Five Paralympic Athletes Inducted to Olympic Monument

Posted: Updated:

Champaign- Five Paralympic in Champaign will forever have their names on the Tribute to Olympic and Paralympic Athletes Monument at Dodds Park in Champaign.

The Champaign Park District held a dedication ceremony Saturday afternoon to unveil the brick that holds the athletes name, and to honor the 25th anniversary of the monument. 

The inductees were: Joshua George, Tatyana McFadden, Amanda McGrory, Nichole Millage, and Brian Siemann. Each one competed in the 2016 Paralympics in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. 

 "I think it's important to honor these athletes, I mean what they go through and what they train and their life is committed to this type of thing, and what a better way that to honor them by inducting them into an event like this. We are one of the few places in the country that are allowed to use Olympic rings like we are here with our Olympic tribute so it's a great honor to have this here not only have these athletes here" said Joe DeLuce, Champaign Park District Executive Director. 

There are 45 athletes on the monument. Each one is from, or resides in Champaign County. 

Current Conditions
  • Current Events

    • Coats for Kids Drive

      DECATUR, Ill. (WAND) - You can help keep central Illinois children warm this winter by donating new and gently used coats during WAND-TV's Coats for Kids drive.

    • Agribusiness Today

      Get your agribusiness report here!

    • Web Exclusives

      Here at WAND we strive to bring you the latest coverage on news happening across central Illinois, and this page is a continuation of that effort.