The Reel Opinion with Geno Reynolds: May 2013 Archives - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion with Geno Reynolds: May 2013 Archives

Posted:

May 31st, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Now You See Me

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     After seeing the previews for this movie, I wasn't real sure what route the movie was going to take.  Was it going to be like The Prestige, where magic may or may not be real?  Was it going to be strange and high tech like Inception, which for some reason is what the trailers felt like to me?  The film that this movie reminded me of was something completely different.  No, I am not going to say which movie it is.  That would ruin it big time for you.  Though I didn't think that this movie was anything spectacular, it was still a really good movie.

     Four has been to could be to never were magicians are each given a tarot card after one of their performances.  We see that each of them is being watched by a mysterious figure in a hoodie.  The four all end up in an abandoned apartment in which the address is inscribed on the card.  We find out that some of them have a history together and some of it isn't real pleasant.  In the apartment, the four are given blueprints to what we can assume is a magic trick.  One year later, the four magicians are putting on a huge show for a packed house in Las Vegas.  The magic trick that they pull off is they are able to rob a bank…in Paris, France.  This leads to a multi-group investigation (FBI, Interpol, and Independent) that makes you wonder, "How did they do that?"

     If I can give this movie any compliment, it is that it is entertaining from start to finish.  This is the type of movie you think you might have figured out, and you may in the end like I did, but it will keep you unsure of your guesses.  The events of the movie are set up as a kind of "Cat and Mouse" chase.  The main three elements of the movie, FBI/Interpol, Magic Investigator Thaddeus Bradley (Morgan Freeman) and the Four Horsemen (Jesse Eisenberg, Woody Harrelson, Isla Fisher and Dave Franco) all are vying to be the group that is one step ahead of the other.  This keeps the chase interesting and fun.

     Most of the actors, if not all of them, really didn't step out of their comfort zone for their roles in this film.  Eisenberg played his usual smarta**, overconfident role.  Harrelson played the goofy, not so serious role.  Morgan Freeman played a TV host that told everybody the secrets behind magic.  His role reminded me of about half the roles he played.  He also narrated part of the movie, which reminded me of all his commercial work.  That being said, each of these actors is pretty good at what they do, so it was entertaining to see them use their skills together.

     If Dave Franco did his own stunts in this movie, he has a future in action films.

     I liked the fact that they didn't explain everything in the end.  Like a good magic trick, sometimes it is best not to know how it was done.

     Magic tricks were used for some good humor in the movie.  Some of the funniest moments of the film usually involved one of the main four magicians getting the one up on an unsuspecting "victim".

     I liked the fact that the movie kept me guessing and was able to keep my interest all the way through.  The characters are fun, mostly likeable and funny, the plot is decent and the twists uncertain.  Though I won't say rush to the theater to see this one, I will say you probably won't be too disappointed if you do.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


May 30th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Attends The 1st Annual Pens To Lens Event


     One of the many things I wanted to do when I started The Reel Opinion is to cover local film events.  I have not had a chance to really do that yet, but an invite came along that I was able to fit it into my schedule.  A friend on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page, Eric Watkins, gave me the heads up on the Pens to Lens Event.  He is a local composer who scored one of the short films that was selected to show that night (Fluffystein).  I have to give a big "thank you" to him because the event was very creative and a lot of fun.

     Reanimated stuffed bunnies, a germaphobic Satan, a diabetic superhero.  What do these things have in common?  They all come from the minds of some pretty creative school students.  And I'm not talking college students.  I am talking about Kindergarten through 12th grade students.  The Pens to Lens project took nine, five page screenplays and turned them into a film reality.  These screenplays were taken from the page to the screen by local film groups.

     That I found cool about these short films is that a lot of them felt like dreams.  You know how creative and strange a dream can get.  That was how watching some of these movies were like to me.  When I say strange, I mean in the good way.  The ideas were fun, funny and entertaining, but you could still tell it was a kid that came up with the ideas.  That is what was so cool about it.  I keep trying to imagine if they had something like this when I was younger.

     Some of my favorites that they showed were Fluffystein, The Devil Uses Purell and Tunnel To Greenland.  Fluffystein kind of reminded me of Pinky and The Brain or Dextor's Laboratory in a way.  It involved a little girl's "evil" younger brother taking her stuffed bunny and turning him into an instrument of world domination.  Funny stuff.  The Devil Uses Purell is about a girl selling her soul for a hamburger, but Satan doesn't want to touch it because he doesn't know where it's been.  Tunnel To Greenland is about a young boy in California wanting to dig a hole to Greenland so his "girlfriend" can see snow.  It was kind of sweet.

     Another movie was pretty much a live action Minecraft.  There was one about two girls trying to catch an eel so they could sell it to buy a house for a dollar.  There was another about strange dinner parties.  All of them were creative in their own way.

     These movies not only were made, but they also got movie posters made for them as well.  A lot of hard work and creativity went into this event and it showed.  I know if I were a kid and something like this happened to me, I would be pretty amazed and excited.  The way the kids reacted to the movies was awesome.  I imagine it was like their dreams and imaginations coming true, which is a very cool thing.

     If you want more information about this event, click on the link here.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


May 29th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Iceman


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Michael Shannon is an actor that I don't feel has gotten his due.  He is great in everything, even when the movie isn't so great.  I am thankful that he should finally get the credit he deserves when Man of Steel comes out, but I have to say I think it is going to be tough for him to top his role as real life mafia hitman Richard Kuklinski.

     Richard Kuklinski (Michael Shannon) is a simple guy that deep down has many problems.  He is extremely cool under pressure, but will take things too far when it comes to violence.  When we meet him, he is on him and his future wife's first date.  Things go well, but he has to lie about his job.  He says that he dubs voices onto Disney animations, but he really dubs porno movies.  The shop where he works is run by mobster Roy Demeo (Ray Liotta) as one of his "legit" businesses.  When a dub order is short and late, Demeo goes to investigate the reason.  The order was pushed up and Kuklinski has worked all night on them to get them finished but comes up short and he is blamed.  When he does not back down from Demeo, the mobster sees something in Kuklinski and has him do something crazy to see if he can be loyal.  Kuklinski does it with no problem and ends up becoming Demeo's top hitter.  This leads to years of deception and lies from Kuklinski.  His wife and family have no idea who lives in the same house as they do.

     The movie is really good, but if you are going to watch it for anything watch it for Shannon's performance.  He is brilliant in this role.  The range of emotions he has to portray with this role is staggering, but he seems to pull them off with ease.  Whether it be angry or sad, happy or crazy, he has it all covered.  One of the best scenes, among tons, was pulled directly from Kuklinski's real story.  He goes to kill someone and they begin to beg and pray for their life.  How Kuklinski reacts and how Shannon pulls off the scene reminds me a lot of Samuel L. Jackson's diner scene in Pulp Fiction, which is one of my favorite movie scenes of all time.  There is very few times where Kuklinski let someone get through his armor and Shannon makes you believe it every step of the way.

     The supporting cast is really good.  Though Ray Liotta, Robert Davi (Leonard Marks) and John Ventimiglia (Mickey Scicoli) play gangster roles that they are of course familiar with, they are still excellent at their jobs.  The actors, other than Shannon, that you will remember the most are Chris Evans (Mr. Freezy) and David Schwimmer (Josh Rosenthal).  Evans plays an even colder blooded contract killer than Shannon.  His character will do jobs that Shannon's won't, like kill women and children.  Plus he drive an ice cream truck for his day job.  That in itself is a little creepy.  Schwimmer on the other hand plays the "adopted" son of Roy Demeo.  Rosenthal keeps dropping Demeo's name around and gets into a lot of trouble.  You get to see a bit of a father son dynamic that ends up bad for other characters because Demeo tries to protect Rosenthal.  Plus, Schwimmer plays the role and looks greasy and devious.  He is pretty unrecognizable in the role.  Never thought I would see Ross from Friends gun down two cocaine dealers and steal their product.

     This movie has a great dynamic of a man trying to keep his two lives separate.  Kuklinski truly loves his family, but it almost feels like he NEEDS to kill to keep his emotions in check.  He also has to lie to them constantly to keep them safe.  Michael Shannon puts on his best performances EVER…and that is saying a lot.  If you are not familiar with his work, check out these movies:  Machine Gun Preacher, Shotgun Stories and Take Shelter.  The last two of the three movies he is the lead character.  I have also heard he is great in the HBO show Boardwalk Empire.  I drove to Peking to see this movie and it was worth every mile.  Not sure if it is going to get any closer, but if it does I highly recommend it.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


May 28th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Epic


Rated PG

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Those of you that read this blog know that I like the Ice Age series pretty well.  The last one was my favorite and I feel that the other ones are pretty safe and reliable when it comes to your entertainment value.  Epic is a new possible franchise produced by Blue Sky Studios that did okay at the Box Office, but has huge competition in Fast & Furious 6, The Hangover Part 3 and Star Trek: Into Darkness.  Though it is not totally an original movie nor is it the best movie I saw in the last few days (More on that tomorrow) it is still really fun and kind of good.

     Mary Katherine, or MK (Amanda Seyfried), is going to visit her estranged father.  Her father, Bomba (Jason Sudeikis), is a scientist that is trying to discover a world that is small and hidden in the forest.  She goes on a promise to her mother that she would try to get along with him, but he has pretty much shoved aside everything to find this world.  After a short time, MK gets frustrated and tries to leave.  When Bomba's three legged dog, Ozzie, gets out of the house and MK goes to chase him down.  MK stumbles onto a partially ceremony that is almost naked to the human eye.  This ceremony leads to MK going on an adventure that may have more at stake than she bargained for.

     The first couple of things I will say about this movie might turn a lot of people off from it.  The first thing is that other than the way that it looks, not much of this movie is original.  It takes a lot of different plots from a lot of different movies.  The reason this didn't bother me too much is one of the other reasons.  This is a KIDS movie.  As a critic, I have to watch movies through MY eyes as well as the eyes of the public.  This includes kids.  Like the movie version of Tintin, this movie would be a great way to introduce kids to other movies later like The Lord of the Rings.  So, I feel that kids will enjoy the adventure of this movie as well as the humor.

     As an adult, I get to be a bit pickier.  As an adult, I still enjoyed this movie a lot.  I still found a lot to like amongst the many copied plot points.  I found traces of The Lord of the Rings, FernGully and even Honey, I Shrunk The Kids as well.  To me, these themes worked together because they used more than one.  Though I won't give this movie points for originality other than the way that it looked, I will give it points for being fun and entertaining.

     If this movie were trying to be more adult, I would have done a few things differently.  The first would have been to change the attitude of the main villain, Mandrake (Christoph Waltz), after his loss.  Both sides lose someone close to them early in the movie.  While Ronin (Colin Farrell) get to grieve his loss throughout the movie, Mandrake's demeanor hardly changes throughout the movie.  Though Mandrake is a really good villain and Waltz is great in the role, I would have liked to see his character get a little bit more revenge filled.  He was already going to attempt to take over the forest and after his loss; he just goes on with his plan.

     I wonder how much Apple paid for its product placement in this movie...

     I would also have toned down the humor of Mub (Aziz Ansari) and Grub (Chris O'Dowd).  This is not saying that they weren't funny, because they were.  I just felt that the movie went a little too much to the well with using their humor.  I liked the characters and wouldn't want them NOT to be there, but it could have been a little less "in your face" as times.

     Just bear with me on this last point because you might feel I am taking sides here, but I am just making a point.  One thing I am happy about is that this movie could have really pushed a whole "Environmental" plot, but it didn't.  Nature was just the world of the characters of this movie.  The characters of this movie were just trying to save "The World".  It was good vs. evil, nothing more, and nothing less.  I think that any other message would have interfered with the fun and would have bogged down this movie.

     I think kids will dig this movie.  My two friends and I also dug this movie as well.  Though it really offers nothing original in terms of plot, the look of this movie helps to make it still pretty enjoyable.  There are some great characters as well as a great adventure plot.  I also loved the music.  Oddly enough, it made me want to watch Braveheart.  This movie, to me, is just a lot of fun.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 

 

 


May 27th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Fast & Furious 6

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I have to be honest.  Before a couple of months or so ago, I had only seen the first movie of this series.  I didn't think it was anything special.  I thought it was an okay action movie, but it didn't really get me excited about a sequel.  Since I knew Fast 6 was coming, I figured I better play catch up.  I have to say that my opinion of the franchise hasn't changed too much.  These movies are fun and watchable, but I really didn't feel that they really hit the right note until Fast 5.  Fast 6 is pretty much an extension of Fast 5, which is not a bad thing.

     Agent Hobbs (The Rock) has just teamed up with a new partner in Agent Riley (Gina Carano).  They are tracking down a high level thief named Owen Shaw (Luke Evans).  Shaw's team is set up as pretty much and anti-team to our heroes' group, which is why Hobbs goes to recruit them to help take Shaw down.  Hobbs gets Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) to go along with the plan by showing him that his former love Letty (Michelle Rodriguez) is still alive and working with Shaw.  Toretto gets the group back together to help him with the promised reward being full pardons for all of their crimes and being able to come home to the United States.

     The best way to put this is that if you liked Fast 5, you are going to like Fast 6.  The movie and the characters have the same attitude that Fast 5 had, so they fit really well together.  The action, story and dialogue is as ridiculous and fun as ever, maybe even ramped up a little more.  You have to suspend believability at the door with this movie, but that is really nothing new to this franchise.  They tried to add the usual weight of the "Family" plot to this one and it worked about as well as it usually does.

     There were a few little things that bothered me, but it really doesn't really change how I felt about the movie as a whole.  The first thing was the Letty plot.  I think they could have come up with something a little more complicated with why she was against her friends than what they did.  It just felt like a cop out.  Also, there is a "Big plot twist" that you see coming a mile away that I wish they could have hidden better.  The last thing was The Rock's goatee.  That thing's thickness changes way too often for a movie that is only supposed to take place over about a week's time.  And I swear there is one scene where it is even gone from his face, only to return in the next scene.

     I think I could watch Michelle Rodriguez and Gina Carano fight all day.  Those fights are pretty brutal.

     I did like the fact that in this movie, the team has to deal with loss this time around.  I always felt that they were too invincible, but that is not the case this time around…at least when the plot calls for it.  How can anybody except John McClane survive some of those car wrecks?

     Stay for part of the credits.  Shaw makes mention of his brother in this movie.  This brother makes something that happened in Tokyo Drift a lot more relevant and interesting.

     All in all, not a bad action flick.  This one keeps the same tone from Fast 5 going strong and the story will continue.  I will keep enjoying the good, dumb fun as long as they keep making them like this.  This series will never be anything more than it already knows it is.  Sometimes, we need movies like that.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


May 24th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Hangover Part 3

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I will never really claim to be a big fan of this franchise.  I thought the first one was okay, but I really didn't care to see the second one until I knew there was a third one coming out that I would be reviewing.  I just watched the second one for the first time a month or so ago.  I thought it was a lot like the first one.  When it came to the third one, I got about what I was expecting MINUS as many laughs as I thought I would have.

     Alan (Zach Galifianakis) has been off of his meds for six months.  He causes a highway accident, which involves a giraffe, which makes national news.  He argues with his father, which results in his father dying of what we assume is a heart attack.  Alan's friends and family step in to try to get Alan to go to a hospital in Arizona.  He agrees, so The Wolfpack hits the road.  On the way there, they are run off the road by an old acquaintance that starts them on another wild adventure to track down an "Old Friend".

     The best way to describe this movie is that it is pretty much like the second one was to the first.  The only big difference is that they reference and revisit a few people and places from the first movie.  Once again, the main focus is on the three main characters: Alan, Phil (Bradley Cooper) and Stu (Ed Helms).  As was the case for the first two movies, Doug (Justin Bartha) is pretty much non-existent in the movie.

     Ken Jeong (Leslie Chow) gets to play a much bigger part of the movie this time around.  This really didn't work too well for me because, though I think he is a funny guy in other things, I don't think his character is that funny.  His shtick just gets a little old pretty quickly.

     What, no Mike Tyson this time?  Was he too busy working on Scary MoVie?

     One of the big questions I had between the first and third movies is, "What happened between Stu and Jade (Heather Graham)?  Though she is in this movie, we never really get an explanation of why there relationship didn't work out.

     Though there was a few decent laughs, most of the comedy in this movie was either not very funny or it was wasted on the trailers for the film.  There was a few times I laughed pretty big, but most of the time I was just kind of bored with this movie.  I think some fans will be unapologetic about liking this one and that's okay.  I found it on par with the other two most of the time, with the funny meter shifting in either direction.

     Fans of the series are going to go see this, but I would recommend waiting to rent it if you just have to see it.  If you do go see it, make sure to stay for most of the credits.  There is a "Finale" to the movie, so to speak.  For me, this one is a pass and I am kind of glad that this is the end…or so they say.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


May 23rd, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reynolds Stars As:

     Wow, this Physician's Choice Wellness diet has worked wonders for me, hasn't it?  Okay, I will admit to the Photoshop workout.  Can't blame a guy for trying, right?

