2nd Annual Exemplary Citizens Awards To Be Held July 2

Posted: Updated:
 DECATUR – Macon County State's Attorney Jay Scott announces the 2nd Annual Exemplary Citizen Awards Ceremony will take place Thursday, July 2 at the Decatur Civic Center.

These awards focus on everyday citizens who are vigilant and assist in helping law enforcement and prosecutors combat crime. Citizens can receive awards for a variety of reasons from providing information to authorities to testifying in court. Scott's office recognized 14 citizens in its first Exemplary Citizen Awards Ceremony last July.

This year's ceremony recognizes 12 award recipients who assisted authorities over the course of the past year. Members of the community are invited to honor those who helped make the community a safer place. The ceremony will take place at the Decatur Civic Center at 1 Gary K. Anderson Plaza. It will begin at 10 AM on Thursday, July 2.

The following citizens (and organizations) are being recognized: Howard G. Buffet Foundation, Cristal Johnson, Terri Wallace, Charles Durbin, Ashley Durbin, Robert W. Shafer, Donald Hall, Marshall J. Edwards, Tyler Procarione, Codie Miller, Tegan Halkitis and James Killings.
Current Conditions
  • Current Events