Illinois officials expand ash borer quarantine list

SPRINGFIELD - Illinois Department of Agriculture officials say 12 more counties have been added to the state's emerald ash borer quarantine list.

Officials say emerald ash borers have been spotted in Logan, Menard, Peoria, Perry, Sangamon, Tazewell, and Williamson counties.  In addition, Christian, Franklin, Fulton, Jefferson, and Mason counties have been placed in the quarantine zone due to being bordered by at least two counties that have emerald ash borer infestations.

The emerald ash borer is a small, metallic green beetle whose larvae burrow into ash tree bark, causing the starvation and death of the tree.  The first detection of the pest in the U.S. happened in 2002 near Detroit, Michigan.  Officials say the beetle has caused the deaths of more than 250 million ash trees across the nation.

For more information on the emerald ash borer quarantine, visit
Current Conditions
  • Current Events