Safely dispose of unwanted meds during national Take Back Day

Posted: Updated:

DECATUR, Ill. (WAND) - The Decatur Police Department is teaming up with the Drug Enforcement Administration to offer residents a safe and legal way to dispose of unwanted prescription medications.

Individuals can bring their expired, unused, and unwanted prescription medications to the Decatur Police Department from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. on October 28 for proper disposal.  This service is free and anonymous, but officials say they cannot accept liquids, needles, or sharps.

Officials say this program provides a way to properly get rid of expired, unused, or unwanted prescription drugs, which are susceptible to diversion, misuse, and abuse.  

For more information about this Take Back Day event, click here. A list of places taking drugs can be found below: 

  • Arcola: Arcola Police Department, 114 N. Locust St.:
  • Athens: Athens City Hall, 210 Dottie Bednarko Drive
  • Breese: Breese Police Department, 500 N. 1st St.
  • Carlyle: Clinton County Sheriff’s Office, 810 Franklin St.
  • Champaign: Schnucks Grocery Store, 109 N. Mattis Ave.
  • Charleston: Walgreens, 411 W. Lincoln Ave.
  • Chatham: Chatham Police Department, 117 E. Mulberry St.
  • Clinton: Clinton Police Department, 118 W. Washington St.
  • Decatur: Decatur Police Department, 707 W. South Side Drive
  • Eureka: Woodford County Sheriff’s Office, 111 E. Court St.
  • Effingham: Effingham County Sheriff’s Office, 101 N. 4th St.
  • Farmer City: The Medicine Shoppe of Farmer City, 217 S. Main St.
  • Greenview: Greenview Village Hall, 106 E. Washington St.
  • Havana: Oney Foods Parking Lot, 500 S. Promenade St.
  • Heyworth: Heyworth Village Hall, 108 S. Buchanan St.
  • Hillsboro: Hillsboro Police Department, 447 S. Main Streetsuite 5
  • Hillsboro: Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office, 140 N. Main St.
  • Jacksonville: Jacksonville Police Department, 200 W. Douglas Ave.
  • Le Roy, Le Roy City Hall, 207 S. East St.
  • Litchfield: Litchfield Police Department Lobby Drop Box, 120 E. Ryder St.
  • Manito: Manito Foods, 320 Adams St.
  • Maroa: Maroa Police Department, 120 S. Locust St.
  • Mason City: Mason City IGA, 201 W. Elm St.
  • Mattoon: Walgreens, 208 S. Logan Ave.
  • Monticello: Monticello Police Department, 301 N. Hamilton St.
  • Morton: Morton Police Department, 375 W. Birchwood St.
  • Mount Sterling: Mount Sterling IGA, 200 Pittsfield Road
  • Normal: Normal Police Department, 100 E. Phoenix Ave.
  • Pana: Walgreens, 108 S. Poplar St.
  • Pekin: Pekin Police Department Lobby, 111 S. Capitol St.
  • Petersburg: Menard County Jail, 315 S. 6th St.
  • Rushville: County Market Pharmacy, 520 W. Clinton St.
  • Rushville: Moreland and Devitt Pharmacy, 124 N. Congress St.
  • Sherman: Sherman Police Department, 2629 E. Andrew Road
  • Springfield: HyVee Pharmacy, 2115 S. MacArthur Blvd.
  • Springfield: Prevention First, 2800 Montvale Drive
  • Springfield: Sangamon County Public Health, 2833 S. Grand Ave.
  • Stanford: Stanford Coffee Shop, 210 W. Main St. East
  • Sullivan: Sullivan Police Department, 307 S. Van Buren St.
  • Taylorville: Walgreens, 315 N. Webster St.
  • Tuscola: Douglas County Sheriff’s Department Lobby, 920 S. Washington St.
  • Vandalia: Vandalia Police Department, 219 S. 5th St.
  • Watseka: Iroquois County Sheriff’s Department, 550 S. 10th St. 
Current Conditions