     What this post is really about is an opportunity to see The Man of Steel early with me on June 13th at 7:00pm at Hickory Point Theater in Forsyth.  I have one extra ticket and I want to take one person that reads this blog to the movie.  I don't know about you, but I am excited to see if there can actually be a good Superman movie this time.  Let the debates begin about the Christopher Reeve movies.

     When we go to the movie, you will also receive one of the Carmike Refillable Popcorn Buckets, which I will fill for you.  Actually you will be winning MY Carmike Refillable Popcorn Bucket.  The reason is I can't use it anymore with Project E going on, so somebody should get some use out of it.  Plus a drink and candy will be on me as well.  You can't beat that: Watching the new Superman movie with me, popcorn, drink and candy.  Also, I will post your short review of the movie along with mine on my blog and on my Facebook Page.

     How do you win you ask?  Well it is pretty simple.  I want to know why you love superheroes.  To win the ticket, just write a short essay (a paragraph or two) on what it is about superheroes you love.  It can be about superheroes in general or even about a specific one.  The essay that I like the best will win the night at the movie with me.  It is just that simple.  Also, you have to be 18 or older to win this prize.  Proof of age may be required by me at the theater.

     E-mail your short essay to me at the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com.  I will reveal the winner on WAND Today on June 7th and on The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page as well.  So if you want a free night at the movie with me, get to work.  Submissions will only be accepted through June 6th at Noon.  Good luck and I look forward to some great reading.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


May 22nd, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Aftershock


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Eli Roth is one interesting guy.  He has gained himself a pretty hardcore fanbase over the last 10 years or so.  The movies he usually writes, produces, directs and/or stars in are usually pretty disturbing and/or bloody affairs that some people have gravitated to.  I am really not one of those people, but I will say that I think he does do the job he has set out to do very well.  I did really like his performance as the Bear Jew in Inglourious Basterds, though.  Once again, I raided iTunes to see the latest movie that he co-wrote and stars in: Aftershock.

     Three friends are on vacation in Chile.  They are visiting everything from wine vineyards to the local nightclubs.  They meet up with three women who are traveling together and they all somewhat become fast friends.  While visiting an underground nightclub, an earthquake erupts.  Getting out of the underground club is only the beginning of the nightmare for these travelers.  They have to deal with the earthquake's aftershocks, a threatening tsunami and the worst of mankind.

     If The Impossible is the standard for realism for disaster movies this year, then Aftershock is the standard for the complete opposite.  The initial earthquake scene works well enough, but everything else seems to be a far stretch from realism.  Not saying this hurts the movie or anything, I'm just making and observation.  This is one of those movies that if something can go wrong, it will.

     The biggest problem I had with this movie is connecting with the characters.  Like the movie Cloverfield, the characters seemed too unreal and maybe even a bit spoiled in life.  Two of the characters were single parents, so you are given a reason to connect to them, but they don't focus on that aspect too much.  I guess if I am to really care about the characters in a movie, I just need more to go on to want to know what happens to them and for them to get out safe.

     The violence of the movie is outrageous and sometimes a little ridiculous.  Like a Saw movie, sometimes I felt that something violent happened to a character just to show violence.  Like I mentioned earlier, Eli Roth does well what he does even if it is not your type of movie.  He may not have directed this movie, but he did find someone that has a similar directing style in Nicolas Lopez.

     There is a "blink and you will miss it" cameo by a former Disney Princess that is kind of funny.

     In part of the movie, the characters are chased by some pretty bad guys.  The movie mentions that the local prison was busted open after the earthquake, but it never mentions if these guys were some of the prisoners or not.  This prison thing does lead to a plot twist that I don't think worked very well or made much sense when it happened.

     This is one of those movies were you already know that things are not going to turn out well in the end.  They may try to fool you into thinking that things will be okay, but you know what is going to happen.  If you like Eli Roth movies, you might like this one, but I wouldn't really recommend it.  I thought the characters were kind of unlikable and boring, the pacing isn't very good and I already knew from the get go who was going to live or die.  I just found this movie to be kind of average.  Rent it if you want to see it.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 

 


May 21st, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Erased (The Expatriate)


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Because there wasn't anything new other than Star Trek in the theater this weekend, it is once again time to raid iTunes to find one of those limited release movies still in theaters that they have for rent.  I saw the picture for this movie and thought, "Aaron Eckhart in a CIA spy-type movie?  I'm there."

     Ben Logan (Aaron Eckhart) is what you might call a problem solver.  He is hired by a company to find the flaws in their security systems and show them how he does it.  The company can then fix their security leaks.  Ben is also a single father.  After his ex-wife died, his daughter Amy (Liana Liberato) had been living with her grandfather, but now has relocated to be with her father.  One of Ben's coworkers begins to ask questions about some patents on the security systems they have been working on.  This leads to a secret being uncovered, while at the same time causing Ben and his team's identities and lives being erased.  While Ben goes on a mission to discover the truth, his daughter begins to learn the truth of who her father really is.

     I liked the idea of this movie.  I liked the cast on this movie.  I usually love these kinds of movies.  My problem with this one is that I have seen it before.  This film takes parts from movies like The Bourne Trilogy and Paycheck (which Eckhart was in) and meshes them together for their own story.  That is not to say that I didn't enjoy this movie, but I kind of wish they had used a more original plot.

     Seeing Eckhart in these roles makes me with he would do more action films.  A lot of time his characters get "stuck behind the desk" so to speak.  Movies like this and Battle Los Angeles make me hope to see him do more action films.  He has the right look and attitude to pull these types of roles off.  I hate to see him getting typecast as the business-type guy.

     Olga Kurylenko (Oblivion, Quantum of Solace) plays CIA agent Anna Brandt.  She does an alright job, but I have seen her give better performances in other movies.  Her character doesn't really take off in this movie until it is too late.  She is getting to be a pretty decent actress, but this movie felt like a step back.

     Though not very original or new, this is still a decent action/thriller.  I wouldn't spend the money on iTunes to watch it, but if it shows up in the RedBox or on Netflix, it is not a bad watch.  If you like Aaron Eckhart, you will probably at least enjoy the movie.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


May 20th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Jay & Silent Bob's Super Groovy Cartoon Movie


Not Rated

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     When it comes to Kevin Smith movies, from what I can gather, you usually love them or you hate them…most of them anyway.  When it comes to the Clerks characters, the fanbase is pretty rabid for new material.  Smith has teased that he finished the first draft of Clerks 3 a little bit ago and the fanbase was happy.  Jason Mewes (Jay) took on a little side project that might just tide over the fans of this series while they wait for Clerks 3.  It is called Jay & Silent Bob's Super Groovy Cartoon Movie.  I had a chance to check out this movie in St. Louis this weekend, followed by a live taping of Kevin Smith's podcast Jay & Silent Bob Get Old.

     This is basically an origin story of Jay and Silent Bob's alter egos, Bluntman & Chronic.  Jay and Bob start off by missing opportunities to get the origins of many different superheroes: Batman, Green Lantern, Daredevil, etc.  Jay realizes, not by missing these things but because of the way that Jay thinks, that they are meant for something more.  After Bob wins the lottery, they decide to become superheroes.  After getting high, they decide what their alter egos are going to be.

     The animation for this movie is pretty much what they use for the Smodimation cartoons.  The voices are mostly the voices that you know and love if you are a fan.  One key missing voice is that of Mark Hamill as the villain C***knocker, but the movie addresses this in one of the many Kevin Smith in-movie monologues.  Remember he played the role in Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back.

     The humor of this movie is really dirty, even more so than a usual Kevin Smith movie.  There are two reasons for this.  The first is that Kevin Smith technically didn't write this.  It is based on his Bluntman & Chronic graphic novel.  The other reason is that this is going to go straight to DVD after this viewing tour, so they did not have to answer to the MPAA.  The sexual imagery and jokes are a bit much at times, but the feel of the movie is still of the Kevin Smith Universe.

     The humor, especially the pop culture references, is really funny.  I think my favorite joke comes at the expense of Michael Bay and his Ninja Turtle ideas.  The pop culture humor is spot on when it comes to these characters.

     While a bit gross and juvenile at times, the movie was pretty entertaining.  I was able to look past the stuff I didn't like to enjoy the stuff that I did.  This movie won't change anybody's mind about Kevin Smith's movies, but fans will love it.  Getting to see the live podcast taping just made the show even better.  If you are a fan of these characters, give it a look if you get a chance to see the live show or when it comes out on DVD.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 

 


May 17th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reveals Project E


Strap yourself in.  This is a long one…sorry.  ;^)

     What is Project E?  Those of you that read the blog have heard me mention it a few times.  This project is about me changing my life.  As Chris Farley said in Tommy Boy, "I have what doctors call a little bit of a weight problem."  In my case, it is more than a little bit.  Now, I'm not going to go into an anti-bigger person rant or anything.  This project is only focused on me and me alone.  What I mean by that is that I will be the only one under the microscope here.

     I am sure you are wondering why I called this thing Project E.  The name comes from my weight scale at home.  When the scale reaches a certain weight ceiling, it can't read your weight.  Instead, it flashes up a big "E" on the screen.  That weight ceiling is near 400 pounds.  Imagine standing one that scale and seeing that "E", knowing what it means.  This is something I have had to deal with for years.

     In February 2011, I started walking, drank no pop, ate no fast food and began eating less.  By July, I had lost around 80 pounds.  My start weight was around 380 at that time.  Around October of that year, after years of problems I won't go into right now, my now ex-wife and I got separated.  When you deal with that and try to juggle all of the problems and still try to raise your kids, other things go to the wayside.  What got pushed aside in my life was the dieting and exercise.

     Advance to now, which would be about a year and a half or so.  I have put all of that weight back on plus around another 20 pounds.  That year and a half wasn't all bad, but I have been dealing with a lot of personal stuff that just made me not care about my health.  There comes a time when enough is enough and you just have to get back on your feet again.  I have many reasons for wanting to do this and I will talk about that in a bit, but I wanted to share with you the reasons I am going public with this.

     Reason #1: Accountability.  One big thing that works for me is if others know about things.  I thought about keeping this whole thing to myself, but I decided that sharing it and being held accountable for both my failures and my successes would do me good.  If people see me doing badly, they are liable to speak up.  This will help to keep me motivated to do well.  On the other side of the coin, if people see me doing well, they are liable to say something ENCOURAGING.  This will motivate me even more.  I don't see a downside here.  Having the spot on TV, I am in the public eye anyway.  This will help me stay motivated to succeed even when I am tired.  What is it they say, "Nothing cures fatigue like a pat on the back."

     Reason #2: Inspiration.  Being on TV, I sometimes feel that I have a responsibility to the public.  I know that me, along with the other people that are on the air, represent people in a way.  They watch us and some even look up to us, so isn't it our duty as "TV Personalities" to put out best foot forward and be the best we can be?  I have always tried to do my best to represent the station in the public.  It is the public that buys the products that pays for the commercials and air time that keep us employed.  It is not a pyramid with us at the top, but a circle that we are all a part of.  I just want to do my part for that circle.  If I get healthy, that looks good on all of us, not just me.  I am inspired by the people that support me at work and in the public.  I am just hoping that I can do some of the inspiring too.

     The way that I am going to be losing the weight is by doing Physicians Choice Wellness (PCW).  I have seen some of their success through stories we have ran through the station as well as the commercials.  It didn't truly hit home until I met Sheriff Tom Schneider at the Polar Plunge this year.  He looked incredible and he was not even near being done yet.  PCW is the program he is on.  PCW is one of our clients at WAND-TV, so we set things up.  I have to take a quick second to thank those at the station that help to set this up.  I hope to make you realize you made the right decision.

     I start my first meal replacement today (Friday) in the morning.  I will talk about more of the diet's details later, but I just wanted to let you guys know the starting point.  On my YouTube Page, I will be doing a weekly/bi-weekly video journal of some sort to let you guys know how this is going.  When that is set up, I will get that information to you all.  Stay tuned.

     There are a lot of reasons I am doing this, but I won't reveal them all here.  Some of them are personal to me and I need to keep SOME things to myself.  Here are some of the top reasons I am doing this project:

     Reason #1: My boys, friends and family.  There are two things in this world I love more than anything and that's my sons Andy and Ryan.  They mean everything to me and I want to be around for them.  I need them as much as they need me.  I want to be around for my friends and family as well.  Those that know who they are know how important they are to me.  I want to be around to give them the love and support they have given me.

     Reason #2: My health.  I just really want to feel better.  I am not trying to be a muscle man or anything.  I just want to be healthy.  I want to sleep better.  I want to move better.  Like I said, I just want to feel better.

     Reason #3: My career.  I love and enjoy what I do and I hope you do too, but I sometimes can't stand to look at myself on TV.  Like I said earlier, this is only about me criticizing myself.  I just want to be more confident in the way I look.  Some of you might think I look fine and that's cool, but I want to look better so that I will be more confident in what I do.

     Reason #4: My confidence.  There are a few things this pertains to: how I feel on air, being around people in general, etc.  One of the main reasons I want more confidence is that I am considering starting the dating process again.  I know that if I feel more confident about the way I look and feel, it might help me get back some of the mental confidence I used to have.

     Sorry this was so long, but I had a lot I needed to share.  I want to ask you, the public, to help me by keeping me in your thoughts and prayers.  I need all of the help and support I can get to make this thing possible.  Thank you for your time.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


May 16th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

Geno Reviews Star Trek: Into Darkness

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead...and one MAJOR one!!!

     I would have never really called myself a Star Trek fan, but I did enjoy the show and some of the movies. When the "reboot" came out in 2009, I really enjoyed it. I liked the guts that it had to not just be a reboot, but to say that the other movies did happen. The events of that movie either erased all that happened in those movies or created an alternate timeline, however you choose to look at it. I was pretty excited going into the next installment of the franchise, so I decided to forgo some sleep and see a midnight screening of the movie. My verdict...Totally worth it.

     It is unclear how long after the first movie this installment takes place. After the crew of t, he USS Enterprise go on a mission to save an unadvanced tribal race, they come home to face the consequences of their actions on the mission. After some shakeups in rank, Captain Kirk (Chris Pine) is demoted and sent back to the academy for repeated offenses against Starfleet. An old friend helps Kirk to not be sent back to the academy by calling in some favors, which leads to Kirk becoming First Officer aboard The Enterprise.

     Meanwhile, the terrorist John Harrison (Benedict Cumberbatch) hatches a plan that results in a bomb going off in London, which kills many people. This sets off a chain of events that leads Kirk to pursue Harrison to a planet known as Kronos. Going to this planet could possibly start a war with an alien race in which Earth already has tension with.

     I have always thought that Star Trek was, for the most part, the story of Kirk and Spock (Zachary Quinto). This movie follows that formula pretty well, but it does not skimp on developing the other characters either. Most of the main cast gets their time to shine, but the main focus is on Kirk and Spock. This is the way it should be and it works really well.

     The key to a great hero is to give him a great villain. Benedict Cumberbatch as the villain of this movie brings out the best in both Kirk and Spock as characters. Harrison is tough, smart and ruthless, which makes for some tough decisions for our main heroes throughout the movie. He is a much better villain than Nero (Eric Bana) was in the first movie. I didn't dislike Bana, but Cumberbatch brings a whole new level of ruthlessness to the villain role.

SPOILER TERRITORY!!!

     And about the elephant in the room, well I can't hold it in...MAJOR SPOILER territory here...are you ready...there are Tribbles in the movie. Man, I'm glad I got that off my chest!

END SPOILERS!!!  (heh, heh)

     What?  You thought I was going to reveal something about the other thing?  That would be just mean, man!

     The story itself goes from fun to dark and back again. The opening action scene feels like something from the TV show, while later events of the films get a little weightier when it come to the plot. That being said, I found myself smiling a lot while watching this movie. No matter where the plot was headed, I was having a great time watching it unfold.

     If you liked the 2009 movie, you will probably love this one. If you didn't like the 2009 version, this one might change your mind. There is something for both the layman and hardcore fans alike. I think that is what the last two movies of the series have done, brought those two groups of fans together. The movie is fun, interesting and is paced extremely well. I was dead tired when I watched this and it kept my interest the entire time. This is a really good sci-fi movie, but it is a really good character driven movie as well. Go see it in the theater. Good stuff.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 


 

May 15th, 2013

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Mud

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I saw the preview for this movie when I went to see Emperor in Springfield a little while back.  I would never claim to be a Matthew McConaughey (Mud) fan or anything, but he has had some decent movies.  EdTV, A Time To Kill and Tropic Thunder (minor role) are some of the movies I have enjoyed him in.  And who can forget David Wooderson from Dazed and Confused…alright, alright, alright.  Though I have thought he has been decent in some movies, I never thought he has been great…until now.

     Mud is the story of two boys, Ellis (Tye Sheridan) and Neckbone (Jacob Lofland).  Neckbone never knew his parents and is being raised by his Uncle Galen (Michael Shannon).  Ellis is from a soon to be broken home.  His parents are fighting all of the time, which drives him away a lot.  He and Neckbone go traveling around the river a lot of the time.  They discover a boat that a hurricane put up in a tree and there plan is to get it down and working somehow.  They discover that someone is living in the boat.  This man is Mud, a mysterious and simple man.  We soon discover that Mud is on a personal mission, but we also find out that he may or may not have done some bad things.

     I will come out and say it.  This is my favorite McConaughey performance EVER.  He plays this simple, yet complex character that tells these stories in which you can't tell what is true and what is not.  His character is determined to succeed in what he treats like a noble quest and is able to convince the two young boys to help him.  I like that you can never tell if he is really the man he is portraying or if he is just really manipulative.  Great casting and a great performance.

     The boys playing Ellis and Neckbone are really good as well.  Sheridan has only been in a couple of other movies and this is Lofland's first movie.  Look out for these two in the future.

     The whole story of this movie just really worked for me.  Though the movie did turn out the way I thought it would, I was never really sure until the end of the film.  It will keep , you guessing pretty much the whole time.  Just when you think you have something figured out, a new plot device or character is introduced, throwing off your theories.  The director and writer of this movie is Jeff Nichols, who wrote and directed the excellent films Take Shelter and Shotgu, n Stories.  Maybe not so coincidently both of these movies star Michael Shannon.  On that note, one of my only complaints about this movie is that there is not enough of Michael Shannon, but the scenes he is in are pretty funny.

     It is nice to see Joe Don Baker (King) working, even if it is just a small role.  MITCHELL!!!  For those that don't know, that is a MST3K reference.  Check out Episode 512 of that show.  Awesome!

     I really don't have anything more to say about this movie other than go se, e it.  The closest it is right now is the Galaxy 14 Cinema in Bloomington, which is where I went to see it.  I don't know if it is going to come around here with all of the summer blockbusters coming out, but if you get a chance to check it out, do so.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 


May 14th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Peeples


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     There are certain times that I see a trailer and I know exactly what the movie is going to be like or what is going to happen.  When I saw the trailer for Peeples, my first thought was of Meet The Parents.  I was hoping to be wrong.  I kind of like Craig Robinson (Wade) and I really like S. Epatha Merkerson (Daphne) and Kerry Washington (Grace).  I wanted this movie to be more than I thought it was going to be, but sadly I was more right than I even thought I would be.

     Wade is a children's music singer, not unlike Charlie Harper (Charlie Sheen) was on Two and a Half Men.  He sings songs about kids learning to deal with their problems, but he really wants to be a child psychologist.  He is also in love with Grace, who he has been dating for a year.  He keeps asking her if he can meet her parents, but she declines.  On the weekend he is going to propose to her, she tells him she is leaving for home for Moby Dick Day (Bet you can already see where a lot of the jokes are headed).  She leaves, but he decides that he is going to go and meet her parents anyway.  He gets there and finds out that Grace has not told her family about him.  Hijinks ensue…

     If you feel you have heard this story or a variation of it before, you are right.  Like I mentioned before, it is pretty much a variation of Meet The Parents.  Wade is pretty much Ben Stiller's character and David Alan Grier (Judge Virgil) is pretty much the Robert DeNiro of the movie.  A lot of the same stuff is here.  Wade is not good enough for Grace in the eyes of Judge Virgil.  The family has underlying secrets and problems, but Wade gets blamed for a lot of it.  Though he is not in the CIA, Judge Virgil has a big secret.  Here is the kicker.  This movie is not near as funny nor is a lot of the characters as likeable as the Meet The Parents characters.

     Sure, Craig Robinson is likeable.  It is hard not to like him, but a lot of the characters come off as whiny or just plain mean.  Judge Virgil is just kind of a jerk.  Even when all of the problems are solved and the big forgiveness scene is about to happen, the judge is still acting like he is being forced to change his ways.  Some of the other characters are just not likeable.

     There are two decent scenes in the movie.  One you have probably seen in the trailer.  The scene where Robinson puts on the disco head piece and sings is pretty funny.  You get an extended version of it in the film.  Another scene where Robinson's character is trying and gets Merkerson's character to sing one of her old disco songs is pretty good to.

     Ins, tead of going to see this, just rent Meet The Parents.  It is a lot funnier and more entertaining.  This one is just not worth even calling a decent "remake".  With only a couple of likeable characters and a "Haven't I already seen this storyline", this one is a pass.  If you want to see it, rent it.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


May 13th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Great Gatsby


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Here is my experience with the story of The Great Gatsby.  I may have read it in high school, but I can't remember.  That is it.  Here is my experience with Baz Luhrmann, the writer and director of this movie.  I kind of liked his Romeo & Juliet.  I kind of really didn't like Moulin Rouge.  So I really didn't have many expectations going into this one.  While I would not call this movie great, I might call it The Decent Gatsby.

     Nick Carraway (Toby McGuire) begins to tell us, and a shrink, a story from his past.  He talks about a man he knew named Jay Gatsby (Leonardo DiCaprio) that lived next door to him.  He talks about how Gatsby would through lavish parties all of the time, but nobody knew who he was.  When Nick finally gets to meet Gatsby, we find out that Gatsby used to be in a relationship with Nick's cousin Daisy (Carey Mulligan).  We find out that the only reason he bought the house he did is so that he can be close to Daisy.  He has illusions of repeating his past happiness with Daisy, but we also find out that he may be hiding some dark secrets.

     The first thing I have to say about this movie is that it is an extremely beautiful movie.  Depending on the location of the scene, the colors of the scene is outstanding.  The bright colors of the big city, the dank and dark colors of "the valley of ashes" between the towns and the natural colors of West Egg all serve their purpose very well.  Though I will say that SOME of the special effects and CG come off looking as fake.  There was some chroma keying that was a bit off, but it wasn't too noticeable.

     I thought the performances ranged from pretty good too not very good.  The best performances can from DiCaprio and Jason Clarke.  Clarke, who I loved in Zero Dark Thirty, plays George Wilson.  He is the husband to one of Tom Buchanan's (Joel Edgerton) mistresses.  I guess I should mention that Buchanan is Daisy's husband.  Lot of infidelity in this movie.  DiCaprio plays both the optimist and the impatient man very well.  You don't know when he is going to lose it, but you know it is coming.  Clarke plays kind of a simple character that seems easily duped.  He ends up being one of the more important characters in the movie, even with his short screen time.  The weakest performance would have to go to Carey Mulligan.  She just seemed "kind of there" most of the time.  Her performance was pretty bland and unemotional most of the time.  She did have a pretty good scene near the end of the movie, though.  I just want to know where THAT performance was the rest of the movie.

     The music was very interesting.  Many of times it was modified, or straight up hip hop music.  I thought a lot of it worked, but movie makers need to stop using Kanye West's "No Church In The Wild".  It is about the only Kaye West song I really like, but I have heard it in many trailers and movies over the past year.  The overuse is killing my enjoyment.  It is no surprise that the music is the way that it is.  When Jay-Z is one of your film's producers, the music is almost guaranteed to have his style attached.

     I thought the film was too long, or at least it felt that way.  I also felt that the first half was weaker than the second half, but I did understand what the filmmakers were trying to do by having the first half the way it was.  I thought the first half was a little cheesy, but I feel the filmmakers were trying to make it seem like life was a party.  It is not until the second half where things get more serious and we see that life isn't always a party.

     I kind of liked the movie, but I will be in no rush to see it again.  I would call it a rental, but the look of the movie does scream to be seen on the big screen.  If I had read it in high school, I didn't remember anything about it.  I would like to hear what people that read the book though about it.  Shoot me an e-mail to the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com or send me a message through The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


May 10th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Talks About Marvel Knights


Strap yourselves in.  This is a long one.

     Over the years, Marvel has had many of their characters made into movies.  Some are really good and some are really bad.  One of the major problems with the bad ones was that the studios making the movies would not treat the characters or their stories with care and respect.  Sure some did a decent enough job, but most of the movies made by anybody other that Marvel have had something that hurt the property.

     In the last few years, Marvel has slowly gaining back the rights to a lot of its characters.  They got their most of their major ones back and were eventually able to make The Avengers.  In the last few months or so, Marvel has gotten back some of their less popular characters: Daredevil, Ghost Rider, The Punisher & Blade to name a few.  I look at those names alone and, while I have a guilty pleasure for a few of those character's movies, wish that Marvel would now take the time to invest in them.

     Marvel Knights is Marvel's comic brand that lets them write stories about certain characters that does not affect Marvel's main universe.  When it comes to the movies, the Marvel Knights brand has been attached to two movies already: Ghost Riser: Spirit of Vengeance and Punisher War Zone.  Both of those movies were produced by Lionsgate, so I don't know if that was at their request to make the movies seem edgier.  What I do know is that I feel that whoever decided to make the brand change for those two movies was on to something.  Marvel has already begun catering to its general audience, so shouldn't they now start to consider their hardcore audience as well?  Wouldn't it serve them well to take some of these characters that they just got back and make films that do the characters justice?  Here are just a few movies that I feel should either be made or rebooted from the more mature Marvel library.

The Punisher

     Little known fact: My first comic book ever was The Punisher: War Journal #9 which I bought with my chore money at Johnson's, the local grocery store, in Illiopolis.  My second and third comics ever were The Punisher #44 and #45.  See a pattern here?  It, was the late 1980's and I was new to comics.  I knew characters like Spider-Man and Batman, but after seeing the cover to War Journal #9 I thought I had found something special.

Though not in great condition, I still have this comic as well as the other two mentioned above.

     I thought The Punisher comics were so different and interesting.  He didn't take the criminals to jail, he took them out.  Though at the time I didn't really understand what made the character interesting, I would learn over time.  He is and will always be my favorite comic book character.

     The movies themselves were not really critical successes; I do have a guilty pleasure for all three.  Yes, even the Dolph Lundgren one.  Each of these movies had their problems, but they all at least got something right about the character.  Dolph had the attitude and Ray Stevenson had the look, but Tom Jane had it all.  The problems with his movie were many, however.  Bad script, too much revenge and not enough "punishing" and being set in Miami of all places didn't help the movie at all.  Though I thought Stevenson's Punisher War Zone movie was kind of fun, knew that The Punisher's days in film were over…until a little something called Dirty Laundry.

     Tom Jane decided that he would make a short film, reprising his role of The Punisher.  It seemed to take the things that his movie got wrong and flip it the bird.  My hope is that Marvel has seen it, takes the idea and runs with it.  God bless you, Tom Jane.

Ghost Rider

     I am not going to go in to all of my problems with these two movies.  This blog entry is long enough already.  The first one is better than the most recent one, but that is not saying much.  If the first movies would have had the effects of the second AND had somebody other than Nicholas Cage playing the role, it could have been a lot better.  My hope is that IF Marvel uses this character again; they will start fresh and forget to call Cage in for casting.  The attitudes of the original films were decent, but the acting was not good.

Daredevil

     I honestly didn't hate the Ben Affleck Daredevil movie.  It wasn't great, but it was for the most part entertaining.  If you have a chance to see the Director's Cut of the movie, it is a lot better and fills in some of the plot holes of the theatrical release.  The Director's Cut was a bit darker as well.  Daredevil is a brutal superhero.  He really didn't gain the popularity he has now until Frank Miller began to write the comics.  Though I would never want Miller to direct a Daredevil movie (Have you seen The Spirit), I wouldn't mind him consulting on one.  Though they would never do it, I would bring back Colin Farrell as Bullseye.  Even the comic character changed after his performance as the crazy assassin.

Blade

     The Blade film series has never been one of my favorites, but I did like the first one.  I actually believe it is the first Blade movie that should be looked at when talking about what started the return of good comic book movies to the theater.  I was never a fan of Blade 2 and 3, but I do feel that Blade could be a decent movie series if handled right.  I would not bring Wesley Snipes back to the role because that would kind of mean the other movies would have to play into the history of the movie character.  Start fresh and new with a new actor.  Maybe like when Hugh Jackman was hired on to play Wolverine, this would be a good time to cast an unknown in the role.


Deadpool

     This one really doesn't fit this subject because Marvel does not have the film rights to this property, but I thought I would mention it anyway.  This is a movie that people have been trying to get made since Ryan Reynolds played Wade Wilson in the pathetic X-Men Origins: Wolverine movie.  He was only one of two things that movie got right.  The other was Liev Schreiber as Sabretooth.  Nobody liked FOX's take on the character in that movie after Wilson was changed to Deadpool, even Ryan Reynolds.  It was rumored that Reynolds even refused to play the Deadpool portion of the movie because he didn't think the character was being handled right.  That part of the movie was played by Scott Adkins, not Reynolds.

     The character of Deadpool needs to have no restraints.  He needs to be able to say what he wants, be as violent as he wants and be as insane as he can be.  I think that a PG-13 rating would just bog this character down.  As funny as the character of Deadpool is, you have to remember that deep down he is bats*** insane.  I think that if given the right script and director, Reynolds could play the role of "The Merc with a Mouth" right way.

     All of these characters have dark sides that would be held back by a PG-13 rating.  I feel that M, arvel, or in the case of Deadpool FOX, should go for broke and give these great characters a real shot.  Besides, they couldn't do any worse that the other companies did.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questio, ns, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


May 9th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Superman: Unbound (DVD)


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     With The Man of Steel coming soon, I thought I would take a look at the newest Superman animated movie.  DC and Warner Bros. Animation (WBA) have been releasing animated features for years now.  Though there have been a few stinkers (Batman: Gotham Knight, Superman: Doomsday) most of them have been pretty good.  While it is getting harder and harder to write a Superman story that isn't the same old thing, most of the animated features have been pretty entertaining.  I like most of them BETTER than I do any of the live action Superman movies so far.  Though nothing really special, I am happy to say that DC and WBA's newest release, Superman: Unbound, is one of the good ones.

     Based on the Superman comic arc Superman: Brainiac by Geoff Johns, the story follows both Superman (Matt Bomer) and Supergirl (Molly C. Quinn).  While Superman has been on Earth around 30 years, Supergirl has only been there a few weeks.  The wormhole she traveled through caused a time shift for her that I won't even try to explain.  When an unidentified object falls from space, Superman goes to investigate.  The object transforms into a robot, which Superman has to fight.  After the battle, Superman tries to figure out what he can about the robot.  Supergirl comes to see him and ends up knowing everything about it.  What is to come is much worse than Superman could ever imagine.

     For fans of Superman, this is a pretty fun story.  You get the usual Clark Kent and Lois Lane (Stana Katic) banter, an overpowered villain and a lot of the other usual Superman stuff.  What really stuck out to me was the character of Brainiac (John Noble).  I am a big fan of the character and am not too happy when the character is handled wrong.  I am happy to say that this animated feature did the character justice.  Brainiac is usually one step ahead of his enemies and this movie is no exception.  He is, how do you say it, "Always the smartest guy in the room."  Of course, his supreme intelligence is usually his downfall as well.  The beautiful thing is, he learns from his mistakes.  Brainiac always has a backup plan…always.  Watch the credits after the movie…

     The voice acting is pretty good in this.  While I will always be a die hard, old school fan of the more established DC voice acting casts, this one doesn't do anything wrong.

     The violence in this movie is kind of much, even for a PG-13 rating.  Lately DC and WBA have been only releasing PG-13 rated movies.  This kind of gets to be a problem when your kids like superheroes and Superman is telling Brainiac to "Go to Hell!" and Lois Lane is flipping the double bird to Brainiac.  It is a good thing NetFlix has Batman: The Brave and the Bold and other more kid friendly offerings.  While I don't personally have a problem with more adult centered offerings, I would like to see them mix it up a bit more.

     There is a lot of good action, the voice acting is decent and the villain isn't a pushover.  Though I enjoyed this one, I would not buy it.  I just don't think it stands up to some of the great offerings that WBA has given us, but it will make a pretty great rental for fans of the genre.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

  &nbs, p;  Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


May 8th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Welcome to the Punch


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     With limited movies to review this week, I decided to dig into iTunes to see if there was anything interesting to watch.  I saw a movie that stared James McAvoy and Mark Strong that looked interesting, so I decided to review it today.

     The movie starts with Detective Max Lewinsky (James McAvoy) chasing after four criminals.  After a short chase, Lewinski is able to confront one of them alone.  The criminal turns out to be Jacob Sternwood (Mark Strong), who gains the upper hand in the fight.  Sternwood shoots Lewinsky in the knee and makes his escape.  Three years later, Sternwood's son gets into some trouble.  He decides to come out of hiding to help his son, but this leads to now down on his luck Detective Lewinsky to be able to redeem himself for his failure in capturing Sternwood.  This leads to more than both men have bargained for.

     The first thing I will say about this movie is that there is nothing really original about it.  All of the ideas that this movie presents are nothing you haven't already seen before.  This movie starts out as a cat and mouse type movie and turns into a revenge flick about 2/3rds the way through.  That being said, it is still a decent unoriginal movie.  This is because of the players involved.

     I enjoy it when James McAvoy does action movies; unfortunately, he doesn't do them that often.  I don't know why, but I find him highly believable in these types of roles.  He doesn't seem like the type of guy that would be an action star, but he is pretty good at it.  Seen Wanted?  Though the movie isn't the best, he is pretty awesome in it.

     Then we have Mark Strong.  This is one of those guys that can do no wrong with me.  Whether he is playing the good guy (which is rare) or the bad guy, he is incredible every time he step on the screen.  This movie is no different.  My friend Jeff said this once and it is something I do want to make an argument for the video game fans out there.  Look at this picture:

     Mark Strong should be the one playing Agent 47 in the reboot of the Hitman based movie.  I mean, come on!

 

     Rounding out the cast is David Morrissey (Thomas Geiger).  Those of you that are Walking Dead fans know this guy as The Governor.  Though he is not nearly as interesting in this movie, he still puts on a pretty good performance.  I mean, really, can he even play a more evil character than The Governor?

     While this movie is nothing original, it is still a decent action flick.  Wait until it shows up in the RedBox or free on one of the movie channels.  It is at least worth a watch for fans of McAv, oy and Strong.  Both of them put on solid performances in this one.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it.<, /a> I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


May 7th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Lords of Salem


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Most people would agree that movies should have a beginning, a middle and an end right?  You would think that would be the first thing taught in film school.  Really, you would think that would be the first thing taught in common sense film school.  Enter Rob Zombie.  I have not seen The Devil's Rejects or House of 1000 Corpses, but I didn't think his Halloween movies were too bad.  I wasn't sure what to think of this movie before going in, but I am pretty sure what I think of it coming out.

     Heidi Hawthorne (Sheri Moon Zombie) is part of a three person radio DJ team in Salem, Massachusetts.  At the radio station, she receives a wooden box that contains a record inside.  The package was sent to her from The Lords.  She assumes that it is a band wanting to get their music played.  She takes it to one of her radio partner's house and gives is a listen.  They dub the band The Lords of Salem.  The music is strange and it makes her feel weird.  Later, they decide to play the music over the air waves (Even though the music sounds really bad).  This makes a lot of women viewers start to act strange.  What the DJ's don't realize is that they may have opened a gateway to Hell by playing the music.

     I really don't know where I should begin because I really have nothing good to say about this movie.  I will talk about the statement I made above in a bit, but I think I will just cover the main reasons why I thought this movie was awful.

     First, the acting is horrible.  Look, I know that filmmakers like to put people they know in movies and I really am cool with that…when the actors or actresses are good.  Here, Rob Zombie puts his wife in the lead role.  I am sure she is a lovely lady, but she is just really bad in this movie.  She overacts and is really bland at the same time…I know that doesn't make sense, but it is the only way I can describe her performance.  Maybe Rob Zombie was going for a B movie feel to , this film, but I don't think that is the case.  I really felt like this was supposed to be his Opus.  Really the only actor I thought was any good in this was Bruce Davison (Francis Matthias) as an author trying to learn the truth behind the music.  , He does the best with what he was given.

     It would have been a little more believable is the music on the record was an actual song or something.  It was just these strange notes that for some reason some people were attracted to.  I hate to say this, but this theme could have been more effective if it were like the theme of the movie Jennifer's Body…I can't believe I just said that.  In that movie, a band sold their soul to Satan for success.  It would not have saved this film, but it couldn't have hurt.

     The plot of this movie never really had the feel of a cohesive story.  It felt like the whole movie was building up to something, but didn't deliver.  Sure there was an ending to this, but there was no conflict that helped in the telling of the story.  Here comes some SPOILERS!!!  The main character gets possessed or whatever Zombie was going for in the span of a week.  The main characters friends know she is in trouble, but they pretty much don't lift a finger to help her in the end.  The bad guys succeed in what they set out to do, and then the movie is over.  That's it.  The last 15-20 minutes of the movie is just strange, torture-porn type images that really made no sense.  I guess that is what Rob Zombie considers film art.  Sure, you know what is going on, but you stopped caring a long time before that.

     This one is a big pass from me.  This movie is just badly acted and extremely boring.  I'm sure some out there will say that I missed the point or I missed something, but I am pretty sure I got the message.  I just thought that message was dumb.  Rob Zombie has come out and said that he is not going to make a horror movie for a while.  Mr. Zombie, I think that is a really GOOD idea.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


May 6th, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Sapphires


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Sometimes you have a feeling about a movie, but you are wrong.  Sometimes you have a feeling about a movie and you are right.  If you see the poster for this movie it looks kind of goofy.  I mean, Chris O'Dowd is in this movie and my experience with him has been all "comedy" movies.  I had seen the trailer for this movie a long time ago, but couldn't remember much about it.  When I saw that The Avon was going to have this movie, I wanted to give it a chance.  I had a feeling about this movie.  I am happy to say that my feeling was right.

     This movie is based on a true story about four Australian Aboriginal girls that want to become a singing group in the late 1960's.  They are not together in the group at first, but they are all from the same family.  Three of the girls are singing in a talent contest that is pretty much rigged.  They by far have the best performance of the contest, but lose because the crowd does not "like their kind".

     Playing piano for this contest is has been or maybe never was musician Dave Lovelace (Chris O'Dowd).  He lives in his car and drinks whatever he can get his hands on for breakfast.  Hearing the girls sing sparks something in him.  Though they are singing country western music, he envisions them as, a soul group.  He sees the girls becoming big stars…and sees his ticket to the big time as well.

     The only problem I had with this movie is that there is a lot going on at one time and it was a little hard to follow, but the movie helps you keep up. , Minor complaint there.

     This movie deals with many subjects and I won't spoil all of the details of them for you, but I will touch on them.  There are stories of the hells of war, love, racism and music all wrapped up in this movie.  The story behind how bad the racism was in Australia at the time was horrible.

     Chris O'Dowd puts on a great performance of a man that has done a lot of bad things in his life, but is striving to be better.  He hits many pitfalls in the movie, but you root for him because you know he is genuine about what he says and does.  I thought he was pretty funny in the movie I had seen him in (Even if the movies weren't), but it is nice to see that he actually has some range as an actor.  I can't wait to see more from him in the future.

     This movie did have some really great, subtle humor that fit the story well.  The interactions between O'Dowd and Deborah Mailman (Gail) are both funny and heartwarming.  The two actors meshed very well together, as they needed to because if you could not believe their story it would have hurt the movie tremendously.

     The soundtrack to this movie is really good.  I bought it a day after I watched this movie.

     The serious plots in this movie will move you.  There is one particular scene in a military hospital in Vietnam where the girls are performing.  They are having trouble singing because of the sight of all of the wounded soldiers, which at least hit this viewer pretty hard.  Also, there are a few scenes near the end of the movie that made me real emotional.  You become so invested in the characters that when something happens to them, you feel it.

     If you can't tell, this is a highly recommended movie in my opinion.  The Avon in Decatur will only have this movie until May 9th, so go see it while it is still there.  You'll laugh and you'll cry a little…at least I know I did.  So far, this is one of the best movies I have seen this year.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


May 3rd, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Iron Man 3

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     Here we go.  Marvel's Phase Two has officially begun with the release of Iron Man 3.  The big question that a lot of people have asked, myself included, was "How do you follow The Avengers?"  This movie had a simple answer to this question.  The answer: go back to basics.

     Tony Stark has not been the same since the invasion of New York.  As a man of science and technology, he is used to being able to explain things.  He still can't explain, everything that happened during that time period.  Though not officially diagnosed, he is suffering from PTSD and panic attacks.  He can't sleep, so he does what Tony Stark does.  He obsesses over his work.  He builds new suit after new suit.  At the same time, a terrorist that calls himself The Mandarin orchestrates bombings and keeps threatening the President of the United States.  Also at the same time, people from Tony's past have come back into his life, which sets in motion many complications.

     I am going to go ahead and get my gripes out of the way, because they are small.  The first one is I felt this movie didn't do enough to connect itself to the cohesive Marvel Universe.  Sure, plots, ideas and name dropping characters were there, but a little bit more presence would have been nice.  SHIELD is mentioned, but no agents are seen in this movie.  Yes, there is a connection after the credits, but it didn't really do anything to advance the Phase Two storyline.  The group AIM is introduced, but I am afraid that it might have been only used for this movie.  The other thing is I would have liked a bit more of Tony in the Iron Man armor.  Like I said, minor gripes.

     Like The Dark Knight Rises, this movie really focuses on the man behind the suit.  Unlike The Dark Knight Rises, this movie does it well.  A key factor in the plot of this movie is "Does the armor make the man or does the man make the armor?"  We get a lot of Tony Stark and not a lot of Tony as Iron Man.  He gets in a spot where he can't rely on his armor to save him, so he has to rely on himself more.  He almost has to start over in a way, so we get to see what Tony is really made of.

     I LOVED Ben Kingsley as The Mandarin.  No, he is not really like the character in the comics, but for THIS story the character really works well.  I could be wrong, but possible subtle hints may suggest that this character has not been fully utilized yet.

     I don't think James "Rhodey" Rhodes was used enough to make him a major player.  Her was there and was involved in a few things, but I did feel that his character was just there to advance a plot point.  He still did a good job with what he was given and at least he is not Terrence Howard.

     Though this movie did not head in the direction I thought it was going to go and I thought it should have taken a few more character risks, it was still really good.  Minor gripes aside, this is one of the better Marvel movies to date.  It is definitely the best Iron Man movie so far.  Though I feel they will never have the guts to tackle the "Demon in a Bottle" storyline, which is one of the best Iron Man Stories, they still have plenty they can work with.  I have faith that Joss Whedon knows where this story is going and I will put my opinions about where I think it should go or have gone aside.  We still have Thor 2, Captain America 2 and Guardians of the Galaxy to go before The Avengers 2.  Iron Man 3 is just chapter 1.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


May 2nd, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Ta, lks About His Day At C2E2


     My original plan for C2E2 was to go up there for three interviews: Diamond Dallas Page (DDP), Jake The Snake Roberts and Bruce Boxleitner.  Plans kept switching around and Jake the Snake had to cancel his trip to the convention all together.  I still had two great interviews lined up, so I wasn't really disappointed.  I was also going to have a chance to meet one of my all-time favorite actors, Ron Perlman as well.  It was going to be a great trip.  What I didn't know is just how great.

     I was supposed to interview DDP at 10:00am, so my friend/camera guy Larry and I left for Chi-town pretty early.  We got there and had to wait a bit.  I had been corresponding with DDP's representative through e-mail for months now and she gave me DDP's cell number so I could get in touch with him when I got to town.  I know, cool right?  I sent him a text letting him know we were there.  He texts back and tells us to meet him at his hotel's restaurant.  We make our way over there and play the waiting game.  Finally I see him enter the room, but he make his way into the dining area.  I shoot him a text that says "Enjoy your breakfast.  We will be waiting out in the lobby."

     As we are waiting, I see someone who every pro wrestling fan would recognize: Jake The Snake Roberts.  I mutter to Larry, "Son of a b****."  He asks me what is going on and I tell him Jake is here and we are lucky, we will be doing that interview after all.  After they eat they start to leave, so I chase after them.  It turns out they thought I was from a radio station and they wanted to do our interview at breakfast.  He tells us to follow him, so we unofficially became members of DDP & Jake's entourage.  We got to blow through every security checkpoint like it was nothing.  Long story short, I got my interview with DDP, but not Jake…yet.  You can see my interview with DDP HERE.

     I told Larry that I needed to get in line for Ron Perlman because I was not going to miss getting my Hellboy 2 limited edition poster signed by the man himself.  I got to play the waiting game for a while because his line was three lines long.  If there was a theme to this year's event, it would be "Busy, Busy, Busy!"  Near the end of the line about two or three autograph tables down, Jason David Frank, The Green Ranger, see me and yells, "Hey, what's up man!"  I wave to him, but them he runs over to me and begins to thank me for the great interview that I did with him from St. Louis Comic Con.  You can see that interview HERE.  He says to me, "When you are done here, come to my line and see me."  I played to his massive line and said, "I don't know if I could past this huge line of yours."  He says to me, "No, you come see me." And I told him I would.  As Jason left, the guy in line behind me says in a friendly tone, "Mother F*****."  I just shrugged my shoulders a little sarcastically and we all had a good laugh.  I then made my way up to meet the man himself, Ron Perlman.

     Ron Perlman is as cool as you would hope he is.  He is very nice and very chatty with his fans.  I did get a chance to ask him the status of Hellboy 3.  He told me pretty much the same thing that he revealed about four hours later at his panel.  He said that everyone wanted to do it, but getting (Guillermo) del Toro to take the time to make it.  I mentioned that del Toro always seems to have too much on his plate.  He said that was true and said that he seems to have everything BUT Hellboy 3 on that plate.  Here is IGN's story from Ron's panel.

     After I left Ron Perlman's line, I made my way over to Jason David Frank's.  The security "boy" at his table got in front of me, but Jason says, "He's press and he's with me."  He asks me if I am going to be at Chicago Comic Con and asks if I want anything off of his table.  I told him I brought our picture from St. Louis and he signed it for me.  Jason David Frank is one of the coolest guys you will ever meet.

     I then tell Larry that we have forty-five minutes until our other interview, so let's just try to interview Jake The Snake Roberts.  The worst he could say is no.  I went up to Jake and told him that I was supposed to interview him, but was told he wasn't going to be there.  I asked if we could go ahead and do it and he agreed.  You can see that interview HERE.  I can tell you that it is both one of the oddest (In a good way) AND rewarding interviews I have done so far.  Jake has come a long way when it comes to beating his past addictions.  He is in a very positive mindset about life right now and as a longtime fan of his, I am very happy for him and proud of him.  I call the interview odd only because Jake is such a character and we just had a lot of fun with the whole thing.

     We make our way down to the press room for our final interview.  My plan was to interview Bruce Boxleitner about TRON first, then introduce the guy behind his new project, Lantern City.  His rep asked if we could cover Lantern City first, which we agreed.  Before the interview, I had to scramble to flip questions and write new ones.  The interview went pretty well and I should have it edited sometime next week.  I have to say that Lantern City sounds like it is going to be a pretty cool show after hearing them talk about it.  Click the link here for more information in Lantern City.

     As tired as we were, I said to Larry, "We are in Chicago and we ARE getting Giordano's Pizza because I don't know when I will get to have it again."  I have a BIG reason for this, but I can't reveal it yet.  We went there and had a great meal and made our way home.

 

     So what was supposed to be a really good trip turned into one of the best trips of my life.  It is trips like this that make me love what I do.  I hope you all are enjoying this stuff as well.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can f, ollow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 

 

 


May 1st, 2013

 

The Reel Opinion's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Company We Keep


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     There are a certain types of movies that really peak my interest.  Cat and mouse type chase movies are one of them.  The Company You Keep is one of these types of movies and it is really pretty good…until the end.

     Sharon Solarz (Susan Sarandon) is a housewife with a past.  She used to be part of a militant group called The Weather Underground, which was responsible for a bank robbery gone wrong in Michigan in 1980.  While at a gas station, she is tracked down and arrested for her 30 year old crimes.  Jim Grant (Robert Redford) is a lawyer that is approached to defend Solarz by and, old friend of hers, but he refuses.  Then enters newspaper reporter Ben Shepard (Shia LaBeouf).  He tracks down Grant and begins to question him about everything.  He feels there is a connection between Grant and Solarz, but he has no proof.  He begins to connect the dots, but then Grant goes on the run.

     This is one of those movies that has a ton of great actors that actually uses them the right way.  I like it when a movie can use a great actor in a bit part and it doesn't feel like a cameo.  Actors like Sam Elliott (He should work more), Stephen Root and Nick Nolte are only in this movie for a few minutes each, but they do a great job at helping to move the story along.  Other than LaBeouf and Redford, most of the other actors are used pretty sparingly.  Actors like Chris Cooper, Susan Sarandon, Terrence Howard and Stanley Tucci put on really good performances even though they are overshadowed by the main two actors in screen time.

     I felt that the pacing of the movie was pretty good.  The plot is revealed to the viewer little by little and it just gives you enough to whet your appetite, but keeps you hungry for more.  You are never sure what certain characters motivations are, but that is what kept my interest.  Why is Ben Shepard so interested in finding the truth?  Is he just trying to get famous or does he truly care about justice?  Did Solarz get caught after thirty years or did she let herself get caught and why?  Why is Jim Grant running?  These are just a few of the questions that keep you guessing the whole movie.  Then we run into a problem.

     The ending of the movie is not horrible or anything, but I felt it was too simple and should have had more of an impact than it did.  One part of it makes sense and I liked, but the overall feel of the ending was way to Hollywood to fit this type of movie.  I just felt that something a little more complicated would have fit the movie better.  The ending just didn't work for me.

     All and all, this is a pretty decent movie.  If you can deal with a simple and non-complex ending to a movie with a lot of twists and turns, then you would probably like this one.  For me, the ending of the movie turned this movie from must see in the theater to a really good rental when it comes out on DVD.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is the_reel_opinion@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms