Rice, Hill Get All-B1G Honorable Mention; Egwu on Defensive Team

ROSEMONT, Ill. (Big Ten Conference) - The Big Ten men's basketball All-Conference teams and individual award winners were announced on Monday, with Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky earning Big Ten Player of the Year honors from the conference's coaches and a media panel. Maryland head coach Mark Turgeon claimed Coach of the Year laurels from the media, while Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan was named Coach of the Year by his peers. Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell picked up Freshman of the Year accolades from the coaches and media. Purdue's Rapheal Davis was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Iowa's Gabe Olaseni was voted the Sixth Man of the Year by the coaches.

Kaminsky takes home the Big Ten Player of the Year award after leading the Badgers to the outright Big Ten Championship and pacing the conference with 10 double-doubles. Kaminsky averaged 19.9 points and 8.2 rebounds per game in conference play, ranking among the top three in the Big Ten in both categories. The senior forward leads the Badgers in points, rebounds, assists, blocks and steals. A 2014 All-Big Ten first team selection, Kaminsky has scored at least 20 points on 13 occasions this season and hauled in double-digit rebounds in 10 games. Kaminsky becomes the third player in Wisconsin history to earn Big Ten Player of the Year honors and the first since Alando Tucker in 2007.

In Maryland's inaugural season in the Big Ten, Turgeon led the Terrapins to a double-bye in the Big Ten Tournament as the No. 2 seed. The Terps boast a 26-5 overall record and wrapped up conference play with a 14-4 mark. The Terrapins, who went 9-0 at home in Big Ten play and posted five conference road wins, enter the Big Ten Tournament on a conference-best seven-game winning streak.

Under the guidance of Ryan, Wisconsin won the outright Big Ten title for the first time since 2008 with a 16-2 conference record. As the tournament's top seed, Wisconsin leads the conference in scoring margin and scoring defense. Ryan has led the Badgers to their ninth consecutive 20-win season with a 28-3 overall mark, and earns Big Ten Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time after previously being honored in 2002, 2003 and 2013.

With 20.3 points per game, Russell is the first freshman since Indiana's Eric Gordon in 2007-08 to lead the conference in scoring during Big Ten play. Russell also leads the Big Ten with 49 three-point field goals made in conference games. He averaged 5.1 assists per conference game, the second-highest average in the Big Ten, and posted the conference's lone triple-double against Rutgers on Feb. 8. Russell is the Buckeyes' seventh Big Ten Freshman of the Year selection and first since Jared Sullinger in 2011.

Davis collects Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year laurels after helping the Boilermakers post the conference's lowest defensive field goal percentage in conference play, limiting opponents to just 39.3 percent from the field and 32.2 percent from three-point range. Davis played an average of 35.7 minutes per Big Ten game, tied for the fifth-most in the Big Ten during conference play. Davis claims Purdue's eighth Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year honor and first since JaJuan Johnson in 2011.

Olaseni is averaging 8.3 points and 4.8 rebounds per game off the bench for Iowa and is shooting 54.1 percent from the field in all games. He becomes the Hawkeyes' second Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year and first since Doug Thomas earned the inaugural award in 2006.

Kaminsky was a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection by both the coaches and the media, while Russell was a unanimous selection by the media. The duo was joined on the first team for both the coaches and media by Indiana's Yogi Ferrell and Iowa's Aaron White. Big Ten coaches voted Maryland's Dez Wells a first-team selection, while teammate Melo Trimble was selected as a first-team honoree by the media.

Joining Russell as unanimous selections on the coaches' All-Freshman Team were Indiana's James Blackmon Jr. and Trimble. In addition, Northwestern's Bryant McIntosh and the Buckeyes' Jae'Sean Tate were named to the All-Freshman team.

Illinois' Nnanna Egwu, Michigan State's Branden Dawson, Purdue's Davis and A.J. Hammons and Wisconsin's Josh Gasser comprised the five-member All-Defensive Team. The Big Ten also announced 14 Sportsmanship Award Honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. This season's honorees are Illinois' Egwu, Indiana's Nick Zeisloft, Iowa's Mike Gesell, Maryland's Jon Graham, Michigan's Spike Albrecht, Michigan State's Travis Trice, Minnesota's Andre Hollins, Nebraska's Trevor Menke, Northwestern's JerShon Cobb, Ohio State's Shannon Scott, Penn State's Ross Travis, Purdue's Neal Beshears, Rutgers' Myles Mack and Wisconsin's Gasser.

The complete list of All-Conference honorees and individual award winners is attached here
Current Conditions