Eligible local farmers urged to seek disaster assistance

Posted: Updated:

CHAMPAIGN - 87 counties in Illinois, including Champaign and Vermillion counties, have been declared primary natural disaster areas due to rain and flooding.

The news comes from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Farmers who believe they are eligible for assistance should contact their county Farm Service Agency office.

"Agriculture is the backbone of our economy," said State Senator Scott Bennett (D - Champaign). "It is important for us to work together to help farmers through these difficult times.

Bennett is urging farmers who suffered losses to apply for disaster assistance if they believe they are eligible.

Farmers can contact the following agencies to see if they are eligible:

Champaign County Farm Service Agency:

2110 West Park Ct., Suite A

Champaign, IL 61821-2986

(217) 352-3536 ext 2

(855) 240-6623 Fax

Vermilion County Farm Service Agency:

1905A US Route 150

Danville, IL 61832-5396

(217) 442-8511 ext 2

(855) 688-3986 Fax

Current Conditions