13 Counties considered disaster areas


Springfield - Governor Pat Quinn declared more Illinois counties as disaster areas. There are now 13 counties considered disaster areas.


List of counties included:

  • Douglas
  • Pope
  • Jasper
  • Wabash
  • Wayne
  • Will
  • Champaign
  • Grundy
  • LaSalle
  • Massac
  • Tazewell
  • Washington
  • Woodford


"Yesterday I saw firsthand the devastation caused by these deadly storms," Governor Quinn said. "While the recovery will be long and hard, we will work in the coming days, weeks and months to assist these communities and help the people who live there rebuild their lives."


Those who wish to volunteer in person should not go to the disaster scene, since there are far more volunteer offers than there are volunteer needs, and the arrival of unexpected volunteers will interfere with recovery efforts.


These Red Cross Locations will help utilize volunteers and donations:


Gifford (Champaign County). American Red Cross-Central Illinois chapter, (217) 351-5861.


Coal City (Grundy County). Coal City High School, Mr. Rich Kapinus, (815) 207-0926.


Washington County. No need for volunteers or donations at this time.


City of Washington (Tazewell County). Call (309) 573-4035.

Current Conditions
  • Current Events