Former Illinois Baseball Coach Selected for College Hall of Fame


LUBBOCK, Texas -- Former Illinois baseball coach Augie Garrido will be inducted to the National College Baseball Hall of Fame, it was announced Thursday. Garrido, the winningest coach in college baseball history, highlights the 2016 National College Baseball Hall of Fame induction class, which includes Robert Braddy (Jackson State), Matt Desalvo (Marietta), JD Drew (Florida State), Rick Monday (Arizona State), Tom Paciorek (Houston) and Tommy Thomas (Valdosta State).

This year's class will be inducted as a part of the annual Night of Champions celebration of college baseball on July 1-2 in Lubbock, Texas.

Garrido, the current head coach at Texas, has won five national championships. He is the only coach to lead teams from two schools to national titles (Cal State Fullerton and Texas) and has also made stops at San Francisco State, Cal Poly and Illinois.

"We are excited to induct this class," said Mike Gustafson, president and CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. "It is remarkable that this is our 11th induction class and they are this accomplished."

Garrido was at Illinois from 1988-90. He went 26-20 during his first season in Champaign before improving to 42-16 in his second year and 43-21 in 1990. The 1990 season including 19 Big Ten wins, which was a program record at the time. Garrido's overall mark at Illinois was 111-57.

Garrido entered the 2016 season with 1,950 wins and has led 15 teams to the College World Series. He has received National Coach of the Year honors six times. On March 25, 2014, he earned his 1,893rd win and passed 2009 College Baseball Hall of Fame inductee Gordie Gillespie to become the winningest coach in college baseball history.

Current Conditions