Springfield Police Dept. Welcomes Nine New Officers

Posted: Updated:

SPRINGFIELD – Springfield Mayor Jim Langfelder and Police Chief Kenny Winslow swore in nine new officers on Monday, April 18, at the Municipal Center West in the City Council Chambers.

The nine new officers were hired January 4 and graduated on March 31, from the Illinois State Police Academy. All of the new officers will be assigned to the Field Operations Division, headed by Deputy Chief Dennis Arnold. They were officially sworn in during a ceremony at 11:30 AM on Monday.

Chief Winslow expressed at the ceremony that it was an honor and a privilege to welcome the nine new officers.

“Through their rigorous training, they’ve proven that they have the desire, the skill and the professionalism to serve and protect our neighborhoods and community,” Winslow said.

Each new officer will participate in an intensive on-the-job field training program with veteran Springfield officers. This additional training is required by the Department and is proven effective when they are carrying out their duties as officers.

The nine new officers are:

  • Paul A. Becker
  • Rudolph A. Brida
  • Kristopher S. Hughes
  • Gino L. Maldonado
  • Ryan T. Montcalm
  • Colin D. O’Marro
  • Jerome M. Smith
  • Jacob M. Ward
  • Andrew J. Watts

Further information about applying to be a Springfield Police Officer can be found in WAND’s previous article.

Current Conditions
  • Current Events