Rauner, other state officials to be sworn in as Illinois governor

SPRINGFIELD - Several elected Illinois leaders, including Governor-elect Bruce Rauner, will take the oath of office during a ceremony that begins at 11:00 a.m. Monday.

In addition to Rauner, Lt. Governor-elect Evelyn Sanguinetti, Attorney General Lisa Madigan, Secretary of State Jesse White, Treasurer-elect Michael Frerichs, and appointed Comptroller Leslie Munger will take the oath of office as well.

A moment of silence to honor late Comptroller Judy Baar Topinka is also planned.  Topinka won her re-election bid in the November 2014 election, but died in December.  

Following his inauguration, Rauner will host an open house at the Old State Capitol.  A concert featuring county music star Toby Keith will wrap up the event later this evening.

Current Conditions
  • Current Events