The Reel Opinion with Geno Reynolds: February 2013 Archives - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion with Geno Reynolds: February 2013 Archives

Posted:

February 28th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Geno Takes Another Look At Bully

 

PG-13

Spoilers Ahead!!!

     When I decided that I was going to take another look at the movie Bully after it can out on DVD, I went back to look at my original review of the film.  I thought that I would have some new insight or original commentary that I could offer with my second viewing of the movie.  What I had forgotten is how much I had opened up about my personal life during the original review.  I have decided to repost my original review instead and I will also have a link to my on air review of the movie as well.

April 23rd, 2012

     You'll have to forgive me, but I might get a little bit personal during this review. I will say this right off the bat. Though not the perfect movie, this film should be shown in all schools, bad language and all. I was afraid of how I would feel after watching this movie and my fears were justified.

     There was only one, I repeat, one story I could not identify with. I could, however still empathize with this one story. A girl was treated like crap because of her sexual orientation. She lived in the Bible belt of Oklahoma and her whole family has suffered because of who she is. Whether you are okay with it or against it, we are all still people.

     I found that too many of the stories hit close to home for me. I dealt with a lot of what these kids went through when I was a kid, but in a lot of ways, I think kids today have it a lot worse. When I was young, you could escape some of your problems by going home and staying there or when you were older you could go out of town. Though there are safeguards, kids today can be reached through technology. They can be constantly bombarded with insults and violent talk. That is why I urge parents to pay attention to what your kids into. They may tell you that everything is okay, but it might not be. Some kids survive and thrive. I like to think that I turned out okay, but there are times I still deal with the hurt from the past. I'm 33 years old and have been out of school now for around 16 years now. Trust me when I tell you that some of this stuff sticks with you, even as you get older.

     I will tell you that there are two stories of suicide in this movie. One involves a 17 year old kid and the other is about a kid much younger. If these stories don't punch you right in the chest, then nothing will. When I was younger and was going through what I went through, I considered suicide. I was able to fight through it, but I was lucky. I was surprised that I found the strength to make it through. Even with a few friends, things were hard. I made it, but in life, not everybody makes it. Not everybody can find the strength to make it through this life, especially if you are being tormented by cruel people.

     It was hard to watch the school officials turn somewhat of a blind eye to the problem. A kid was trying to get away from a bully, but the bully kept messing with the kid. The principal blamed the kid getting bullied for his problem. One that felt like a flashback for me was when an assistant principal asked the kid if the bully was doing a specific thing to him and he said no. She then said that the problem was solved. The kid said something that I remember saying to a school authority figure long ago. He said, "But they are still doing other things."

     Another kid talks about how he gets bullied so much that he wants to be the bully. One story involves a kid that stole a gun from her mother because the bullying wouldn't stop. Anther talks about finally snapping and fighting back with his fists. It almost feels like the kids are on their own to defend themselves and that is not the way it should be.

     The parents blame the schools. The schools blame the parents. It would be nice if they would all just stop pointing their fingers at each other and start trying to solve the problem. That being said, I don't have the answers. I wish I did. I got two great kids, Andy and Ryan. I would never want them to ever have to deal with what I had to deal with. I also would not tolerate them doing the bullying. I would have to say that the first line of defense is at home. Parents need to be involved in their kids' lives. The schools should also be a support system and stop saying, "It's not our fault." This is not a perfect world, but if we try our best to raise our kids not to hate, it can only help.

     This movie should be seen by everybody. If people can take their kids to go see an R Rated Passion of the Christ because they believe in the message, they can tolerate a little bit of bad language to let their kids see what affects bullying can have on children.

     I am sorry if this was more of a social commentary and not a movie review, but this movie made me think a lot about my past. I needed to get some things off my chest. Thank you for reading.

Until next time – Geno

     After watching it the second time, it still hit me pretty hard.  Some things just don't go away.  I can't stress enough that people, especially students, teachers and any other high ranking school official, should see this movie.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 27th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Impossible

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     This movie is based on a real family that experienced the 2004 Indian Ocean Tsunami first hand, their separation from each other and their quest to find each other in a country that has just been devastated.  I will just come out and say it.  This movie is incredible.  I will warn you, this movie is not for the faint at heart and you will probably cry at least a little while watching it.  So, make sure to bring the tissues.

     This is not meant to sound like an insult, but I don't know why The Academy only singled out Naomi Watts (Maria) for an award.  I'm not saying she wasn't really good in this, but it is almost a crime not to recognize Ewan McGregor (Henry) or the three child actors who played their sons: Tom Holland (Lucas), Samuel Joslin (Thomas) and Oaklee Pendergast (Simon).  All of them, and I do mean all of them, put on some of the most believable performances in a long time.  You bought that they were a family.  While you don't really get to know them too much before the tsunami hits, you really get to learn about what makes them who they are afterward.

     The movie is very brutal, bloody and honest.  I don't think it would have worked any other way.

     I liked how the movie slowly revealed the situations of each of the family members.  You never knew who was alive or dead until they show up on screen.  It builds up the interest of the audience really well using this method.  I also like that this movie teaches us that even the smallest of victories can mean the world to us at certain moments.  A stranger's cell phone or a found can of soda can mean a lot in a bad situation.

     There is one scene in this movie that I thought kind of hurt the feel of the film.  I know that Hollywood feels that they need to build suspense sometimes by adding unnecessary things, but what was added to this particular scene just didn't fit nor was it needed to make this movie better.  It is one of those scenes where key characters are in the same location, but they just keep missing each other multiple times.  This movie didn't need that moment of suspense because there is enough suspense in this movie already.  It is just felt a little out of place in such a serious and almost too real movie such as this.  I by chance it did happen to the real life family, as a filmmaker I still would not have added it.

