Several Illinois counties to receive IEPA grants

SPRINGFIELD - On Tuesday, Illinois Environmental Protection Agency officials announced that 19 communities will receive more than $1.5 million in grants to inspect pollution-control facilities, like landfills, and to investigate complaints about illegal dumping.

Officials also say that those communities must use the money to hire and train landfill inspectors under state requirements.

According to EPA Director Lisa Bonnett, partnerships with local authorities help taxpayers, and that city and county officials are more familiar with their communities and can respond to complaints more quickly.

Money will be awarded to the Ambraw Valley Solid Waste Agency, with includes the city of Chicago and Richmond, Crawford, and Lawrence counties.  Other counties that will receive grants include DuPage, Macon, Christian, Jackson, Madison, LaSalle, Montgomery, Perry, St. Clair, Sangamon, Vermilion, Will, Wayne, McHenry, Ogle, Lake and Tazewell.

Current Conditions
  • Current Events