DECATUR, Ill. (WAND) - Four challengers have been elected to serve on the Decatur Public Schools board. 

The new board members are Al Scheider, Kevin Collins-Brown, Alana Giselle Banks and Jason Wayne Dion. With no incumbents running for another term, each person comes in as a new voice. 

The full list of people running for school board seats included Scheider, Dion, Ferlaxnes Carson, Krystal Johnson, Collins-Brown, Jayjuan Young and Banks.

The final unofficial vote tally was as follows: 

  • Al Scheider 21.04%, 3,387 votes 
  • Kevin Collins-Brown 18.56%, 2,989 votes 
  • Jason Wayne Dion 15.09%, 2,430 votes 
  • Alana Giselle Banks 14.83%, 2,387 votes 
  • Jayjuan Young 11.86%, 1,910 votes 
  • Krystal Johnson 11.02%, 1,774 votes 
  • Ferlaxnes Carson 7.6%, 1,224 votes

Even with these seats filled, the district must find a new superintendent to replace Dr. Paul Fregeau, who is leaving on June 30 to become the head of the Fox C-6 School District in Arnold, Mo. 

Fregeau will be the the Arnold district's third superintendent in seven years. In the new job, he will make $222,000 a year, which is an increase of $25,000 from what the makes at Decatur Public Schools. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.