     This is definitely a tear jerker movie.  I caught myself a few times with tears in my eyes, whether they are happy ones or sad ones (And I'm not ashamed to admit it).  While it is Rated PG-13, I think parents should watch this before letting their kids do so.  The movie is very brutal and feels very real.  It might scare younger viewers a lot to see things that could have and probably did happen.  I do highly recommend this movie.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


 

February 26th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Dark Skies

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     When I saw the trailer for this movie, I was afraid that it gave away too much.  While they could have kept the secret of what is behind the haunting of the main family, they decide to show the movie goer way too much.  I have to admit, though this movie steals from many a different source, it works for a while.  In fact, I thought that the plot worked through most of the movie.  Then the movie had to think that it was clever and have a really dumb ending.

     The movie revolves around a family of four that is kind of having a hard time with life.  The father is out of work, the mother is struggling to keep the family afloat selling homes in a bad market, one kid is lashing out and lying about where he is and what he is doing while the other kid thinks something is wrong, but is too young to truly understand.  The parents are having arguments about money and their sex life as well.  Things just are not well and as we find out, this is exactly the type of family that the villains of the movie are looking for.

     This movie downright steals ideas from movies like Paranormal Activity and many other haunting and extraterrestrial movies.  I think it actually improved on some of them.  While this is not a found footage movie, they do put cameras in the house to try to figure out what is happening.  What I liked better about this movie vs. Paranormal Activity is that they are dealing with real problems outside of just being in a haunted house.  They only deal with small problems for a short time unlike the people from the other movie.  People begin to act strange, get hurt and end up in the hospital.  While one or two of the characters are a little naive about what is going on part of the time, the story still kind of worked for me.

     I liked how they explained how and when the villains of the movie came to be.  It isn't a new thing for another character.  Edwin Pollard (JK Simmons) has been dealing with the problem for years and shares a pretty interesting take on what he thinks happened.  He tells the family what they need to do to fight the villains.

     I had a big problem with the ending.  Not to give too much away, but we find out that the villains are going to take one of the four family members.  They try to trick you into thinking it is one member, but you already know it is another.  I think most people will see this coming a mile away.  If it would have been somebody else or who the movie tried to make you think was going to be taken, I would have been more surprised.

     A final not to Hollywood movie makers, especially those doing horror/suspense films: It is okay to have a definitive ending to your movie.  We don't have to have a cliffhanger ending EVERY TIME!!!  I will just say that if the makers of this movie would have just went one step further and solved the problem, it could have made this a pretty good movie.  I don't mind the bad guys winning when it is done well, but this movie just felt a little incomplete.  And it is okay to let the good guys win sometimes.  This would and should have been one of those times.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


February 25th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Snitch

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     The trailers for this movie were very misleading.  They seemed to make this look like this would be just another action movie from The Rock.  Yes this movie had some action, but not very much.  It might seem like I am complaining right now, but I am not.  What this movie is instead is probably The Rock's best performance in a movie to date.  What this movie is instead is a story with a lot of heart.  While not perfect, it is still really good.

     This movie is based on a 1999 PBS Frontline investigation.  I tried to find it online to watch, but could not.  I assume that elements from the investigation were added to this movie, but I am not sure.  I do feel that the story they put together has somewhat of a mixed message, but also an entertaining one.  The story revolves around a law that reduces small time criminal's sentences if they give prosecutors others higher up on the food chain or serve a mandatory minimum sentence.

     John Matthews's (The Rock) son Jason (Rafi Gavron) receives a package in the mail filled with drugs from a friend.  It turns out that the friend has set up him up to reduce his own sentence.  Jason could get up to ten years unless he turns in a higher up criminal.  The problem is that he does not know any.  His father decides that he is going to set up a higher up criminal for his son by using his trucking business.  This leads to John having to deal with something far worse than he thought.

     First things first, The Rock gives his best performance ever.  What I liked about him in this movie is the fact that he is not the invincible tough guy.  In fact, he is pretty much just a regular, hard-working dad trying to keep his business afloat.  He does get involved in some action scenes later in the movie, but he does not escape them unscathed, nor does he really know what he is doing being involved in such actions.  There are actually a couple of scenes that he comes off as rather weak, but this plays to his advantage.  You can tell that he has a lot to learn about courage in this movie and it really worked for me.

     I thought that he had a decent supporting cast.  I did think that Benjamin Bratt (El Topo) was a little underused, but he was the top bad guy in a movie about moving up the ladder, so that was forgiven.  Josh Bernthal (Daniel James) stands out as a father trying to make up for his past mistakes and Barry Pepper (Agent Cooper) is a pretty good mentor type of character for John to get advice from.  Also, as a bearded guy, Pepper sports a pretty epic beard in this movie.

 

     I would have liked to have seen more of John's son other than after something bad happened to him in jail.  I would say the same about Daniel's family as well.  This is forgivable, though.

     Seeing The Rock play a different role is than the usual invincible action hero was kind of a treat.  It actually proves that he is a decent actor, not just a tough guy.  Though I will not go back on what I said about The Rock's true home being the wrestling ring, I will say that I would like to see more movies like this from him.  That is, after he plays Roadblock in the new G.I. Joe movie anyway.  Yo Joe!!!

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


 

February 22nd, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

     There are two movies that I will have reviews for next week here on The Reel Opinion Blog.  One is The Rock turning undercover criminal to save his son while the other looks like an extraterrestrial possession movie.

 

 

Snitch – Rated PG-13

     The Rock (John Matthews) plays a father whose son gets into some trouble with the wrong kind of people and ends up behind bars.  To save his son, he becomes an undercover agent for the DEA.  This could lead to three different kinds of stories.  The first being just another action flick that is light on character.  The second is a movie that could potentially have a lot of heart behind it.  The third is a good mixture of both, which is what I am hoping for.

     While I believed that The Rock's true place is in the squared circle, he has turned himself into a decent and bankable movie star.  While not all winners, The Mummy 2 and The Scorpion King being to glaring examples, most of the time he is a likeable character in the movies he is in.  I am also excited to see Benjamin Bratt (Juan Carlos "El Topo" Pintera) in a movie again.  He hasn't been acting a ton since he left Law & Order, which is a shame.

