Springfield officials swear in five new police officers

Posted: Updated:

SPRINGFIELD - Springfield officials have announced that five new city police officers were sworn in during a ceremony in the City Council Chambers Thursday afternoon.

Springfield Police Chief Kenny Winslow and Springfield Mayor Jim Langfelder swore in the five new officers, who will be assigned to the Field Operations Division.  Winslow says the new officers have "proven that they have the desire, the skill, and the professionalism" to serve the community.

Officials say each new officer must complete additional on-the-job training with veteran Springfield police officers.  For more information about the Springfield Police Department, visit http://spd.springfield.il.us/.

Current Conditions
  • Current Events