Springfield native, among others, named top college students in Illinois

Posted: Updated:

SPRINGFIELD – A student from Lincoln Land Community College was honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois during their annual Student Laureate Ceremony Saturday.

Brandon Lewis, of Springfield, who attends Lincoln Land Community College, was among 56 students who were recognized November 12 at the Old State Capitol. Governor Bruce Rauner announced the names of Lewis and other students as 2016’s outstanding college students being honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois.

The Lincoln Academy was established more than 50 years ago to honor distinguished citizens with the state’s highest award, the Order of Lincoln. This is the 42nd year Lincoln Academy has celebrated students’ excellence in Illinois.

Governor Rauner says President Lincoln’s legacy is a reminder to the people of today how powerful public service and civic engagement is in Illinois and across the country.

“The students chosen to receive this honor have exemplified the principles and ideals of the great Illinoisan through their hard work and dedication to their schools and communities,” the Governor adds.

The Lincoln Academy’s Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to senior from each of the state’s four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from the community colleges in Illinois.

At the Student Laureate Convocation, each student will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with a $1,000 educational grant and a certificate of achievement.

In addition to Lewis, other students in Central Illinois were recognized.

They were: Veronica Milligan from Taylorville attending Blackburn College; Grace Alisha Kageha Mahasi from Peoria attending Eureka College; Daniel James Bacon from Lincoln attending Illinois College; Lauren Ann Koszyk from Bloomington attending Illinois State University; Jasmine Renae White from Jacksonville attending MacMurray College; Phillip Ganley from Decatur attending Millikin University; Nicholas James Nosbisch from Effingham attending Quincy University; Tameka Latasha Mason from Peoria attending Robert Morris University; Rafid Rahman from Chatham attending University of Illinois Chicago; Kendra Baber from Normal attending University of Illinois Springfield; and Shivaliben Bhargavkumar Patel from Urbana attending University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.

The 53rd Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of the Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, May 6, 2017 at the Chicago History Museum.

Current Conditions