Emerald ash borer continues to spread across Illinois

SPRINGFIELD - Illinois Department of Agriculture officials have confirmed emerald ash borer infestations in 14 new counties, increasing the number of counties with infestations to 50.

Eight of those counties - Coles, Douglas, Ford, Marshall, Piatt, Shelby, Warren, and Woodford - were part of a 49-county quarantine area established to help prevent the spread of the emerald ash borer.

Five counties - Logan, Menard, Perry, Sangamon, and Williamson - are outside of the quarantine area, but will now be added.  Tazewell and Peoria counties will also be quarantined due to the discovery of emerald ash borers there earlier this year.

The emerald ash borer is responsible for the deaths of hundreds of millions of ash trees across the nation.  The insect's larvae burrow into ash bark, eventually killing the trees through starvation.

Current Conditions
  • Current Events