 

 

Dark Skies – Rated PG-13

     From what I can gather about this movie is that the filmmakers have mixed a possession movie with an alien invasion one.  While the later trailers tried to hide the mistake they made by showing too much of the silhouette of whatever the creature is, I feel they have already given too much away.  That is too bad, because it could have been a really decent mixture of ideas.

     I have a feeling that this movie is going to have too much setup and not enough payoff, kind of like the last two Paranormal Activity movies.  I would really like to be wrong and be surprised by this movie.  I kind of dig the sci-fi, possession premise.  I truly believe that the next big trend in movies is going to be the comeback of the sci-fi genre.

     I will also be checking out the limited release movie The Impossible and will have a review for it next week as well.  

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 21st, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

     It is beginning to be a busy year already for me and this little project I call The Reel Opinion.  I just wanted to take a little time and talk about some of the things I have coming up in the next couple of months.

     The first thing is The Red Cross Ball: A Diamond Affair.  This is a big fundraiser for The Red Cross Mid-Illinois Chapter.  The event takes place on Saturday, February 23rd.  While from what I can gather the event is sold out, but the auctions have already begun.  Why do I bring this up?  Because one of the things that can be bid on is a movie and coffee with me on The Red Cross.  If you are interested in this, here is the link to my bidding page.  I thought this would be something fun for a great cause.

     Next up is my first ever Polar Plunge to benefit Special Olympics.  The event takes place on March 2nd at Noon.  Along with Team WAND, I will be jumping in an ice cold Lake Decatur for a great cause.  I have wanted to take part in Special Olympics events for a while now and I finally decided to put up or shut up.  I figured if I can do this event, any other event would be cake.  While you can still donate to my page, I would encourage you to check out Team WAND's page first.  I have already hit and exceeded the minimum $75 goal, but other members of my team have not.  If you are going to donate, please help those that have not hit that $75 mark first.  You can donate by credit card easily at these sites.  Contact me at the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com to find out how to donate by check if you do not wish to use the online service.

     The next order of business is the 2nd Annual Movie Gift Card Giveaway in honor of EbertFest.  To find out when the first giveaway day is, join The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page.  The contest will run for five weeks.  The each of the first four weeks, one lucky winner will receive a $25 Fandango Gift Card.  The fifth week will feature a bigger Grand Prize.  This will be by far the biggest prize I have ever given away since the beginning of The Reel Opinion.  For these five weeks of the contest, the day of the giveaway will change and the only way to find out in advance which day it will be is to join The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page.  Members of the page will have a distinct advantage over non-members.

     Today I begin working on something long term called Project E.  What is this you ask?  Sorry, but I can't give out too many details on this yet.  Keep an eye out, though.

     I am working with my friend Randy who runs Pat's Korner Kitchen in Moweaqua on a future project involving the winning of food from his awesome restaurant.  Stay tuned to The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page for that.

     Lastly, I will be attending St. Louis Comic Con in March.  Unless something changes, I scored a pretty "big" interview at the event.  I won't say who it is yet, but I will say that I hope the interview goes well and I don't make him angry.

     There is a lot more going on in the future.  This is just a little bit of the things I am doing in the near future.  Stay tuned for more in the coming months.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


 

February 20th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Escape From Planet Earth

 

Rated PG

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     What do you get when you have a movie with a lot of usually funny talent that isn't as funny as usual in a movie that has average animation and a somewhat fun storyline?  You get Escape From Planet Earth.

     The movie is centered around two brothers from the planet Baab, Scorch (Brendan Fraser) and Gary (Rob Corddry).  Scorch is the brawn of the duo while Gary is the brains.  Scorch goes on adventures and missions while Gary guides him through Mission Control.  Scorch, who is a little on the immature side, keeps finding ways to get into trouble on missions by not listening to his brother.  This leads to a big argument that forces Scorch to fire his brother or Gary to quit, depending on who you believe.  Scorch gets called to go on a mission to The Dark Planet or as we like to call it, Earth.  When he gets into trouble, it is up to his brother to go and rescue him.

     My first complaint about this movie is that it thinks that it is way funnier than it actually is.  When you have the comedic talent behind your movie and if fails to deliver in the laughs department, you know there is a problem.  Here is a list of the talent in this movie that almost seemed wasted:  Rob Corddry, Jane Lynch (Io), George Lopez (Thurman), Craig Robinson (Doc), Ricky Gervais (Mr. James Bing), Sofia Vergara (Gabby Babblerock), Chris Parnell (Hammer) and William Shatner (General Shanker).  While some of the parts were kind of clever, like Gervais's James Bond acting computer information system, the movie just didn't deliver the funny.  That is not to say that it wasn't entertaining, however.

     Though a lot of the things that happen in this movie are things that have been done many times before, I still found this movie to have some charm in the entertainment department.  The movie was still kind of fun and pretty kid friendly.  I did find some of the in-jokes to be kind of interesting and fun.  I know the jokes about how we as humans are not smart enough to create some things, so aliens had to have done it has been done before, but I liked one of the jokes in particular.  It was interesting because I could not tell if they were taking a shot at Disney/Pixar, not the studio behind this film, or just paying homage to them by putting what they did in this movie.  Either way I liked it.  There were a few other examples of this as well.

     I found the story to be kind of fun.  You get a family dynamic, an odd "love" story and some decent action and alien designs.  I did find some of the animation flaws to be distracting, like the lack of shadows under characters many times throughout the movie.  It doesn't hurt the movie too much, but as a graphic designer, you notice things like this.

     I think the lack of good humor takes what could have been a really good animated movie and makes it just an average one.  While not overly funny, it is still pretty entertaining and a pretty safe movie for the little ones.  You should probably just wait for DVD on this one.  

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

February 19th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Beautiful Creatures

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Wow.  That is all I need to say about this…thing.  The first question I will answer is, "Is this movie trying to be the next Twilight?"  Yes it is.  And yes, I know I am not the target demographic for this type of story, but I think even fans of Twilight will have problems with this one.

     The story goes like this.  Ethan (Alden Ehrenreich) is the small town boy that just wants to get as far away as possible when he gets out of high school.  He lives in the type of town that has banned tons of books because they are "evil".  Funny thing is that they don't worry about the local movie theater showing bad films.  Anyway, he likes to read these books, from what I gather, to feel different from the rest of his town.  The town is full, and I mean full, of religious zealots that act like their way is the only way.  He has an overly religious girlfriend that we can tell is only there to offset our future heroine.  And lastly, he has dreams every night about a girl whose face he can't see.  Hint, hint.

     We then meet Lena (Alice Englert) who we find out is a witch…I mean caster.  In this movie, the word witch is almost treated like calling a little person the "M" word.  Her Uncle Macon (Jeremy Irons) is said to be an evil recluse and she is made fun of because of this.  I haven't heard this many "Mama Lessons" since Forest Gump or The Waterboy.  The girls in her class, including Ethan's girlfriend rip on Lena until she gets mad and causes the room's windows to break.  This is where Ethan and Lena meet and out real story begins.

     The first thing that really bothered me about this movie is the awful southern accents.  I don't know which ones are real and which ones are not, but they all sound terrible.  Ethan sounds like James Van Der Beek from Varsity Blues.  Do you remember THAT authentic accent?  Try listening to that voice tell awful jokes and try to be serious for two hours.  The worst has to be Emma Thompson (Sarafine).  She must have gone to the Overacting Academy for this role.  She is an early candidate for the Worst Actress Opie Award for 2013.

     The CG in this movie is horrible.  Every time it is used, it looks completely fake.  When you rely on this to show your spellcasting, you know you are in trouble.

     I wonder how much Google paid to be in this movie…

     The only real credit I can give to this movie is that the inside of Lena's house was a pretty cool set design.  The outside looks pretty run down, but the inside looks pretty neat.

     I was surprised to find out that this movie was only two hours long.  It felt much, much longer than that.

     The story is boring, the acting is horrible and the movie is trying way too hard to take over for Twilight.  This movie screams franchise, but if they do not make another one, they at least ended the movie in a way that could be called an end to the story.  I have not read the books for this series and this movie has done nothing to peak my interest to do so.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

February 18th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Safe Haven

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Although they can be okay or even really good, I usually am not looking forward to Nicholas Sparks based movies.  I love The Notebook and I think that Dear John and anything before The Notebook is alright, but his movies, especially the last few have just had the "flavor of the time" actor or actress in it. 

     This movie is about Katie (Julianne Hough) who is running away from an accident.  The movie's first plus is that they don't tell you what it is.  This gets kind of ruined because the movie does not have enough guts to make this secret something other than you think it is going to be.  This was only a minor flaw, however.  She is running from the cops, but gets away on a bus.  She ends up in South Port, North Carolina and tries to start a new life.  Then she meets single father Alex (Josh Duhamel) and the usual Nicholas Sparks stuff begins to happen.

     I have to give the movie a little credit because it does at some real weight to it.  Having Alex be a single father of two adds some good character development to him.  One kid likes Katie while the other one is a little harsh towards his dad about her.  He is like this because unlike his sister, he remembers his mother and thinks his father is trying to replace her.

     The other element that really works for the most part about this movie is the cop chasing Katie, Detective Tierney, played by David Lyons (the villain in NBC's Revolution).  He is a pretty creepy guy and I don't want to give away too much about him for anybody wanting to see this movie.  I will say that he will do anything to find Katie.

     I do think that the romance between Katie and Alex is a little rushed and somewhat unbelievable, but aren't most movie romances?  What bothered me was two things.  The first was that for a woman that is so untrustworthy of men, Katie just kind of does a one-eighty and gets too close to Alex too fast.  Alex, on the other hand, just seems to somewhat ignore his son's concerns about his dad and this new woman.  The son does kind of come off as unfair to his father, so I guess that kind of balances out that aspect.

     I will say that I am tired of movies having one character promise another something and then not be around to fulfill that promise.

     This movie is pretty much your typical Nicholas Sparks movie, but this one I will add to the "kind of enjoyed it" list.  While I thought the acting from the main couple left a little to be desired, I felt the surrounding stories of the cop hunting Katie and the father/children plot really made this type of movie a little more interesting than usual.

     There is one last thing I have to mention.  This movie downright STEALS a plot device from another movie, but I can't mention which one.  You will know what movie it is if you see this film.  Normally, I would call "BS" here, but I felt that using this plot device fit this particular movie well.  Guys, this is a good one to take the ladies to.  I know you won't love it as much as you loved The Notebook, but this one isn't that bad.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 

 

 


February 15th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews A Good Day To Die Hard

 

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I love the original Die Hard.  There is just something about the attitude of the characters and plot that just sticks with you.  I have enjoyed the sequels, but let's be honest.  No Die Hard sequel will ever be as great as the original.  Die Hard with a Vengeance probably came the closest in my opinion.

     I am wondering where they will go from here.  Let's follow the list of what John McClane has saved in the Die Hard movies, shall we?  In Die Hard he saved people in a skyscraper.  In Die Hard 2 it was an airport.  In Die Hard with a Vengeance he saved all of New York City.  Live Free or Die Hard would have McClane saving the entire country.  With this new movie, in a way he saves the entire world.  I mean, where do we go from here, space?  I'll get back to this in a minute.

     The plot revolves around John McClane's son, Jack (Jai Courtney), being arrested in Moscow for murder.  John decides that he is going to Moscow to get his son.  I don't really know what his plan was going to be because the movie never really explains it.  When he gets there, we instantly get a "fish out of water" feel to the movie.  Bruce Willis handles the comedy of this theme pretty well.  We find out that his son is really a CIA spy and by John being there, Jack's plans get messed up.  We then go on a familiar journey of things not going right for John McClane and get to see him solve the problems anyway.

     The easiest way to put this is that if you enjoyed the last movie, you will probably like this one.  Like the theme of John and his daughter Lucy (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) in the last movie, this movie has John dealing with his falling out with his son Jack.  I enjoyed the father/son team up that we get with this movie.  John and Jack end up making a decent pair of wise cracking, a** kicking action heroes by the end of the movie, all while dealing with their family issues.

     One thing I didn't like about this movie was the main two villains…until a twist later in the movie.

     Another small gripe about this movie is that John is almost too invincible in this movie.  He survives not one, but two horrible car crashes within ten minutes of each other.  This bothers me a little because I think people identified with John in the first movie more because he was not totally invincible.  He was practically hamburger by the end of the first movie.  He could barely stand up and had to dig down deep to defeat the villains.  In this movie, you are never really wondering if he is going to make it or not.

     Yes, he does say "the line" and it was a really fun way that they used it.

     Look, for the people that are disappointed in these newer Die Hard movies, I understand.  That being said, do you really think that the first one will ever be topped?  While I do think they need to stop trying to make the movies bigger and bigger, I am still just happy that a great character like John McClane is still very entertaining.  Bruce Willis still plays this character the way he should.  He is a brave, smart mouthed cop that always seems to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.  As long as they make these movies, I am going to watch them.  I love this character even if the movie is not the greatest thing ever.

     If I could give the filmmakers any advice, I would tell them to put McClane in a smaller situation like in the first movie.  Have him be a little less invincible so that he will be easier to identify with.  He doesn't need to save the world every time.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


 

February 14th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

     There are many movies out there that have not had sequels that should have.  Now I know that there are many circumstances that can prevent a sequel from happening: death of actors, not enough made at the box office, etc.  What I want to talk about for the coming weeks is what sequels I would like to see if there were no circumstances keeping them from happening.  I will also talk about how to get around some of the things like the death of actors that might keep a sequel from getting made.

 

The Losers (2010)

 

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Back in 2010, things were not going really good in my life.  I don't want to get to personal right now, but at times it felt like I had my two boys and that was it.  I had to find joy wherever I could and a late night movie by myself became one of those suppliers of joy…if not for a couple of hours.  One of the movies that made me feel a little better was The Losers.  It was the most fun I had at a movie in a long time at that point.  It was funny, action packed and introduced me to an actress that I kind of have a thing for to this day: Zoe Saldana (Aisha)

 

To paraphrase Frankie Figs (Michael Clarke Duncan) from The Whole Nine Yards: "You know, I can't think of nothing finer that a fine woman holding a gun."

 

     With great performances by the entire cast and a great blend of action, sex and humor, this movie became an instant favorite of mine.  Of course, I have always wanted a sequel to this movie, but alas, I fear it will never happen.  Oh well, I can dream can't I?

The Losers 2: World War Max

     At the end of the first movie, the main villain Max (Jason Patric) escaped from Clay (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) and the rest of The Losers.

 

Max: "That was my ride."  Clay: "Bummer."

 

     There is nothing worse than an unresolved story.  I could see Max, angry that The Losers ruined his plans in the first movie, use all of his resources to get his revenge.  Max had unparalleled power at his fingertips and he was never afraid to use it.  The Losers still want their payback against their former handler as well.  This would cause a huge and ridiculous amount of carnage that could take place around the world.

     I would like to see more of the uneasy love/hate relationship between Clay and Aisha.  They were pretty hot for each other until they discovered that Clay had killed Aisha's father to save a child hostage.  I would like to think that they would end up together.  I felt they made a great onscreen couple in an uneasy and strange sort of way.

 

Clay: "And why should I trust you?"  Aisha : "Because if I were lying, I wouldn't have used the words ‘suicide mission'."

 

     More comedy action scenes from Jensen (Chris Evans) and Pooch (Columbus Short) would always be welcome.  They were both hilarious in the first movie.  I actually like seeing Chris Evans play Jensen better than Captain America or Johnny Storm.

 

Jensen: "Legless Pooch and I are on it."  Pooch: "Call me Legless Pooch again and you're gonna be Headless Jensen."

 

Also, Cougar (Oscar Jaenada) was just a really silent, but cool character.

 

Cougar: "NEVER touch the hat."

 

This is a movie I feel deserves to have a conclusion, but it will probably never be…

     Got any ideas on what you think would have happened with a sequel to this movie?  Drop me a line on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page and let me know what you think.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


February 13th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Advanced Review Of A Glimpse Inside The Mind Of Charles Swan III

 

Rated R

Major Spoilers Ahead!!! (I am going to ruin this movie for you)

     Where do I even begin?  This is one of those movies that you wonder, "What were they thinking when they made this?"  I don't know for sure, but I can imagine that the filing of this movie coincided with the whole "Charlie Sheen has gone crazy" thing.  I think this movie is supposed to be funny, but it is not.

     It is a slow, unfunny and kind of boring movie about 1970's graphic designer Charles Swan III or by no surprise goes by Charlie (Charlie Sheen).  Does he have it in his contract that his characters are named Charlie?  It does seem to happen to him quite often.  He is in pretty bad shape because his girlfriend has just broken up with him.  This is the major plot point of the movie.  Charlie pines over her one minute and hates her guts the next.  Why did she break up with him, you ask?  She found tons of naked photos in their "photo drawer" in their house.

     Here is where the major problem begins.  Charlie is not, nor is he hardly ever, a likeable character.  This is a problem because the movie wants you to like him.  It tries hard to make you like him, but you just can't.  You take her side from the start, yet we have to follow him on his journey, not hers.

     Charlie is already described as a day dreamer from the beginning of the movie.  We get to see how his imagination runs wild throughout the movie.  The movie cuts away tons of times in what I can only describe as the Family Guy method.  We see strange scenarios involving Charlie and other people in his life.  Really none of them are very interesting, but they all lead up to the tie up of the plot at the end of the movie.

     We do get to see some of Charlie's family life.  He has a sister played by Patricia Arquette (Izzy Swan), who is an author.  In one of the "too little, too late" scenes to make Charlie likeable, he stands up for his sister while in a drunken state by vandalizing her book publisher's office after they don't publish her latest book.

     The ending of the movie is kind of strange.  Things just kind of solve themselves for our "hero" as his wild imagination saves his job, his business and helps a lot of people just out of nowhere.  The characters then break character and introduce themselves and say who they play, then the movie ends…weird.

     While I give the film credit for looking good, that is about all of the credit I can give.  Sheen is almost playing a 70's version of his Two and a Half Men character…Charlie.  Some great and/or decent actors are wasted on this movie: Jason Schwartzman, Bill Murray, Patricia Ar, , quette and Mary Elizabeth Winstead to name a few.  The plot and characters try really hard to be interesting, but are not.  I would give this one a pass.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 12th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Side Effects

 

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Going into this movie, I didn't know what to expect.  I knew that a drug was going to cause someone to do something horrible, but I had no idea what I was in for.  I have read a lot of critics' reviews after I watched the movie and some of them are saying the same thing.  They are saying that they didn't like this movie because it started out as one thing and changed into something totally different.  I think that the thing those critics had a problem with is why I like the movie.

     The movie starts out with a wife, played by Rooney Mara (Emily Taylor), waiting for her husband , played by Channing Tatum (Martin Taylor), to get out of prison.  We find out that he was put there for insider trading.  We also find out that Emily is dealing with depression.  After her husband gets out, we see she is struggling with all of the changes of him being home.  They have trouble talking and their sex life suffers as well.

     Emily attempts to kill herself, but survives.  An extremely overworked doctor at the hospital, played by Jude Law (Dr. Jonathan Banks), comes to see Emily and becomes her psychiatrist.  He prescribes to her an experimental drug, but something goes horribly wrong.  To say anymore would be a crime.

     This movie starts out as a look at drug companies and the doctors that they "hire" to do drug studies.  It also talks how people that have trouble with depression and anxiety deal with their problems.  We get to take a look at the different types of drugs and methods that doctors use to treat these individuals.  We also get to see, in dramatic fashion, what happens and who is to blame if these people did something wrong because of their illness.

     After a while, the movie takes a sharp 90 degree turn and goes in a different direction.  I won't make any comments about what that shift is, but it is a completely different plot direction than we are introduced to at the first of the movie.  Though I won't give anything away, I will say this change is what made me like this movie as much as I did.  Though I found the pharmaceutical story to be interesting, this movie needed a good plot twist to keep it interesting.  This movie provides a few good ones after a while.

     I will never be able to praise Rooney Mara enough for her performances.  As is the majority of the time, she is really good in this movie.  She plays complex characters with the best of them.  The character she plays in this movie has a lot of mental states and emotions to deal with and she nails them all.

If you like a movie with a good, extreme twist, this is one you will want to see.  

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 11th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Identity Thief

 

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I had a lot of hope for this movie.  I think both Melissa McCarty (Diana) and Jason Bateman (Sandy Patterson) are both pretty talented and funny.  The biggest draw for me to this movie was the director, Seth Gordon.  He directed both the hilarious Horrible Bosses and one of my favorite documentaries, The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters.  After seeing this movie, I was a little underwhelmed.  I thought it was alright, but a lot of the humor was a miss for me.  I wondered what happened, so it was time to do a little research.

     The screenplay writer for this movie is Craig Mazin.  Some of his writing credits include Disney's Rocketman, Senseless, Scary Movie 3 AND 4 and Superhero Movie.  Eureka…

     This movie follows mild mannered businessman Sandy Patterson (Jason Bateman) after he discovers that someone in Florida has stolen his identity.  He finds identity thief Diana (Melissa McCarthy) living it up on his dime down south.  However, it turns out she is in more trouble than originally thought.

     One of the biggest problems I had with the movie is that a lot of the good jokes were wasted on the trailer.  Of course, this is nothing new.  The rest of the movie's humor relies on its vulgarity.  Some of it is funny and some of it isn't.  I did not see Bridesmaids, but if McCarthy acted like this and this is why people are praising her performance in that movie, I am not going to like Bridesmaids.

     There is a decent back and forth between mob hitters played by Genesis Rodriguez (Marisol) and rapper T.I. (Julian) and a bounty hunter played by Robert Patrick (Skiptracer) that is pretty funny.  When it just started to get good, it ended.

     There is some decent, heartwarming moments in the movie, but you see them coming from the first what they are going to be.  These scenes do work pretty well because McCarthy's character is a likeable, but flawed person that you can root for.

     I would have to call this an average comedy.  It did have some laughs, but unless you didn't see any trailers you have seen most of the funniest parts.  This movie did take the number one spot on the Box Office, probably due to people's love for Melissa McCarthy.  I really don't see it repeating.  If you have not gone to see this movie already, just wait for the DVD.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yaho, o.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 8th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

     There are three movies that I will have reviews for next week here on The Reel Opinion Blog.  Two of them are in wide release and one is an advanced review.  Jason Bateman chases down thief Melissa McCarthy, Rooney Mara takes a drug for anxiety that has unusual side effects and Charlie Sheen goes nuts (Big stretch, I know).

Identity Thief – Rated R

     This movie follows mild mannered businessman Sandy Patterson (Jason Bateman) after he discovers that someone in Florida has stolen his identity.  He finds identity thief Diana (Melissa McCarthy) living it up on his dime down south.  However, it turns out she is in more trouble than originally thought.

     This movie is directed by Seth Gordon, who directed two movies that I really like: Horrible Bosses and the video game documentary King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters.  The trailer to this movie looks pretty funny, but one of my big fears is that it will be one of those movies that use the best jokes in the trailer.  Hopefully I will be wrong.  I think both Bateman and McCarthy are very funny and talented, so I hope that translates to this movie.

Side Effects – Rated R

     First off, does Steven Soderbergh ever take a break?  He just seems to always be busy.  This movie is about a couple played by last year's Opie Award winner for best actress Rooney Mara (Emily Taylor) and Channing Tatum (Martin Taylor).  Emily deals with anxiety and sees a psychiatrist about treatment.  Her doctor, Dr. Jonathan Banks (Jude Law) prescribes to her a new drug to help her with her troubles.  It helps her, but is has some unusual side effects.

     That is about all you get from the trailer.  I really have very little to go on to preview this movie.  I can see this being a fill in the blank type of movie when it comes to the plot.  Things will happen and we the audience gets to see them unfold as the movie goes on.

     I am always excited to see what roles that Rooney Mara will play next.  I think she is one of the best actresses of this generation.  Jude Law is usually always reliable to put on a good performance as well.

A Glimpse Inside The Mind Of Charles Swan – Rated R

     This movie is about 1970's graphic designer Charles Swan III (Charlie Sheen).  After his girlfriend dumps him, his life goes into chaos.  He begins to go a little crazy and has night, , mares as he tries to put his life back together.  To be honest, I am not real excited about this one.  Though the movie sports a decent cast surrounding Sheen: Jason Schwartzman, Bill Murray, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, etc., I thought the trailer looked like the movie was going to try too hard to be funny.  I hope I am wrong.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


 

February 7th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

     There are many movies out there that have not had sequels that should have.  Now I know that there are many circumstances that can prevent a sequel from happening: death of actors, not enough made at the box office, etc.  What I want to talk about for the coming weeks is what sequels I would like to see if there were no circumstances keeping them from happening.  I will also talk about how to get around some of the things like the death of actors that might keep a sequel from getting made.

Willow

 

     Willow in my opinion is one of the most underrated fantasy films of all time.  It gets made fun of a lot for being a bit of a box office flop, even though it turned a profit.  It did steal some ideas from stories like The Lord of the Rings, but it had some great ideas of its own as well.  The movie is about to be re-released on Blu-Ray for its 25th anniversary sometime in March.  To this day I still ask, "Why was there no sequel?"  In my opinion, I think it could and should be made.  Maybe I wouldn't want it written by George Lucas, but having Ron Howard in the director's chair again wouldn't be a bad idea.

Willow 2: The Legend of Elora Danan

     One of the only problems this sequel would have is that some of the cast members have passed away.  Some of those characters died in the first movie, but three key actors have passed on: Patricia Hayes (Fin Raziel), Billy Barty (High Alwin) and Mark Northover (Burglekutt).  My version of the sequel would take place twenty-five years after to the original.  These characters could have passed on in that time.  I also imagined Willow Ufgood (Warwick Davis) being the High Alwin, or head wizard, in this movie anyway.

     I would revolve the story around Elora Danan, the baby from the first movie.  There is actually a book trilogy, Chronicles of the Shadow War that follow a teenage Elora Danan.  I would want to show her as a young adult and show that she will become what she was prophesized to be.  She was supposed to bring the destruction of Queen Bavmorda (Jean Marsh).  According to the first movie, she did…sort of.  I always thought it would be cool to bring her character back to life and have Elora Danan rise up to fight her and truly fulfill the prophecy.

     Characters like Madmartigan (Val Kilmer) and Sorcha (Joanne Whalley) to return to their roles to quest alongside Elora Danan.  Though the actor behind General Kael (Pat Roach) has passed, I would like to see the character brought back to life as an undead creature that seeks revenge on Madmartigan.  You could just keep the character behind his mask , , at all times.

     I think this movie could still be a lot of fun, but it will probably never happen.  Oh well, it is only EVERYONE'S loss.

     Got any ideas on what you think would have happened with a sequel to this movie?  Drop me a line on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page and let me know what you think.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


February 6th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Stand Up Guys

 

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Here you have a movie that has three actors who I admire a ton: Al Pacino, Christopher Walken and Alan Arkin.  I was hoping that Pacino, who is the lead of this movie, wouldn't overact like he has been for the last few years.  I wasn't too worried about Walken, who is usually very entertaining, and Arkin, just coming off his awesome performance in Argo, but Pacino I was.  I wanted to see an Al Pacino performance where he did it like he used to.  I have to say that I got everything that I wanted to out of this movie and more.

     Val (Al Pacino) is a criminal who has just been released from prison after a near thirty year stretch.  When he gets out, he is ready to live and party it up because he has been gone a while: drugs, booze, prostitutes, a new suit, steak and lobster, etc.  He is living like there is no tomorrow, which is ironic because his best friend Doc (Christopher Walken) has to kill Val before 10:00am the next day, or be killed himself.

     This is one of Al Pacino's best performances in a long time.  He never goes into crazy mode like he has been doing the last few years.  He plays a calm, old school gangster that knows he is living his last hours on this Earth and wants to live it up.  You like him and really care about what happens and what is going to happen to him.  Christopher Walken gives a great performance as well.  He is conflicted and does everything he can to stall in killing his friend.  He tries to take care of Val and give him the best time he can because he loves his friend and hates that he is being forced to kill him.  The chemistry between Pacino and Walken almost has a Grumpy Old Men feel to it, in a weird way.

     As with his part in Argo, my only, extremely small gripe about this movie is that there wasn't enough of Alan Arkin (Hirsch).  He plays the getaway driver of the crew.  Though there was not enough of him for my liking, every scene he was in was golden.  Isn't that right, Madame Wendy (Lucy Punch)?  I am not going to explain that to anyone.  You just have to see it for yourself.

 

     Val really likes steak.  I mean, he eats like three or four of them, rare and bloody, in the course of one day.  Like I said, live like there is no tomorrow.

     You do get to see these guys in action with a little bit of old school gangster vs. new school gangster scenes.  There is a little bit of violence, but nothing really bad.  The movie focuses more on the main characters' friendships than it does there criminal profession.  Don't, worry; there is enough of the gangster stuff as well to keep the movie interesting.  It is a great mix.

 &nbs, p;   Along with Zero Dark Thirty, this is the best movie I have seen all year.  It is fun, funny and touching all at the same time.  It shows the bond between three friends that want each other to have the things they want before their time is up.  I can't express how much I loved this movie.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 5th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Bullet to the Head

 

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Action Star Number Two of the Big Action Three, Sylvester Stallone, had a solo movie project released this weekend and like Action Star Number One, Arnold Schwarzenegger, his movie didn't do very well at the box office either.  At the end of this review, I will say why I think this is, but first my review of Bullet to the Head.

     The plot revolves around professional hitman Jimmy Bonomo (Sylvester Stallone) and his partner completing a job.  Jimmy kills the target, but leaves a woman that is in the other room alive for an unknown reason.  While having a drink at a bar afterward, Jimmy's partner Louis (Jon Seda) is killed while by a patron at the bar while Jimmy is in the restroom.  This patron ends up being one of the main villains, Keegan (Jason Mamoa).  After a failed attack on Jimmy, Keegan escapes and this leads to the main story of some of the most overused plot devices in movies.  I won't spoil them here just in case you want to see this.

     Like Jennifer Lopez's role in Parker, Sarah Shahi's (Lisa Bonomo) part in this movie is just to be an overused plot device to be leverage on another character.  She really is only there when the plot demands it.  For someone that is supposed to be special to one of the main characters, this just did not work.

     The action, when it happens, wasn't anything special.  Even the scene with Jason Mamoa and Sylvester Stallone fighting with axes is short and kind of boring.  Some of the violence is kind of funny in a strange kind of way.  Stallone's character inflicts violence as easy as someone would tie their shoes and thinks nothing of it.

     Jason Momoa's character is pretty brutal and fun, but he is not really given enough to do to keep your interest in the movie.

     Unlike The Last Stand, which I enjoyed for its good, dumb fun, I really could not get into this movie.  I thought the plot was weak and nothing new.  I thought the script was not funny, even though it tried its hardest to be.  I thought the action scenes, thought bloody and brutal, were not that interesting as well.  This one is a big pass for me.

     I think I have figured out what is happening here when it comes to these aging action stars and their movies not doing well.  With somewhat of an exception of Bruce Willis, I think people just want to see these actors involved in the stories they made famous and/or involved in movies like The Expendables, where you get more action star bang for your buck.  When Arnie returns to Conan and The Terminator and Stallone goes back to Rambo or heaven forbid Rocky, I think people will want to see those movies.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also no, w, have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 4th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Warm Bodies

 

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     The first time I saw the trailer to this movie, all that I could think of is that this was trying to capitalize on the whole Twilight thing.  I thought that they just said something like, "Well, we ran out of vampire love stories, let's try it with zombies."  I began to look into the story of this movie a little bit and discovered that it is not from a series of books, but just one (Not counting the prequel called The New Hunger).  I guess the author is supposed to be working on a sequel to the book.

     I have to say that I kind of liked this movie in a fun kind of way.  While the movie was not as funny as I had hoped, it was still really entertaining and fun.  It kind of took some aspects from different zombie movie and made one cohesive story.  To explain, there are two kinds of zombies, the slow Corpses and the fast Bonies.  Bonies are just Corpses that have just given up and tear themselves apart.  In theory, this would mean that some if not all of the Corpses still had independent thought, not just the main character R (Nicholas Houlton).

     The inner monologue of R is one of the best parts of the story.  He is pretty much the narrator of the story, but he doesn't remember how anything really happened.  It does not explain how long he has been a zombie or anything, but he fills the viewer in on what he knows.  Anytime he is acting strange around main love interest Julie (Teresa Palmer), he has to tell himself to "Do not be creepy, do not be creepy, do not be creepy."  It is kind of funny.

     When it comes to the "consumption" of humans by Corpses, here is how it works.  If the Corpse leaves the brain alone, the victim will become another corpse.  If the Corpse eats the brain, however, it does something strange to the zombie.  I will not give it away, but it is almost like a drug to them.

     When he was finally able to speak, Rob Corddry (M) was pretty funny.  Not a big surprise there.

     Though I am sure I am not the intended demographic for this movie, I still kind of enjoyed it.  I am not sure how big zombie fans will feel about this movie, but if you enjoyed Shaun of the Dead or Zombieland, you might get a kick out of this movie.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link, and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


 

February 1st, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

     There are three movies coming out this weekend that I will have reviews for next week here on The Reel Opinion Blog.  Two of them are in wide release and one is in limited release.  Sly Stallone is in an action film that isn't The Expendables, A zombie falls in love and three old time criminals go back on the job.

Bullet to the Head - Rated R

     Sylvester Stallone plays a hitman that teams up with a police detective to take down a common enemy.  The movie looks like it might be like Arnold Schwarzenegger's return to the solo action scene.  I think the movie could be kind of fun if it doesn't take itself too seriously.  Stallone has proved with The Expendables that he can still handle action scenes pretty well.  The story of this movie seems a little generic, but I am looking forward to the ax fight between Stallone and Jason Mamoa from the trailers.

Warm Bodies – Rated PG-13

     I am not a huge fan of the zombie genre, but I think this movie looks kind of funny.  The idea of a zombie using love to heal himself seems like a nice twist on the romantic comedy.  Nicholas Hoult, who played Beast in X-Men: First Class, plays the romantic lead zombie who's body begins to heal itself after he meets a girl.  The healing becomes contagious as other zombies want what the new couple has.  One thing that we learn from the trailer is that in this world, there are two kinds of zombies: regular zombies and skeleton looking ones that feed on zombies.  I guess you have to have a definite villain so that the regular zombies can become good.  I am looking forward to this one.

Stand Up Guys – Rated R

     This movie will answer a very odd question: What would happen if Al Pacino, Alan Arkin and Christopher Walken in a room together and let them cause mischief.  I have never really asked myself this question, but I am intrigued by it.  I am hoping that Al Pacino will get out of this mode he has been in where he is almost a caricature of himself.  I do like the possibility of these guys being on their "A" game and making a really entertaining movie.  I'm looking forward to it.  Springfield is the closest I could find this movie, though, so if you want to see it you may have to travel.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms