

     There are three movies coming out this weekend that I will have reviews for next week here on The Reel Opinion Blog. Arnie returns to the action movie genre, Jessica Chastain tries to raise two children that may have been raised by a supernatural being for five years and Mark Wahlberg plays an ex-cop that does dirty deeds for a New York Mayor played by Russell Crowe.

The Last Stand – Rated R

     Arnold Schwarzenegger plays the sheriff of a town that must stop the leader of a drug cartel from crossing the Mexican border. I imagine that Arnie will "Be Back" to his old shoot-em up ways and one liners. The movie has a somewhat fun cast with actors like Forest Whitaker, Johnny Knoxville and Luiz Guzman. I am happy that Peter Stormare is in this movie. For those that don't know who he is, he played gangster John Abruzzi on Prison Break. He is an actor that I would like to see get some leading roles soon. He is highly underrated. I think this movie is going to be some good, dumb fun.

Mama – Rated PG-13

     I am pretty curious about this movie. While it looks like a typical jump scare fest, I am curious because Guillermo del Toro, creator of the incredible Pan's Labyrinth, has attached his name to this movie. I am not sure what his total involvement is with the movie, but I am a big fan of del Toro and his movies. I hope he had a lot of influence on the way this movie looks and feels. His involvement can only help ANY movie.

Broken City – Rated R

     For the most part, I am pretty tired of Mark Wahlberg. Ted wasn't horrible, but if his roles in movies like Contraband and Max Payne are any indication to how I feel about his "serious" acting then I don't know what to say. Maybe he will prove me wrong someday and I want to like the movies he is in, because some of them have pretty good premises to them. I think he is better in movies where he doesn't have to be super serious: The Italian Job, Renaissance Man, Etc. Maybe Russell Crowe and Catherine Zeta-Jones will help carry this movie.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


 

January 17th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

     There are many movies out there that have not had sequels that should have.  Now I know that there are many circumstances that can prevent a sequel from happening: death of actors, not enough made at the box office, etc.  What I want to talk about for the coming weeks is what sequels I would like to see if there were no circumstances keeping them from happening.  I will also talk about how to get around some of the things like the death of actors that might keep a sequel from getting made.

The Princess Bride

     This is a big one for me.  Like many, I am totally in love with this film.  I have always wanted a sequel to happen with this one.  When I had a chance to speak to Chris Sarandon, Prince Humperdinck in the original, I asked him about a sequel to the movie.  He said that the writer of the original story, William Goldman, said that he was always kicking around the idea for a sequel called Buttercup's Baby.  I guess the story for The Princess Bride came so easy for him, but the story for the sequel just never came to him.

     The 25th Anniversary Edition of The Princess Bride just came out not too long ago and I picked up my copy, as well as a copy for each of my sons for when they get older.  It got me thinking about how they could pull off a sequel now.  Here is an idea to think about.

 

The Princess Bride 2: The Voyage Of The Dread Pirate Roberts or The Princess Bride: The Next Chapter

     This is one that they could pull off now.  It would be better if Andre the Giant were still alive to play Fezzik again, but you could get another actor to play his son, maybe Paul Wight (aka The Big Show of the WWE).  It would not be the first time he played the son of Andre the Giant.  That is how he was introduced in WCW a long time ago.  It could make for a fun inside joke.

     The story would take place 25 years after the original.  Instead of the story being told by the late Peter Faulk to his grandson Fred Savage, Fred Savage would be telling the next chapter to his young son.  The story would not follow Wesley and Buttercup (Cary Elwes and Robin Wright) this time, but the 25 years reigning Dread Pirate Roberts.  This Roberts would be none other than Inigo Montoya, who has taken on among his crew the son of the late Fezzik, played by Wight, and the twin brother of his former boss Vizzini, played by Wallace Shawn.  You just have to at least have two of the three and if Andre the Giant was still alive, it would be Fezzik instead of the character of his son.  Montoya grows t, ir, ed of being a pirate and is on the search for his replacement.  The Pirate Ship Revenge later takes over a ship where he meets a young boy who might just be able to take his place.

     I would try to fit in the other living characters somehow, but in smaller roles.  Characters like Miracle Max (Billy Crystal) and Prince Humperdinck (Chris Sarandon) would be involved.  I think it would be a crime not to have them.  What about Cary Elwes and Robin Wright you ask?  Why the new recruit and new Dread Pirate Roberts would end up being their son, of course.

     Got any ideas on what you think would have happened with a sequel to this movie?  Drop me a line on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page and let me know what you think.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


January 16th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

Geno Review John Dies At The End

 

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     For today's review, I went back to iTunes and tried to find a movie that had not been released yet.  As I mentioned a little ways back, iTunes sometimes has some independent movies that are still in theaters or some advanced screenings of independent movies that may or may not make the local theaters.  I thought back to my interview with Doug Jones and remember him mentioning a movie he was shooting called John Dies At The End.  iTunes had it, so I decided to check it out.

     This movie is based on a comic horror novel of the same name and is directed by Don Coscarelli, the writer and director of the Phantasm movies, the Beastmaster movies as well as Bubba Ho-Tep.  If you enjoyed Bubba Ho-Tep, you know what kind of movie you are getting in to.

     The movie starts off with a young man named Dave (Chase Williamson) telling a reporter, Arnie Blondestone (Paul Giamatti) about his secret life.  That secret life involves him and his friend John (Rob Mayes) being a sort of Demon fighting duo, fueled by a drug called "Soy Sauce".  This "Soy Sauce" may or may not give its user special powers, some of which are the ability to talk to the dead telepathically, the ability to see the future and other not of this world type stuff.  While Arnie kind of blows Dave's story off at first, he soon realizes that this kid might be even more than he is letting on with his outrageous story.

     This story is by far one of the strangest movies I have seen in a while, but that is not necessarily a bad thing.  As a fan of Bubba Ho-Tep, I was looking forward to seeing what this movie had to offer.  It is a little hard to follow at times, but does really well to keep your interest with its odd and sometimes disgusting humo,, r.  The humor is very dark, but very interesting.

     This movie has some f, un theories when it comes to things like demons and the afterlife.  It kept throwing little interesting twists at the main characters that you don't see coming.  You will learn the rules of the movie as you go along, but you never really totally understand them.  That's okay because a little mystery in this movie helped the story, didn't hurt it.

     As usual, Paul Giamatti is really good in this, but there is one other actor that really stands out in this film.  While the main characters are kind of an underground demon fighting duo, Clancy Brown (Dr. Albert Marconi) plays a demon hunter that sells himself like an infomercial.  He is wonderful and funny in this part.  I was a little disappointed at how little Doug Jones (Roger North) was in the movie, but it didn't hurt the movie at all.

     Like I said earlier, if you liked the dark, off the wall humor of Bubba Ho-Tep, you would probably enjoy this movie.  It is so strange, but interesting it really keeps your attention.  A lot of the humor is gross and adult, so this movie is only for adults.  I was really surprised how much I liked this movie, in that odd sort of way.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


January 15th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

Geno Reviews A Haunted House

Rated R

Spoilers Ahead!!!

     What happened to the parody film?  When guys like Mel Brooks were making them, they were intelligent and funny.  For a long time we have been getting movies like the Scary Movie franchise and then the awful ?????? Movies came along.  You know the ones I am talking about?  Epic Movie, Date Movie, etc.  They are just horrible.  I thought that maybe, just maybe, Marlon Wayans would draw inspiration from the first Scary Movie.  Don't get me wrong, I still don't like that movie either, but it is the best of worst.

     What I got from this movie is about an hour and a half of my life that I will never have again.  I feel that the Paranormal Activity movies and The Devil Inside are ripe for making fun of.  The Devil Inside is up for worst movie of the year in 2012 in The Opie Awards.  Instead of getting some well written and smart jokes, we are stuck with the same lame jokes that Marlon Wayans is known for: fart, pot and sex jokes.

     Not only are the jokes bad, but they dragged on and on.  Have you ever had somebody tell you a VERY unfunny joke that lasted for what seemed like forever?  That is this movie.  Each of the main characters has their shtick that they stick to and will not let go.  David Koechner's character is a racist.  Nick Swardson's character is a psychic that REALLY want to have sex with Marlon Wayans's character.  Alanna, , Ubach and Andrew Daly's couple want to be swingers with Marlon Wayons and his girlfriend.  Cedrick the Entertainer is the tough former ex con turned preacher.  That is it.  Each character never changes.  If a certain character is on screen, you know what type of joke is coming…and none of them are even close to being funny.

     Not only is this movie probably going to be a shoe in for worst movie of 2013, but I am considering making it the worst movie I have ever seen.  I never, and I mean never, wanted a movie to end so badly in my life.  I always want to reflect on a movie after it is over so I can give you guys a better perspective on what I thought, but for this movie I didn't have to.  I felt it was my duty to tweet what I thought about the movie, sitting in my seat right after the credits.  I almost tweeted DURING the movie to warn people.  There is a special place in movie hell for movies like this.

       I am now going to use the movie's tagline to describe the movie.  The tagline is "This $#!+ Ain't paranormal.  I say "This $#!+ Ain't Funny.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


January 14th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

Geno Reviews Gangster Squad

Rated R

     I like surprises most of the time.  I love it when a movie I think is not going to be very good ends up be decent or really good.  What I can't stand is a letdown surprise.  That is what Gangster Squad was to me.  Now, was it The Dark Knight Rises kind of a letdown?  No, it was not that bad, but I am disappointed in this movie for a few reasons.

     A movie with this great of a cast should have been incredible.  You have a group of A-Listers together with a groups of soon to be A-Listers in a movie about the war against the late 1940's LA mob.  I went into this movie thinking I was going to get something along the line of The Untouchables.  Instead I got a movie that had predictable, one dimensional characters and a storyline that anybody could figure out, beginning to end.

     I did like some of the characters.  I enjoyed Sean Penn as Mickey Cohen for a little while, but the overacting got stale real fast.  Ryan Gosling's (Sgt. Jerry Wooters) and Robert Patrick's (Officer Max Kennard) characters were kind of fun and interesting, bu,, t, still very one dimensional.  Though I liked the other actors in this movie as well, their predictability and cardboard cutout characters just made this movie very underwhelming.

     Don't get me wrong, I still got some enjoyment out of this movie.  I did not hate it, but I wanted this movie to be edgy and unpredictable.  Instead it was safe and by the book.  If you think a character is going to die, they will.  If you think a plot point will happen, it does.  If you want to see this movie, just wait for the DVD.

     I can say that this wasn't the worst movie I saw this weekend.  Tuesday I will have my review of A Haunted House.  This movie is not only a candidate for the worst movie of the year, but also a candidate for the worst movie I have EVER seen.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 11th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

Geno previews Gangster Squad

Rated R

     Now this is my type of movie. I don't what it is about gangster movies set in the 30's-50's, but I dig them a lot. Movies like The Untouchables, Lawless and Road to Perdition seem to creep their way up my favorites list quite often. I just put The Untouchables in my NetFlix queue...and I own the DVD. I was pretty excited for this movie after the first trailer that I saw and was ready for it to come out last September, but then tragedy struck a Colorado movie theater.

     First the trailer was pulled because there was to be a scene in the movie about a shootout in a movie theater. Then Warner Bros decided to reshoot the scene altogether, so that caused a delay for the release of the movie. Time has passed and my anticipation has only risen for this movie.

     The story is about the LAPD's fight against East Coast Gangster Mickey Cohen's (Sean Penn) hostile takeover of Los Angles. The police decide to take the fight to Cohen by any means necessary. As the tagline of the movie says, this means no names, no badges, no mercy.

     So, bes, , ides an awesome few trailers and the setting, here is the biggest reason I am excited for this movie: The cast. Here is the main cast for this movie: Sean Penn, Josh Brolin, Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Nick Nolte, Anthony Mackie, Robert Patrick (Highly underrated if you ask me), Michael Pena and Giovanni Ribisi. A lot of people might say that is too many stars to shine brightly. I say that if a few step out in front to shine and the rest are an incredible backlighting, then it should be great.

     I will have my written review of this movie by Monday, January 14th and an on air review on Tuesday, January 15th.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion,

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


January 10th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

Geno Reviews Zero Dark Thirty

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I just got back to Decatur from the advanced screening of Zero Dark Thirty.  I have to thank Sony for once again hooking me and some of our viewers up with tickets to the show.

     I will start by saying, "I don't know if this is what really happened".  I am not going to judge the movie by what I believe about the true event, but by the movie itself.  I may reference things that I think the public may or may not have a problem with, but not love or hate the movie based on what I think really happened.

     As I am sure most of you know this is the movie about the hunt for Osama bin Laden.  The movie covers certain points from September 11th, 2001 to May 2011.  This is my first minor complaint about the movie.  It jumped around a lot and threw out a lot of names at you.  There is no real way to remember everything, but you really don't have to.  The main objective, finding bin Laden, and some other key points is all you have to remember.  It is a little hard to fo, , llow at times, but not so much that it makes you lose interest.

     We get to see many different points of the hunt: interrogation, spying, etc.  The interrogations are the main thing I think some people will have a problem with.  I know the U.S. Government does.  If the idea of "torture" bothers you, you might not want to see this.  I put torture in quotes because some will see it as torture and some will see it as aggressive interrogation.  That is up for you to decide.

     Jessica Chastain's character Maya was interesting to watch because you got to see her change from a squeamish rookie into a bloodthirsty hunter.  They kind of make her out to be the loner that nobody believes, but is right about things.

     My favorite character was Dan (Jason Clarke), Maya's superior during her interrogation training.  When Maya changes into what she does, it is almost into a blueprint of Dan.

     The raid scene was handled as well as could be expected.  This is definitely the most intense part of the movie.  I won't spoil any of it for you.

     I thought this was a really good movie.  Would I put it in to the list of the year's best?  Well, that is a little too early to tell, but it was a really good movie.  I don't think a watch in the theater would be a bad thing; just do your research before you go to see it.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


 

January 9th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

Geno's Co-Worker Friends Pick Their Favorite Movies Of 2012

     Coming up in the next couple of months will be The Opie Awards.  Before I get to that, I wanted to spotlight the crew that I work with in the morning.  All of them have been pretty supportive of me and this project in one way, shape or form.  I decided that I would have them name their favorite movies of 2012…and have a little Photoshop fun with them in the process.

 

Greg Trumbold – Morning Meteorologist

     Lincoln.  Daniel Day Lewis loses himself in his roles and he WAS "Lincoln". Tommy Lee Jones was superb. And even Sally Field showed the true angst of Mary Todd. The movie stayed fairly close to historical record. And it also showed that politics back in the day was just as bad if not worse than it is now.  Great movie.

 

Taneica Oliveira – Morning Editor/Photographer

     My favorite movie of 2012 was the Hunger Games. I loved the plot, and I am a huge fan of futuristic movies. I also enjoyed the costumes. The movie was so good that it compelled me to read the entire book series over the summer! I am looking forward to the 2nd movie that's supposed to come out this year!

 

Tabian Trueblood – Morning Studio Camera Operator

     My favorite movie of 2012 was The Avengers. It was grandtastic.

 

Kyle Jeisy – Morning Producer

     The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.  This was a great trip back to Middle Earth.  Peter Jackson did it, , again.

 

Mark Rivera – Morning News Anchor

     Lincoln was iconic. A movie for the ages. And while Spielberg's (dare I say "masterpiece?") is by far the best movie I've seen all year, my favorite movie of 2012 was Prometheus.  A not-quite-prequel to the Alien series, this flick dazzled. Since 3D on the silver screen really made a comeback with James Cameron's Avatar, I've longed for a movie to show me what that extra dimension can accomplish. The third dimension not only bolstered a sense of space on screen, it completely immersed the movie goer in a new and alien world. It added depth, and coupled with a touching score, brought the inanimate to life before our eyes.  I've watched movies about superheroes, about elves and wizards, about a boy living in the innards of a train station in Scorsese's Hugo, but never have I seen the third dimension used better on the screen than in Ridley Scott's Prometheus.  #lovedit.

 

Samantha Singer – Morning News Anchor

     My favorite movie of 2012 is The Hunger Games. It was definitely the most memorable. The number one reason is because it features a strong, female role. Katniss Everdeen was tough and focused even in the worst possible situation with extreme adversity. I believe she is a wonderful role model for women of all ages. However, I could have done without the love story between Katniss and Peeta. I did not think it was believable. Overall, I thought the movie was very entertaining! And even though I might not want to admit it, after the movie I was ready to learn how to use a bow and arrow and kick some butt like Katniss!!

 

Mark Henderson – Morning Video Server/Audio Board Operator

     My favorite movie of 2012 was a tough one for me to choose. It came down to two comic book movies "Dredd" and "Marvel's The Avengers". The one I chose as my favorite movie of 2012 is "Marvel's The Avengers". The reason this movie was my favorite was because of the awesome cast that came together for this movie. Who knew that Robert Downing Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Reiner, and Sam Jackson really worked well together and they all roughly got equal screen time. I felt the movie had everything you needed for an entertaining feature. This is why "Marvel's The Avengers" was my favorite movie of 2012!

 

Jeff Hutson– Morning Video Server/Audio Board Operator

     I've been enamored by time travel films ever since Marty McFly's misadventures in Back To The Future. Alleging that 2012's Looper scratches the same timeline-hopping itch, would be a massive understatement. Looper manages to balance subtle sci-fi elements with textured, sympathetic characters and a plot that hits the ground running. Easily my favorite movie experience of the year, it panders to the casual viewer and sci-fi enthusiast alike. I can only hope that future Hollywood endeavors foster as much creativity and pure originality as Looper.

 

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


January 8th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page, Follow me on Twitter

 

 

The Reel Opinion reviews Promised Land

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I was hoping that since the beginning of the year started off bad with Texas Chainsaw (3D) that maybe, just maybe, a Matt Damon movie would help to ease the already disappointing movie year that is 2013.  While this movie helped ease the blow a little bit, it was still not the movie I had hoped it would be.

     The plot revolves around Steve Butler (Matt Damon), who works for a natural gas company.  This company finds financially-strapped towns that may have natural gas under them and leases the land.  They use a method known as "Fracking" to get the gas.  While Butler thinks this town will be an easy sell as most of the other towns he did this in, he finds out that this town has a secret weapon.  After an environmentalist, Dustin Noble (John Krasinski), finds out about this, he goes to the town to thwart Butler's takeover of the town, by ethical and not so ethical methods.

     While the movie has a decent story, the pacing of the film hurts it a little bit.  I felt at times that the movie was dragging a little.  While I know this is a straight up drama, it could have sped things up a little.

     If you are easily offended by either side of the environmental debate about natural resources, don't worry.  Though the movie does take a side, it is not in your face like a lot of other movies.

     There is a pseudo-love triangle that is extremely unnecessary to the plot of the movie.  I know why it was there after watching it, but it didn't really fit at all until the end.  The lack of buildup didn't help with the payoff.

     Matt Damon is decent in this movie, but he is really nothing special.  He has been a little hit and miss with me lately.  I am hoping that he can gain some of my confidence back with future movies.  I would say that his lack of character wasn't really his fault, but he co-wrote the movie.

     The best character is by far John Krasinski's character.  He just comes off as smug and arrogant.  He reminded me of some people that I knew at one time and that made him a more believable character for me.

     While the movie does have a decent twist near the end, the finale of the movie is horribly predictable and just has a kind of "that's the end?" feel to it.  I would say wait for a rental on this one.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


 

January 7th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

The Reel Opinion reviews Texas Chainsaw (3D)

Rated R

Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Where do I even begin?  Last year, the first movie I watched was The Devil Inside.  The Devil Inside is up for Worst of the Year honors in The Opie Awards for 2012.  So 2013 starts off with another horror movie with the "official" sequel to Texas Chainsaw Massacre, a movie that I can't stand.  So 2013 starts with another horror movie and for the second year in a row, a candidate for worst movie of the year emerges.

     I will talk about the few things that I liked about this movie first.  The movie starts in 1974 right after the girl from the original escapes Leatherface.  The police go to arrest Leatherface, but Leatherface's family is set to defend him violently.  They eventually agree to hand him over to spare a shootout, but a huge group of stereotypical redneck folks with guns and Molotov cocktails show up ready to kill the entire family.  Leatherface's family is slaughtered, but one of them escapes with their baby to a nearby garage.  One of the men from the group finds her, takes her baby and stomps her head in.  The townsfolk are seen as heroes and are not punished.  What I liked about this is that the movie looked like the 1973 version for that part of the film.  Nothing special, but it helped make it feel like the original.  The other thing I liked, and you can call me demented, is that a lot of the misfortune of the characters is really laugh out loud funny.  I could not help myself.

     The first problem with this movie is the math.  I can buy that this is the "official" sequel to the original, but the math just does not work out.  The original DOES take place in 1974 and the modern timeline in this movie DOES take place in 2012.  The actress behind the main character Heather, Alexandra Daddario, is in her mid 20's, but the character would have to be almost forty years old.  The character looks and acts like a girl in her mid 20's, so this makes no sense.

     Did you know that Leatherface, who is supposed to be the real one (played by Dan Yeager this time around), was not the real bad guy in the original?  The fact that he butchered and ate people was just a big misunderstanding.  If I remember it right, it was established in the original that he was mentally handicapped.  I would agree that a person like this character should be in a mental institution of some sort, but they really tried hard to pass the blame for everything on the people of the town of Newt, Texas.  Apparently most of the town in insane and Leatherface and his family were the real victims.

     The acting was atrocious.  Most of the characters came off as some type of stereotype.  It just got real old, real fast.

     It was a good thing that you could see most of Heather's core the entire time…because they kind of made it a stupid plot point…sigh…

     The film was gory, but I was kind of surprised that it wasn't as bad as it could have been.  Where there were kills, they were pretty gruesome, though.

     The first half of the movie is pretty much the same as the original movie for the most part.  The acting stinks and is almost laughable.  I would never recommend seeing this in the theater, but if you want a good party movie that you could make fun of the whole time, this might make a good rental.  As a film, though, it just plain stinks.

     I will say the funniest part of the movie comes right after the credits…which nobody stayed for when I went to see it.

Remember, it's only jus, t one guy's opinion.

Geno

<, p>,

&, ;nbs, p;    Ques, , tions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 


January 4th, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

The Reel Opinion previews Texas Chainsaw (3D)

Rated R

     (Sarcasm) I am SOOOOOOO excited about getting to go see another version of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre.  I just loved the original film so much and then the sequels and then the unofficial sequels and them the remake and…okay I haven't seen them all, but I have seen the original and the 1974 original which I can't stand, part 2 just was Just as dumb and the 2003 version which shocking was the most tolerable of them all.  This one makes me curious a little because it is connected to the 1974 original movie.  What movies are they going to ignore.  I have a feeling that it is going to be every one of them but the original.

     They actually got the original Leatherface, Gunnar Hansen, to be in this movie in some capacity as well as some of the other original members.  I will give them a little credit for that.  The original Leatherface was about the only thing I liked about the original.  When he came walking through that door the first time…creepy.

     I have a feeling that this movie will try to do what too many horror movies are doing nowadays and just be a horrible, disgusting, bloody mess.  Even the 2003 version was too much.  I have no doubt that this movie will take it further.

     I refuse to see this movie in 3D.  I am going to judge it by the story of the movie, not some lame gimmick that just really needs to go away.

     I do hope that this one gives an interesting story.  The 2003 version was a little more tolerable because it actually had a better told, albeit still not that good, story that made sense.

     I will have my blog review of this movie by Monday, January 7th and my on air review on Tuesday, January 8th.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is t, h, e_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

January 3rd, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

The Reel Opinion reviews The Guilt Trip

Rated PG-13

     Is anybody else tired of Seth Rogan playing Seth Rogan in movies?  Though I have liked him in a few things, his act is just getting a little old for me.  In The Guilt Trip, Seth Rogan plays Seth Rogan going on a road trip with his mother.  She thinks he just wants to spend time with her, but he has an ulterior motive of why he brings her along.

     Andrew Brewster (Seth Rogan) is an inventor of a safe cleaning product that he tries to market across America.  When visiting his mother, Joyce (Barbara Streisand) in New York, he finds out that he was named after the man she dated right before she married his father, who passed away when he was young.  He locates this man in San Francisco and decides that he wants to meet this man and "reintroduce" his mother to him as well, so he invites her along on his business trip.  This leads to an adventure of discovery for both of them.

     My biggest problem with this movie is the annoyance factor.  The constant bickering back and forth from Rogan and Streisand just gets a little old pretty quick.  That is not to say that some of it wasn't funny, because there was a few chuckles here and there, but for the most part it just gave me a headache.

     The story isn't too bad, but very predictable.  It almost felt a little like Tommy Boy in its setup, only not near as funny.

     Long story short, if you are going to see this movie wait for a rental…a really cheap rental.  If you like Seth Rogan playing Seth Rogan, you might like this one better, but he has spent all of his charity points from Knocked Up with this viewer.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

January 2nd, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

The Reel Opinion reviews Deadfall

Rated R

Spoilers Ahead!!!

     While I discovered this a while back, a couple of viewers reminded me that iTunes has some of the limited release movies for rent.  So when I needed a movie to review for today, I took a look and picked Deadfall.  This is a movie I saw a trailer for and wanted to see it, but it didn't get released around here.  After watching it, I can see why.  While not a horrible movie, it has way too much going on and leaves you pretty confused in the end.

     The story revolves first around a small group of casino thieves: Addison (Eric Bana), his "sister" Liza (Olivia Wilde) and a third unnamed man.  It doesn't matter what his name is because he dies after an early car crash.  After Addison kills a cop that stops to investigate the crash, they split up the money and go different directions because the cops are only looking for Addison.

     Next we are introduced to Jay (Charlie Hunnam), who has just been released from prison.  He is a former Olympic boxer that threw a fight and got caught.  After he confronts the man that got him caught and accidentally may have killed him in the confrontation, he drives off and eventually finds Liza out in the blizzard and takes her in.  This is what leads to the entire set up for the story.

     Where this movie kind of falls apart is that there is too much going on.  There is the strange love thing going on between Addison and Liza.  They call each other brother and sister, but there are a few instances where you think they are a couple as well.  One example is near the first of the movie, he is watching her undress and she tells him that it is okay.  They never explain if they are blood related or not, but that information would have been helpful.

     The Jay story is kind of bland at times because it relies too much on the Addison and Liza story.  When the cops are setting up roadblocks for the couple, Jay thinks it is because of him and is paranoid a lot.  There is a side story about the relationship between Jay and his father, Chet (Kris Kristofferson), that isn't too bad.  It makes for a strange and interesting final act to the movie.

     There is also a story involving a Sheriff's Deputy, Hanna (,, , Kate Mara), and her relationship with her father, Sheriff Becker (Treat Williams).  This story is kind of a throwaway because it really didn't do anything to advance the story.

     The manhunt of Addison is probably the most interesting part of the movie.  As he is on the run, we kind of get to learn what kind of a man he really is.  Is he misunderstood, crazy or something else?

     The movie's ending is pretty bad.  Though there is a resolution, a lot of the big problems are just kind of left to the viewer to decide what happened next.  This is the kind of movie that needed a real resolution.

     If you are going to rent this movie, don't rent it on iTunes because it is a little more expensive that renting it from a regular video store.  I could see this one popping up on Netflix soon.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


January 1st, 2013

My Interview With Heather Langenkamp

My Interview With Chris Sarandon

My Interview With Keith David

My Interview With Rowdy Roddy Piper

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

The Reel Opinion takes a look at the New Year

     Well, a new year is upon us and it is my hope that a lot of changes are going to happen with The Reel Opinion.  I had a few projects that I wanted to start last year, but was not able to that I am going to try to start again.  I have some other ideas that I want to try, especially for the blog to make it more interesting.  I am just going to do a little brainstorming here and any feedback on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page, good or bad, would be much appreciated.

     I hope to start The Reel Rant video series soon.  This will be a once or twice a month video where I would vent on a certain subject involving the ,, entertainment industry, movies or whatever.

     I am hoping to start a project called The Reel WAND.  This is a segment where I will interview someone that works at the station, whether on or off air, about themselves, movies, hobbies, etc.

     Sometime in February will be the Second Annual Opie Awards.  The nominee list will come out sometime in January.  I saw three or four times the movies in 2012 than in 2011, so I have a lot of films to go through.

     It is not set in stone, but The Reel Opinion TV segment may have a sponsor soon.  I'm crossing my fingers about that.

     I am pretty much getting rid of the Classics Series here on the blog.  That is not to say that I am never doing it again.  I know I am keeping the August series "Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch" & December's "Naughty and Nice".  I just want to have more time to do more new movies.

     I plan on covering as many Cons and events as I can.  EbertFest is coming up again in April.  Anime St. Louis and C2E2 are as well.  Wizard World has announced a new Comic Con in St. Louis in March and I still plan on going to Chicago Comic Con in August as well.  I am sure more will come up.  I want to hit at least one of the two if not both Days of the Dead fests this year.  I want to stay busy this year.

     I don't even know everything that is going to happen this year.  Support in the form of e-mails to three key people would help he tremendously.  Tai Takahashi is the new director that I write this blog under.  Clay Koenig is the head of sales.  Ricky Joseph is the big boss man.  If you like the blog, the TV segment and/or the Facebook Page, let them know about it.  Here is their contact information:

Tai.Takahashi@wandtv.com

clay.koenig@wandtv.com

ricky.joseph@wandtv.com

     All three have been pretty great in supporting my project so far, but still any support from the public is helpful and greatly , appr, eciated.

     I, have been doing this project for almost a year and a half now and it has been one of the most rewarding things I have ever done.  I hope to be doing this for a long time and I have a lot of people to thank for it, the viewing public being a big part of it.  Here is to hopefully big things in 2013.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 


Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms