The Reel Opinion; Archives August 2013 - Wandtv.com, NewsCenter17, StormCenter17, Central Illinois News-

The Reel Opinion; Archives August 2013

Posted:

August 30th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Blue Jasmine

Rated PG-13

     When people think of Woody Allen, they usually attach the word "award" to the sentence.  You might be surprised, I was, that I have only seen ONE Woody Allen movie to its completion.  I am talking any movie that he stars in, wrote or directed.  I honestly thought I had seen more, but going through his list of credits I realized my mistake.  The one movie I had seen is the 1967 James Bond spoof Casino Royale, which I can't stand.  Blue Jasmine is my first real experience with a serious Woody Allen movie.  I have to say I was a bit disappointed, but not because the movie was horrible.  I will cover that in a minute.

     Jasmine's (Cate Blanchett) life has been turned upside down.  She has gone from being a rich married socialite to a single "broke" nobody.  She has to move back to San Francisco with her sister until she can get her life back together.  Through the course of the movie, we get to see her past and present life and find out how she got to where she is now.

     I will give this movie some credit for a few things first.  The acting in this movie is really good.  I enjoyed all of the characters in the movie, even the minor ones.  Actors such as Cate Blanchett and Alec Baldwin give pretty good performances, but it is the side players that really make this movie work.  I can't remember if I have every expressed my love for the FX show Louie before, but Louis CK is one of the most talented actors going today.  He has a small role in this movie, but he plays the part really well.  The little time he is on screen, you get to love and hate his character.  Sally Hawkins plays Jasmine's sister Ginger.  She has to deal with her sister judging her relationships pretty much the whole movie.  You find yourself rooting for her and booing Jasmine a lot of the time.  My favorite performance in the movie came from Andrew Dice Clay.  He played Ginger's ex-husband Augie.  I will just say that it is a shame that Clay's career pretty much got railroaded because he was ahead of his time.  He is incredible in this movie and I hope he gets more great parts like this in the future.

     I did like the way they told the stories from the past in the movie.  I can't tell you how they did it without ruining a huge plot device.  Sorry.

     The biggest problem that this movie had was that Ginger's story was way more interesting than Jasmine's.  Not that I didn't care about Jasmine's tale, but Ginger's story just felt more like real life.  I felt that I could identify with her story more than Jasmine's so it just grabbed my attention more.

     While not a bad movie, it really isn't worth the trip to the theater.  Though I enjoyed some of the performances and Ginger's story, there was not enough of what I liked to make a really strong recommendation.  One person leaving the theater the other day said, "I hope he doesn't think he'll get an award for this."  I assumed that the lady was referring to Woody Allen.  If you want to see this, rent it.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


August 29th, 2013

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Dr. Seuss' The Cat in the Hat (2003)

Rated PG

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     It is August, so it is time to go with tradition and bring back one of my favorite (or not so favorite at times) Classics series.  For the last four Thursdays I will be watching and briefly reviewing The Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Do you know I have an actual list for this and it is pretty long?  I have heard many people talk about this movie.  I have seen many reviews on it.  I finally decided to watch what many consider to be the worst movie of all time…the Mike Myers' version of The Cat in the Hat.

     This is going to be the easiest review I think I have ever written.  Why you ask?  Because there is NOTHING good I can say about this movie and I think I will run out of creative ways of saying it is terrible.

     Now, I am not the biggest fan of the book or anything, but I have seen enough The Cat in the Hat Knows a lot About That on PBS to know just WHAT the Cat in the Hat is supposed to be like.  According to this movie, The Cat is kind of perverted and disgusting.  One of the major things I didn't like about this movie is all of the sexual jokes to come from some of the characters, especially the one that your kids would be watching the closest.  I had the same problem with movies like Shrek as well.

     Put all that aside and there is still plenty more to not like.  The acting is really bad on all ends.  The story is just annoying and so are ALL of the characters.  I can't even forgive the horrible effects for the time period.  All of the Lord of the Rings movies had been released by that year and their effects were light years ahead of the ones here.

     I had to stop watching this movie more than once and almost just gave up.  I don't think even the worst movies I have ever seen have made me want to quit that bad.  I can't even really talk about this movie constructively because this thing is just chaos from beginning to end.  I think I have found a new movie that tops my list of WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME.

     Thank goodness this month is over…but next year the lineup may be even worse.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


August 28th, 2013

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews You're Next


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I like a good slasher flick every now and then, but a lot of times they come up short.  I thought the trailer for this movie looked alright, but I was never overly impressed.  After seeing it, I am still not really impressed but it was better than I thought it was going to be.

     When a family that can be described as dysfunctional at best tries to come together for a family reunion at the parent's secluded home, they are attacked by armed assailants during dinner.  These killers all wear different animal masks while they attack the family.  What the "Animals" don't know is that they may have decided to hunt the wrong family.

     If I was going to describe this movie to you in one phrase, it would be "old school slasher flick".  What I mean is that this movie felt like something that would have some out in the early to mid 80's along with movies such as Nightmare on Elm Street or Friday the 13th.  Many things reminded me of these other types of movies, but two things really stood out to me.  The first was that the kills were bloody, but they didn't always show them in graphic detail unlike many other films do today.  The best thing that stood out was the musical score of the movie.  It was very synthesized and it just made me think of older types of slasher flicks.

     The plot itself was VERY predictable.  I am not kidding when I figured out the basic plot (and twist) of the movie in the first fifteen minutes and the ENTIRE plot shortly after.  This is no joke.  Everything I thought would happen did happen when it came to all of the big surprises.  I was highly disappointed in this.  Maybe this was another nod to the old school.

     I was a bit disappointed in the movie's villains "The Animals".  I was expecting more than just jump scares and executions from them, but their actions did go along with the plot, so I can't fault them too much.

     Without ruining anything, there is a character that really stands out that reminded me of certain characters all in one from movies such as Aliens, Nightmare on Elm Street, Terminator 2…you probably get the picture now, don't you?  I just stop there.

     While not a great film, I would recommend this as a rental to slasher movie fans.  The plot is kind of weak and predictable, but the old school feel helps it to at least be entertaining.  I am surprised that it didn't do better at the Box Office.  Usually movies like this take the top spot, but this movie ended up in sixth place.  Maybe the viewing public is starting to wise up to Hollywood…let's hope.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 27th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     A lot of people ripped into this movie right away because the trailer made it look like Twilight.  I have to admit, I felt the same way the first time I saw the trailer as well.  I still tried to go into this movie with an open mind even though my gut was telling me that this was just going to be like The Host: Either a Twilight carbon copy or maybe even worse.  After watching it, I have to give it a bit more credit…because it stole from many different movies besides Twilight.

     Clary Fray (Lily Collins) begins to draw strange symbols just days before her mother disappears.  She ends up meeting Jace (Jamie Campbell Bower), who is what is known as a Shadow Hunter, or a hunter of demons.  Jace knows about Clary's mother because her mother is a hidden Shadow Hunter as well.  Clary goes on a quest to find her mother and discover who and what she is supposed to become.

     This movie really only kind of took one thing from Twilight.  Instead of a love triangle, what would you call it if FOUR people were involved?  A love square?  Anyway, though this is the weakest part of the movie, it is settled way before the end of the film, unlike a vampire series which drags it on until the werewolf marries his one true love's child…I still find that messed up.

     This movie feels more like the Underworld Series than anything.  The interesting thing about this one is that it feels like it is every creature vs. the demons, even though groups such as the vampires start some trouble.  I can't remember them all, but half-angels (The Demon Hunters), vampires and werewolves exist in this world.  I know they mentioned a few others, but I can't remember them.  Maybe they will show up in the sequel (which there are books for) if it gets made.  They did say that zombies DIDN'T exist, though.

     I can't tell you what it is, but this movie took some things from the original Star Wars Trilogy as well…and one of the things you would think they would want to avoid from those stories…but they used it and it was a little odd.

     All in all this movie wasn't that bad.  The love stories were pretty cheesy, but the plot and action was decent.  Some of the characters were a bit cartoonish, but this is a movie about werewolves, demons, vampires and demon hunters, so you can get away with some.  The movie was not the Twilight clone I feared, but a mish-mash of things from many different movies that made a somewhat entertaining film.  If you like movies such as Underworld, give this one a look when it comes out on DVD.  It is not great, but it is better than you think.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 26th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter 

 

 

Geno Reviews The World's End


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     While it is not for everybody, The Cornetto Trilogy, which is Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz and now The World's End, is a lot of fun for those that enjoy them.  Being that The World's End is the final installment of the trilogy, I wanted to see it go out with a bang.  Stick around and I will tell you if I thought that happened.

     Twenty years after failing to complete The Golden Mile Pub Crawl in his home town, Gary King (Simon Pegg) decides to get his crew back together to give it another try.  When they return to their hometown, they realize that something is wrong…something is different.

     Fans of the series can relax.  The World's End is just as good as the other two films of the series.  Just as Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz paid tribute and made fun of their respective genres, this movie did the same for sci-fi films.  Like the other movies, it uses similar humor and plot devices to move the story along.  Also, like the other movies, it is more than different enough that it doesn't feel like the same movie.

     Shaun of the Dead was ridiculous and then Hot Fuzz ramped it up more.  The World's End did what I thought would be impossible and surpassed Hot Fuzz in ridiculousness.  Of course, the ridiculousness of the plots and characters of this movie is where a lot of the charm of the films comes from.

     Simon Pegg and Nick Frost stand out above everybody else as usual, but this time they have four other actors to work alongside them and add to chaos.  Martin Freeman, Paddy Considine and Eddie Marsan all hold their own alongside Pegg and Frost.  Rosemund Pike was great as well as the girl that two of the guys fell for as children and still have a rivalry over to this day.  Also, there are a few uncredited actors playing parts that are pretty great as well.

     While it is sad to see this trilogy end, it did go out with a bang the way that I hoped it would.  I am glad that actors like Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are getting the credit and work they have worked hard for and deserve.  The World's End is by far one of the funniest movies of the year and I feel that it is going to be hard to beat.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


August 23rd, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Jobs


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I really wanted this movie to surprise me.  I wanted to think that Ashton Kutcher would do a great job as Steve Jobs.  When the movie started, Kutcher was portraying an older version of the computer pioneer…and it was working.  I was starting to get comfortable with the idea of taking Kutcher seriously for once, but then the rest of the movie happened.

     This movie follows the rise, fall and rise again of Steve Jobs, co-creator of Apple Computers.  We follow him mostly through his younger years, with one small glimpse into his later ones.  We follow him through all of his triumphs and failures as both a businessman and a person.

     I'm sorry, but after the first part of the movie, I just couldn't buy Kutcher's performance.  I just felt like he was trying too hard.  On Gizmodo.com, the real Steve Wozniak, not the one portrayed by Josh Gad, said "I suspect a lot of what was wrong with the film came from Ashton's own image of Jobs."  If you want to read the article, you can find it HERE.  Kutcher did seen to have Jobs's mannerisms down, but I still had a problem believing that he was the tech giant.

     I was a little disappointed that the movie only mostly covered the Apple portion of what was Steve Jobs.  They did cover NeXT a little bit, but I would have liked to see some about his involvement with Pixar and Disney.  Maybe there were some legal issues there.

     I also felt that the movie skipped around a little too much.  There were a couple of times some pretty significant things happened that you just kind of get to discover.  They cover mostly the business side of Jobs with minor details about his personal life, but then a big personal thing would happen as if to say, "Oh by the way, this happened as well."  I would have liked them to tell a broader story and give us more details about his personal life during his time at Apple.  I also thought they just barely skimmed over big things like the Steve Jobs vs. Bill Gates rivalry.

     I didn't get the surprise I wanted from this movie, which was that I wanted to see Kutcher as Steve Jobs and not Michael Kelso.  Aaron Sorkin, writer of the Facebook movie The Social Network is working on a Steve Jobs movie for Sony based on Steve Jobs's official biography, so hopefully I will get the movie I want from that…of I could just watch The Pirates of Silicon Valley again.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


August 22nd, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Bridget Jones's Diary

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     It is August, so it is time to go with tradition and bring back one of my favorite (or not so favorite at times) Classics series.  For the last two Thursdays I will be watching and briefly reviewing The Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Do you know I have an actual list for this and it is pretty long?  I am not a big fan of romantic comedies, but I have been won over a few times.  Can Bridget Jones's Diary be one of those that win me over?

     I just got done watching the movie and I have to say it was not as bad as I thought it was going to be.  Now don't get me wrong.  I am not a BJD convert or anything, but even thought I found the love story to be rather goofy, I still rooted for Bridget and Mark.  It helped that I don't like Hugh Grant very much as well.  Near the end you were never sure if they were going to end up together.  I am sure conventional wisdom back then would have had me thinking differently, but since I know that a sequel came out in 2004 I was unsure of the outcome.

     There is some decent humor in this movie, but a lot of it just comes from the awkward nature of the characters.  It wasn't really laugh out loud funny, but I found myself chuckling now and then.

     The fight scene between Mark and Daniel is by far the best part of the movie.  The battle between the two is about as inexperienced and goofy as you can get.  I found this part to be very funny and entertaining.

     While not a great movie, I at least was somewhat entertained by this one…but I don't think I am going to go rush to see the next one…until maybe next August???

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 21st, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Butler


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     This is the movie that won the Box Office this weekend.  Did it deserve it?  Yes, yes it did.  Is it a really good movie?  Yes, yes it is.  Is it the great movie everyone is saying it is?  Sadly, no it is not and I will tell you why in a moment.

     This movie mainly follows the lives of Cecil Gaines (Forest Whitaker) and his oldest son Louis Gaines (David Oyelowo).  We follow Cecil as he comes up from the cotton fields of the south to end up becoming a butler at the White House, in which he gets to witness some of the biggest moments in presidential and government history.  We follow Louis as he follows different paths to fight for civil rights.

     I will say that even though this movie felt a little long, it was still very good.  The only reason I won't say this is one of the best movies of the year is that some of the casting was just way off.  Really, most of the bad casting involved who they got to play some of the different Presidents of the United States.  The worst was John Cusack as Richard Nixon.  He didn't look or sound much like our 37th President.  Some of the Presidents just came off a bit strange like Liev Schreiber as Lyndon B. Johnson and James Marsden and John F. Kennedy.  I don't know if Johnson liked doing meetings from the toilet, but the movie showed it.  Also, I think Marsden's impression of Kennedy is like one you would hear someone butcher at a party.

     That is not to say all of them were bad.  Robin Williams played the role of Dwight D. Eisenhower straight and in the looks department; you could have fooled me with Alan Rickman as Ronald Reagan.

     The rest of the cast was either good or even great.  Of course, Forest Whitaker steals the show as always.  Even though I don't see this movie winning any best picture awards, I could see him getting a few.

     While I feel that this movie didn't need all the star power, even cast members I don't normally like were pretty good.  My gripes about the casting of the Presidents are minor at best, so this is still one I would recommend for the theaters.  You have likable and/or identifiable characters and a great story of hope and redemption.  Check it out.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 20th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Kick-A** 2

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     The first time I saw Kick-A**, I wasn't too impressed.  It took a second viewing for me to really start to like it.  I guess I just didn't get it the first time, I don't really know.  From what I understand, they wrote the second comic book SO they could make a movie out of it.  Now that I had a full understanding of what this movie is trying to say, I was ready for this one to come out.

     A few years after the events of the first movie, Dave Lizewski aka Kick-A** (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) returns to crime fighting after a very short absence.  It turns out he has inspired many other citizens to john the fight, which is good because he now has to deal with an old "friend" that has become the world's first supervillain.

     I wanted this movie to be more outrageous and ridiculous than the first one, but it actually came off a little tame in a few aspects.  The violence and the humor were escalated and just as if not more raunchy, but the plot itself felt a little lacking.  The movie deals with keeping promises, growing up and dealing with the consequences of your actions, but the pacing seems a bit too slow at times.

     , I loved the old characters and the new characters as well.  Red Mist's "rebirth" as The Motherf***er (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) is about as ridiculous as you can get.  He is rich and almost doesn't care about anybody else but himself.  I love the way he describes himself as an Evil Batman.  Kick-A** is about the same in this movie, but gets a little more motivation this time around to fight crime.  Hit-Girl (Chloe Grace Moretz) is a little older in this movie and is now a confused fifteen year old.  When she is in action, she is more ruthless than in the first movie (which is a very good thing).

     Even though he has been speaking out against this movie, Jim Carrey (Colonel Stars & Stripes) is my favorite of the new characters.  He plays a former mafia enforcer turned born again Christian a** kicker.  Along with his dog Eisenhower, he pretty much steals any scene he is in.  He is ruthless with any criminal he comes across, especially when it comes to pedophiles.

     All the other new characters, from the good guys to the bad guys, have their own "charm" as well.  The bad guys are especially ridiculous because The Motherf***er gave them all very politically incorrect names.

     Though it wasn't as good as I had hoped I still really enjoyed it.  I will probably see it again like I did the first one so I can pass my final judgment on it.  Fans of the first one will probably feel the way I feel as well.  People that didn't like the first one are not going to be swayed by this one.  Fans should support this in the theater so we can get the third, and from the comics author Mark Millar, and final chapter in movie form.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 


August 19th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Paranoia

Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I was looking forward to this movie because it would be the first time since Air Force One that Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman have been in a movie together.  I really like both actors, so I was hoping to get something special from this movie.

     After being fired from his job then misusing the company credit card, Entry-level employee Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) is "rehired" by his former boss Nicolas Wyatt (Gary Oldman).  His job: Go to work for Wyatt's former mentor/now rival Jock Goddard (Harrison Ford) and steal his new revolutionary secret product.

     Though I really didn't find this movie to be anything really special or original, I still found it to be pretty entertaining.  The plot of the movie was a pretty predicable, run of the mill espionage thriller but it still kept my interest.

     While not really unlikeable, I found Liam Hemsworth to be kind of a bland and uninteresting lead character.  Also, his character's "rel, ationship" with Emma (Amanda Heard) feels kind of forced and fake, even though it is not supposed to be.  Of course, they aren't the reason most people are going to want to see this movie.

     Though they are not in the movie as much as I would have liked, I really enjoyed all of the scenes with Harrison Ford, Gary Oldman or even better both of them.  Oldman always makes a compelling bad guy a, nd it is nice to see Harrison Ford play a bad guy for a change.  From what I can remember, he has only played the bad guy in one other movie, but if I said which one, it would be a huge spoiler for that film.  Ford and Oldman's scenes together might not be as intense as the ones in Air Force One, but they are still pretty good.

     This one is a rental all the way.  I expected a movie called Paranoia to deal with…you know…paranoia a bit more, but it only had one small section of the movie devoted to it.  The rest of the movie was just an unoriginal cookie cutter thriller, but at least it is a somewhat interesting one.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 16th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Disney's Planes


Rated PG

     I am not a fan of Cars.  I thought the first one was okay, but really wasn't a fan of the second one.  I did like the Mater's Tall Tales because I think the character of Mater is decent in small doses.  I was afraid that Planes was going to be pretty much the same movie as Cars and as it turns out, I was right.

     Dusty Crophopper (Dane Cook) is a cropdusting plane that has dreams of competing in an around the world aerial race.  We find out that he has a lot to learn about himself, his friends and what it means to be a champion.

     I want it to be known that I did give this movie a fair shake.  I tried to go into this movie with an open mind, but I just knew that Disney would stick to the formula that "worked" for Cars.

     Surprisingly, there is only one character (that I could find, anyway) from either Cars 1 or 2.  Brent Mustangburger (Brent Musburger) is the announcer for the race again.  I was surprised that, with this being the "World of Cars", they would have had a Lightning McQueen or Mater cameo in there somewhere.  They did have a couple of familiar voices playing different parts.  Pixar veterans Brad Garrett (Chug) and John Ratzenberger (Harland) both return to lend their voices to the project.

     A while ago, I found out that Pixar (from what I can tell) had NOTHING to do with this movie.  I wonder if they are going to piggyback on other Pixar stories now that they are an all digital animation studio?  Incredibles 2 or A Bugs Life 2 anyone?

     Though I really didn't dig the story or many of the characters in this film, I did find one set of casting pretty funny.  Val Kilmer and Anthony Edwards play Bravo and Echo, two Air Force fighter jets.  I give the makers of this movie credit for some decent Top Gun humor.  It would have been even better if they could have been called Iceman and Goose.

     I was surprised by a couple of things in this movie.  The first one was that there is a pretty dark sequence involving World War 2 that might be a little much for the younger viewer.  It has a surprisingly adult theme.  For an adult, it is probably the best made part of the movie, but it might scare the kids.  The other thing that surprised me was the amount of jokes about...um how should I say it?  Bodily waste.  I lost count around five and there were plenty more.  One of the final jokes of the movie is one. 

     This movie reminded me of Cars, of course, but it also of this year's Turbo.  It had a similar story of being more than you were created to be.  The humor and character types definitely are pretty similar to Cars.  I guess if you loved Cars, you will probably like this one as well.

But remember, it's only just one guy's opinion

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 


August 15th, 2013

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Happening (2008)

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     It is August, so it is time to go with tradition and bring back one of my favorite (or not so favorite at times) Classics series.  For the last four Thursdays I will be watching and briefly reviewing The Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Do you know I have an actual list for this and it is pretty long.  For the second year in a row, I have a M. Night Shyamalan movie on the list.  Last year it was The Last Airbender.  This year, it is The Happening.

     It is pretty sad when you can figure out "The Shyamalan Twist" within a few minutes of the movie starting.  I won't ruin it for those that haven't seen this lousy movie, but one of the main characters gives it up pretty quick.  I think Shyamalan was trying to be clever and subtle, but "The Twist" clues will hit you like a freight train.

     The acting in this movie is pretty bad.  Mark Wahlberg does his very best to seem like a smart scientist, but just comes off sounding very unintelligent.  I normally like Zooey Deschanel, but she doesn't do a very good job either.  John Leguizamo, who is USUALLY really good, comes off okay, but even he can't save this movie.

     I may be a little demented, but am I the only one that found the deaths in this movie hilarious?  I know the deaths in this movie were supposed to be shocking and violent, but I found them to be funny and stupid.

     If the plot and "The Twist" of this had not been so easy to figure out, would I have liked this movie.  Absolutely not!  There is enough to not like here that this movie really has no chance of redemption.  I guess if I still drank you could make a drinking game out of things like our two main characters forgetting that their lives are in danger while they try to fix their marriage or when someone dies in a hilarious way.  I know I joke, but as of right now, Shyamalan has only made one movie that I really like, Unbreakable, and one I think is just okay, The Sixth Sense.  Other than that, the guy just don't impress me.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

  &n, bsp;  Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 14th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Presents Pros and Comic Cons 2013 Part 1

     Today and on Wednesday next week I will present my pros and cons of going to Comic Con.  I want Wizard to know that I love coming and covering their events.  They have been nothing but good to me as professionals and acquaintances.  I just want them to bear with me as I present this two part piece.  This is not a smear story or a puff piece.  This is a collection of my own thoughts, and some anonymous attendee's thoughts, from the perspective of a show goer.  As a journalist, I have to be as honest as I can which sometimes is to a fault.  Today I present the cons of going to Comic Con.

The Cons:

     Once again I made my yearly trek up to Rosemont for Wizard World Chicago.  Once again I got to meet some great celebrities and pick up some cool stuff that most of the time you can't get anywhere else.  I never really had a problem with going to show and doing what I wanted to do.  Earlier this year I got to go to Wizard World St. Louis.  Now after going to the Chicago show I noticed something.  I think the Chicago show might be getting a bit too big.

     One of the reasons that I kind of never want to make the trek to San Diego is that I hear horror stories about not having time to do anything but wait to see one or two things.  You have to line up for hours to get to view that new Captain America footage or see the panel of your favorite TV show.  Now I am a big geek and I love to see stuff like that, but there has to be a limit.

     I waited in line for five hours one time to meet Spawn creator Todd McFarlane and I have waited in line to see the very first footag, e of The Dark Knight in Chicago my second year at Comic Con.  Until the last couple of years, that was the worst things I have gone through.  When I met Stan Lee last year in Chicago, I waited for a few hours.  I didn't think it was a big deal at the time.  I mean, come on, it is STAN LEE!  I didn't meet him in St. Louis this year, but I saw that the lines were packed just the same.  He was only there for a day and a half, so a packed line was no surprise.

     After seeing the St. Louis show, I was getting a little nostalgic for the Wizard World Chicago of the past.  The St Louis show was a, lot smaller, had less guests and it was easier to do more things at.  You didn't spend a ton of time in lines.

     One fan that was waiting to meet Norman Reedus, Daryl from The Walking Dead, said, "I have been waiting for over two hours to meet him.  I feel that if I don't spend the extra money to meet him, I won't have time to do anything else but wait in this one line."  The fan was referring to paying for a VIP Experience.  I myself have taken advantage of the VIP Ticket just about every year that I have gone.  One problem that I have noticed is that they may be selling too many of the tickets.  I don't know how many Norman Reedus VIP Experience Tickets they sold this year, but it seemed like the VIP line would never end.  I did not even get through the line for Reedus because I had to be somewhere else for pictures.  I know that money is an ultimate motivation and that is okay, but I think it comes to a point where the general fan experience gets ruined.

     I understood the VIP Ticket when they sold less of them and it meant something.  They used to sell out of different ones, which meant that those that chose to spend the money got the advantage.  They used to sell different tiers of them as well.  They had Platinum, Gold, Silver and regular VIP if my memory serves me right.  Basically, the more you pay, the more (and faster) you play.

     I also wonder if they realize the size of their event.  The number of people that come every year is larger and larger.  With word of mouth, the internet and social media, the event has grown into a monster.  Do I think that they are causing problems on purpose?  Of course not, but I do think that there is a lot of room for improvement.  They do seem to tackle some of the problems each year.  I do think that they listen to the fans each year and try to improve.

     Next week I will talk about the pros of going to Comic Con and also talk about the experiences I had with the celebrities that I got to meet during the con.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

,

 

 

 

 


August 13th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Mick Foley's Tales From Wrestling Past


     Last year at Chicago's Days of the Dead, I had a chance to see Rowdy Roddy Piper and Mick Foley put on a comedy show.  It consisted of a lot of funny wrestling stories that a fan like me both knew and never heard before.  Though a little out of control, it was a great show.  Both men know how to control a crowd.  Last Wednesday, I got a chance to see Mick Foley's Tales From Wrestling Past in Peoria at the Jukebox Comedy Club.  I knew it was going to be good, but it was even better than I ever imagined.

     Mick Foley definitely knows how to tell a good story.  Sure as a fan I had heard a few of them before, but he even offered up new information on some of the stories I had already heard.  I don't want to ruin it for anybody interested in seeing the show, but he talked about ALL of the things that were said DURING his Hell in the Cell Match with The Undertaker.  You know, the one where he was THROWN off of the cell.

     One thing that I though he did well was he tried to keep the non-wrestling fans in the loop when he used wrestling terminology.  He didn't just want this to JUST be for the wrestling fan.  I still would say the majority of the crowd was wrestling fans, but plenty of them dragged along their non-wrestling fan significant others.

     I don't know if it is going to come around again, but if it does and you are a fan of having a great time, check out Mick Foley's Tales From Wrestling Past.  If it doesn't, but comes out on DVD, check it out there.  It is totally worth every minute.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 


August 12th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Elysium

Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     You all know me by now.  You know I love a good sci-fi movie.  While I didn't love District 9, I did like it pretty well.  I was really looking forward to this movie because I have been waiting for Matt Damon to return to action films for a while.  And by action films, I mean the ones where he gets to do a little head bashing…not the ones where he gets his you know what handed to him like in The Green Zone.

     In the year 2154, the wealthy people have relocated to Elysium, a space station that orbits the planet, while the rest of humanity lives on a desolated Earth.  When ex-con Max (Matt Damon) becomes very sick and is going to die in less than a week, he decides to find a way up to Elysium.  Elysium is the only place that has the technology that can cure him.  What he doesn't know is that his mission of self-preservation will become much more important than he ever imagined.

     I have to hand it to writer/director Neill Blomkamp.  He knows how to make a dirty and gritty sci-fi movie.  Like the slums in District 9, the Earth that he has created is, in a word, hopeless.  You get this feeling that all hope is lost, even though some people are trying to make things better.  Also, everything in this world is just dirty and kind of gross.  Even the hospitals seem very unsanitary.

     I love all of the characters in this movie, with the exception of one.  I will cover that in a bit.  Matt Damon's character is really good because you get to see him change quite a bit.  He teeters between selfishness and savior quite a bit.  Sharlto Copley's character Kruger is incredible and probably my favorite character in the whole movie.  Kruger is a type of ex-special forces mercenary that is the man that is hired to do the missions that the government of Elysium wants off the record.  Let's just say he is kind of intense.  The only character I didn't like was Jodie Foster's.  She plays the Defense Secretary on Elysium.  She just played the part a little too over the top for me.  Surrounded by all of these great characters, she came off a bit ridiculous.  She's bad, but not enough to ruin the movie.

     I love the technology that was created or modified for this movie.  The robots, guns and Max' exosuit are really cool.  Bullets for some of the weapons are modified to do different things.  I also loved that there is a HUGE difference in the quality of the tech between Earth and Elysium.  The rich have the better toys, so to speak.  Though there was not enough of it, wait till you see the ChemRail.

     This movie is a very violent, dirty and gritty sci-fi film.  It has some really great action, effects and characters.  I think that if Neill Blomkamp keeps trying to make these types of movies, he is eventually going to make a sci-fi movie that will be one of the greats.  Elysium is a step in the right direction.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 9th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters


Rated PG

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I am kind of sad.  I just watched the first Percy Jackson movie not too long ago and though the effects weren't the best, it was still kind of a fun adventure movie with some decent characters and decent twists.  I was pretty excited for the sequel, but after watching it, I wondered where it went so wrong.

     The movie takes place a few years after the first film.  Percy Jackson (Logan Lerman) is still training at Camp Half-Blood to be a hero, but after his big adventure in the first movie, he has been a little depressed.  He has not really felt useful and also he is being overshadowed by the daughter of Aries, Clarisse (Leven Rambin).  When the tree that supplies the force field that protects the camp is poisoned and Percy is named in a prophecy about a quest, he goes on another adventure to save the future from evil.

     For everything that made the first movie great, the sequel just seemed to get it all wrong.  It started off strong with the idea of a new quest and some new, fun characters.  After the quest began, the movie just went downhill.

     The change in the characters was the worst part.  You would think after, from what I remember, seven years of training, Percy would know how to use his powers better.  Plus, after the quest beings, he seems to forget how to fight.  Annabeth (Alexandra Dadario) changed the most.  She was a pretty tough girl in the first movie.  She hardly did ANYTHING in this movie action-wise.  Grover (Brandon T. Jackson), who was really funny in the first movie, was hardly in this one.  I did like new characters Clarisse and Tyson (Douglas Smith), though.  I was disappointed that Pierce Brosnan didn't return as Chiron.  He was replaced by Anthony Head.

     Not having hardly ANY of the Greek gods show up was a really bad idea.  Sure they showed up in the glowing of weapons and things like that, but not in their physical form.  I did like Nathan Fillion as Hermes, though.  He is always very funny.

     They also cover the "relationship" between Percy and Annabeth.  They were kind of getting together at the end of the first one, but they seemed to be just friends in this one and the movie didn't explain why.  They did talk a lot about family and learning not to judge a book by its cover.

     Without ruining everything for you, I can't really talk a lot about what I didn't like about this movie.  It felt just like a missed opportunity since the first one was s, o fun.  The movie isn't terrible, but it does not hold a candle to the first one.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 

 

 


August 8th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Alice In Wonderland (2010)

Rated PG

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     It is August, so it is time to go with tradition and bring back one of my favorite (or not so favorite at times) Classics series.  For the last four Thursdays I will be watching and briefly reviewing The Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Do you know I have an actual list for this and it is pretty long.  I am not the biggest fan of Tim Burton, but I usually at least give his movies a chance.  My biggest problem with his movies is that he is a victim of his own style.  He always seems to have to have a doom and gloom feel to all of his movies.

     To my surprise, this movie isn't a remake of the original story, but a sort of pseudo sequel to the Disney cartoon.  It turns out that Alice has been there before, but until late into the movi, e she chalks it up to dreams.  I kind of liked that take on the story.

     Though many might disagree with me, I actually think that the Tim Burton style kind of works for this story.  I know this is might be an odd reference, but the reason I think this is because of a 1985 music video from Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers called Don't Come Around Here No More.  That is the first time I ever saw a Non-Disney version of Alice in Wonderland and I tho, ught it was really creative.  Now I don't think every bit of imagery worked, such as the Queen's big head or Tweedledee and Tweedledum, but the idea of using a darker style fits this universe.

     I know that Johnny Depp is a really great actor, but they tried to make him the focal point of the movie in a way and it did not go over well.  This movie should be about Alice, plain and simple.  Johnny Depp's version of the Mad Hatter was alright, but just a bit over the top.

     I liked the idea of Alice having to grow up and become the hero that Wonderland needs.  I like Mia Wasikowska as Alice, even though it is hard to look at her playing someone innocent after watching Stoker.

     I didn't love the movie because a lot of the effects and some of the characters being changed so dramatically, but the movie wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be.  Though I don't think they need to make one, there is apparently plans to make a sequel.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


August 7th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews We're The Millers


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     I was in need of a good comedy.  I had kind of a rough day on Tuesday.  I needed to lau, gh.  I went to go , , , , , see We're The Millers Tuesday night.  I got to laugh.

     This movie follows four very different characters that all have something missing in life.  After pot dealer David (Jason Sudeikis) gets robbed of all of his stash and money, his boss offers him a deal that he can't refuse: Go to Mexico and get a "smidge…and a half" of pot and smuggle it back into the U.S. and all of David's debt is forgiven.  Don't do it and he is a dead man.  To look less inconspicuous crossing the border, David hires stripper Rose (Jennifer Aniston), his geeky neighbor Kenny (Will Poulter) and "gutter punk" Casey (Emma Roberts) to be his fake family.

     This movie is a bit of a strange breed of movie.  This had to be one of the most predictable, ridiculous and goofy comedies I have seen in a while, but I still found myself having a good time with it.  A lot of the stupidity just worked for me.  I had this bad feeling that it would rely on one type of humor, but it really mixed it up quite a bit.  It made good use of different types of comedy such as raunchy, physical and gross-out amongst others to stay pretty entertaining.

     The plot of the movie is pretty ridiculous, but you want to watch just to see where it is going to go anyway.  Even for a comedy, it still had a pretty hard to believe story.  I went into this movie just wanting to have fun, and I got what I came for.

     If you have seen the trailer for this, you have pretty much seen most of the movie.  There is a twist or two thrown in, but they are pretty predictable.  You will probably figure out what is going to happen pretty quickly, but if you just ignore that and enjoy the ride, I think you will still have a pretty good time with this one.

     I wouldn't say rush out to the theaters to see this one, but it was one of the better "less intelligent" straight up comedies to come out in a while.  It would make a pretty fun rental, though.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


August 6th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox


Rated PG-13

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     In honor of Chicago Comic Con being this week, I am going to do things a little differently today.  Instead of reviewing something that is in the theaters, I am going to review someth, ing that is out on DVD.  Last week, one of the BEST DC animated movies I have seen in a while came out.  Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox is brutal, action packed, heartbreaking and heart-warming all in one.

     Barry Allen aka The Flash (Justin Chambers) is visiting his mother's grave when there is a distress call from The Flash Museum.  The Flash goes to investigate and end up in a battle with The Rogues, a group of The Flash's enemies.  They are being led by his arch nemesis Professor Zoom (C. Thomas Howell), the evil Flash from the future.  After the Justice League comes and helps The Flash get the better of the villains, Zoom taunts The Flash about not being able to save his mother.  After The Flash and Batman (Kevin Conroy) talk for a bit and The Dark Knight tries to convince The Flash not to let Zoom get to him.  The Flash says that he just needs to run it off.  The next day he wakes up, but everything is different.  He discovers that the world has changed.  Some villains are heroes and some heroes don't even exist.  The biggest problem is that Atlantis, led by Aquaman, and Themiscyra, led by Wonder Woman, are at war, which could destroy the Earth.  It is up to The Flash, and whatever heroes he can find, to figure out what has happened.

     The animation of this movie is top notch.  While the style might not be for everyone, I thought the pseudo-anime style really worked well for this story.  The use of colors in this cartoon helped to set the tone of the movie.  Most of the time this movie is kind of depressing and the color pallet helped to tell the story.

     The story has a lot of emotion running through it.  There are moments of triumph and heartbreak that will keep you invested the whole time.  I was glued to my screen the entire movie, wondering what was going to happen next.  There is a moment at the end of the movie that makes one of the characters uncharacteristically cry…and it almost made me cry as well.

     The greatest asset to this movie is the voice cast.  Veterans such as Kevin Conroy, THE voice of Batman, Ron Perlman (Deathstroke ) and Nathan Fillion (Green Lantern) join new stars such as Justin Chambers (The Flash) and Michael B. Jordan (Cyborg) to make one of the BEST voice casts I have ever heard in an animated movie.  I think that the stand-out performance belongs to Kevin McKidd, who starred in the underrated NBC show Journeyman.  The problem with telling you WHO he plays would ruin part of the plot, but I will just say he plays the alternate version of one of the greatest superheroes of all time.  It is a very different and scary take on what would happen in somebody else became this hero.

     I have not read the comics this movie is based on, but now I want to.  This movie has EVERYTHING a fan of DC superheroes would want.  There is tons of action, a great story with a lot of heart and one of the best old school/new school voice casts I have ever heard.  While I will not say this is my favorite DC animated film of all time, that would still be Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker, I will say that this one has staked its claim near the top of the list.  While not for a younger audience, this one would be entertaining for the more mature comic book fan.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 

 

 


, August 5th, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews 2 Guns


Rated R

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     2 Guns is based on a graphic novel produced by BOOM! Studios.  This is not the first non-superhero graphic novel to be made into a feature film or a successful TV show.  Movies like A History of Violence, Road to Perdition (One of my favorite movies of all time) and TV shows like The Walking Dead prove that a great comic doesn't have to be about superheroes.  While I haven't read the 2 Guns graphic novel, I kind of want to after seeing this movie.

     Bobby Trench (Denzel Washington) and Michael "Stig" Stigman (Mark Wahlberg) are planning to rob a bank.  What each of them doesn't know is the real reason the other guy is doing the job.  What each of them doesn't know also is that the guy is working undercover for different branches of the government.

     If this movie is anything, it is a lot of fun.  Though there are better action movies as well as better graphic novel adaptations, this movie still delivers where it counts.  I am a fan of a good shoot-em up and this movie had some pretty good stuff.  When the action is on, it is really on.  This movie also has some pretty decent humor as well.  While not funny all of the time, it has some good jokes when the moments are right.

     The plot of the movie has a lot of twists and turns that are given away in the trailer for the movie, like the undercover twist I mentioned earlier, which is kind of unfortunate.  The good thing is there are more twists in the movie that you may or may not see coming.  Even if you see them coming, they are still pretty entertaining.

     I don't know why this stood out for me, but I loved the use of colors in this movie.  I think that a lot of the movie was toned down in the color department so that when bright colors were used, they would really stand out.  A lot of browns were used to accomplish this.  There is a scene involving a red antique car that just stood out because the other colors around it felt muted.

     By far the most fun part of the movie is the ridiculous and/or outrageous villains.  Two of them stood out as the most caricaturistic or cartoonish were Earl (Bill Paxton) and Papi Greco (Edward James Olmos).  Paxton seemed to be having the most fun acting like a warped 60's Batman villain.  He was extremely violent and his attempts at humor were really bad, but funny in a strange sort of way.  Olmos was more of a classic type of villain, but a caricature of one at the same time.  He just knows how to play a part, whether or not he is the villain or the hero.  I am always happy to see him in a movie because his presence always makes a project better.  I look forward to seeing what he does in Machete Kills.

     While not the best film based on a graphic novel out there, this is still a pretty good one.  I have not read the comic this is based on so I don't know how faithful it is, but as I always say, "This ain't no book review".  This movie is a lot of fun, but if you don't go see it in the theaters, at least give it a look when it comes out on video.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Question, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-, mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno

 

 

 

 


,

August 2nd, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno Reviews The Smurfs 2

 

 

 

Rated PG

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     So we go from me reviewing The Smurfs yesterday to reviewing The Smurfs 2 today, but I kind of feel like I am reviewing the same movie.  The sequel had a lot of the problems that the original had, some extremely minor improvements and some new, bigger problems.

     Smurfette (Katy Perry) has always felt left out because she was created and turned into a true smurf.  After she thinks that the other Smurfs forget her birthday, she runs off.  Back on our world, Gargamel (Hank Azaria) has become a world famous magician with the last remaining smurf essence he had from the last movie.  He is running out, so he creates two new bad smurfs, The Naughties, to go and capture Smurfette because she knows how to turn The Naughties blue.  With that spell, he can create an army of Naughties that he can take essence from forever.  Smurfette is captured and it is up to the other Smurfs to save her.

     The plot of the movie is practically the same with some minor differences.  As I said in The Reel First Impression, to me this is pretty much the same smurfing movie.  If you smurfed the first one, you will smurf this one.

     This next thing is both a positive and a negative.  It also goes with the argument I made yesterday about the movie just being about The Smurf's world.  This movie has cameos from some really great talent playing different Smurfs.  There are too many to name, but I feel that all of these cameos are a waste.  When you have actors like Jimmy Kimmel, Alan Cumming, Jeff Foxworthy, Paul Reubens and many others just doing cameos, it just makes you wonder what could have been.

     This movie did something that I am getting really tired of in movies and that is have a character that, whether or not it is intentional, comes off as mentally handicapped and is supposed to be one of the major comic relief's of the movie.  One of the Naughties, Hackus (JB Smooth) acts and talks like someone that has a handicap and that is beginning to drive me nuts.  As I have mentioned before, I have a son with some developmental disabilities.  I do not find characters in movies that act like this funny.  I know the filmmakers would probably say he is just acting stupid, but there is a pretty big difference between a character just being less intelligent and one that acts a certain way because that is the way they are made.  Am I being too sensitive?  Maybe, but remember, this is MY opinion.

  &n, bsp;  Put th, at last part aside and I feel the same way about this movie that I did the last one.  I feel that both movies have wasted opportunities to tell interesting stories not being in the world of The Smurfs.  Maybe they will do that for part three…wait, what just happened during the credits?  Could it be?…

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 

 

 


August 1st, 2013

 

The Reel Geno's Facebook Page

Follow me on Twitter

 

 

 

Geno's Movies He Swore He Would Never Watch...

Rated PG

Minor Spoilers Ahead!!!

     It is August, so it is time to go with tradition and bring back one of my favorite (or not so favorite at times) Classics series.  For the next five Thursdays I will be watching and briefly reviewing The Movies I Swore I Would Never Watch.  Do you know I have an actual list for this and it is pretty long.  Since the sequel to The Smurfs is coming out this week and I will have my review of it on Friday, I found it only fitting that I review a movie that is based on a cartoon that I loved as a child.

     Why in the smurf did they have to take The Smurfs out of their own universe for this movie?  There is enough cool stuff to fill an entire movie with in that fantasy/medieval place.  Why did they have to bring it to our world?

     Do you remember the time that The Smurfs helped Doogie Howser MD keep his job at a cosmetics firm by inspiring the advertising campaign?  Do you remember the time that Smurfs, who are from a medieval time and place, knew slang that would only exist in our world?  Do you remember when Smurfs used the world "smurf" to replace words that should not be said in a kid's movie?

     I know I am joking a bit, but this movie could have been so much better if they would have just kept the story in The Smurf's realm.  There is years of books, comics and cartoons that they could have drawn a great story from, but instead they made the same mistake that The Masters of the Universe movie made back in 1987.  They brought great characters to "our world" because they thought that the opposite nature of the whole thing would be funny, but it wasn't.  I am all for a "fish out of water" story, but it didn't work very well here.

     At least they got the characters right…when they were around.  We only got to see more than six smurfs at the beginning and end of the movie.  That I was not a fan of.  I know that the single personality of each of the smurfs can get old, so they should have done what the show did and mix up the characters, not just stayed with a core six.

     If the new movie is anything like this one, I am not looking forward to it.  From the looks of the trailer, it is going to be more of the same.  The Smurfs were so cool, so I , was pretty disappointed with this one.  Maybe, just maybe they will smurf themselves a better movie the second time around.

Remember, it's only just one guy's opinion.

Geno

     Questions, comments or disagreements? Contact me on Facebook. Hit this link and like it. I also now have an e-mail address you can contact me at. It is TheReelGeno@yahoo.com. I am also on Twitter. You can follow me @TheReelGeno 


Powered by WorldNow

904 South Side Drive
Decatur, IL 62521
Primary Phone: 217-424-2500
Primary Email: news@wandtv.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014, WorldNow and WAND. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms