11 finalists for Illinois Teacher of the Year


Springfield (AP) -- Education officials have announced 11 finalists for Illinois Teacher of the Year. The winner will be announced Oct. 19 at a banquet in Normal.


This year's finalists include John Bierbaum at Normal Community West High School in Normal, Mark Buesing at Libertyville High School in Libertyville and Amanda Dearmond at DuQuoin Middle School in DuQuoin.


Other finalists: William Fritz at Adlai Stevenson High School in Lincolnshire, DeLores Mannes at Parker Junior High School in Flossmoor, Kerry (Fran) Meyers at Brimfield Grade School in Brimfield, Pam Reilly at Woodbury Elementary School in Sandwich, Sina Rowe at Goshen Elementary School in Edwardsville, Aaron Sitze at Oregon High School in Oregon, Amy Walsh at Tioga School in Bensenville and Donna Whitaker at West Junior High School in Belleville.

Current Conditions
  • Current Events