Elderly man dies after falling into icy pond

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WAND) - The Illinois Fraternal Order of Police plans a Thursday ceremony in Springfield to honor law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.

This years' Illinois Peace Officers Memorial Service will include six officers who died in 2017. The ceremony will be at the Illinois Peace Officer Memorial sculpture on the Illinois State Capitol grounds.

The six officers include Bloomingdale Officer Raymond Murrell, Illinois State Police Trooper Ryan Albin, Chicago Officer Bernard Domagala, Will County Correctional Officer Kevin Brewer, Chicago Officer Andre Van Vegten and Rockford Officer Jaimie Cox.

Before the ceremony there will be a procession of squad cars from around the state starting at the Illinois State Fairgrounds followed by a church service at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception.