DECATUR, Ill. (WAND) - Decatur Public Schools have officially sworn in four new school board members. 

Following a sine die meeting held Monday evening to finalize the terms of the last school board, the new members took their seats. They include Al Scheider, Kevin Collins-Brown, Jason Wayne Dion and Alana Giselle Banks. 

Banks is the first Black, transgender woman to serve on a U.S. public school board. 

Don Oaks has been named the school board president. As he was the only person nominated, no vote was required. Oaks is a tenured board member. 

Andrew Taylor was named board vice president. The board named Dr. Todd Covault as treasurer. 

The new board secretary is Melissa Bradford. She was the only person nominated. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.